Lawrence, KS
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Locals Only-the rest will get lost

2-4    6/10/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes. If you're not throwing up or down a hill you're lost again. Fun and challenging.

Great course for a local since each hole has 3 possible basket placements and once you know the course, it is a lot more fun.
Cons: Zero signage, difficult to follow layout, repetitive uphill tunnel shots. It was rather depressing to play an uphill tunnel shot on 4, then walk to 5, play another one, then WALK DOWNHILL to 6 to throw yet another one. 7 is a downhill tunnel shot, then 8 and 10 are both uphill canopied shots.

Extremely dense trees...I thought they were supposed to be 90% air. These ones are 100% branches...nothing goes through them.

A long hike. You really feel like you've had some exercise by the time you're done with a round.
Other Thoughts: I had to laugh when I saw the below review describing this as a "recreational/intermediate course." I typically shoot below par, at least posted par if not pro par, on most courses. I shot a +8 and a +4 here. Granted, I didn't know the course and the pins all seemed to be in the longest possible orientation, but still....hardly a beginner course. I only shot 3 birdies total in 2 rounds. Expect a challenge.

Unfortunately, much of the challenge involves orienteering and hiking. I went with a local (granted who had lived elsewhere for a couple years before returning with me) and we had to ask directions 3 times to the next tee. We had one hole where we played all the way down to the basket only to discover it wasn't the basket for the hole we thought we were on.

There is one shot you absolutely must master to score well on this course. It is the 300 foot uphill drive that never goes higher than 8 feet above the ground. It seems like that shot (which I don't currently have) was required on far too many holes.

The "big bomb" holes are disappointing in that you can't actually bomb them. You have to either go over the canopy (50-60 feet despite the fact that the holes descends 80) or throw a roller. Kind of a bummer to climb way up a hill, and then realize you don't get to watch your disc fly down because you have to throw a roller to have any chance at making par on the hole. Blah...

I liked the first hole, although I confess to taking a 6 on it the first time. 13, of course, is a classic, although it is a little hard to enjoy due to having to yell fore since the teepad for 14 is far easier to get to than the basket on 13.

Hey locals-- Buy some tee signs. This is the only course I've ever been to that didn't have a single one. Also, consider another set of baskets or another set of tee pads. This course could be a destination course, all it needs is a little money and a little work thrown at it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun downhill bombs, but you may find Waldo before finding the next tee.

5+    4/20/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park. Decent intermediate to recreational level course with multiple positions. Has good albeit not great elevation changes. The big thing at Centennial are its varying uphill/downhill holes, especially the big bomb on 13 over the creek. Mostly park golf, but enough woods to keep you honest on some of the holes up at the north end. Plenty of amenities nearby.
Cons: Bad flow. As what been mentioned before me, this course is an orientation nightmare. There is no signage, and where you think the next tee logically would be, well it often isn't. You head towards both the north and sound ends of the park twice. Several parallel fairways (2 & 14, 5 & 6, 3 & 7, 15 & 16) where you can easily put an errant throw into the fairway of the people next to you, or mistakenly walk into it if you don't know where you're going. A lot of backtracking. A few holes (11 & 17) cut close to busy streets. Short positions are well...short and not all that fun. Multi-use park, watch for non-players around the skate park and shelters.
Other Thoughts: Nearing twenty years old, Centennial is starting to show its age in regards to the latest disc technology. Advanced players will be crushing some of the shorter holes for birdies. (although I didn't see to many of the course's short positions in play while here), but its still a fun play that I'd gladly hit again, and may be your only option if Riverfront is swampy and the Clinton Lake courses are overgrown. Crowds here can vary depending on when you show up. If you're going to be visiting Lawrence and want to play this, I cannot stress enough to print out a map. Not a must play, but the best venue in town.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Orienteering Badge Needed

1    4/26/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has lots of elevation, a creek, some trees, wide-open holes, and uses the whole park. Some of the pin placements are protected or have creek or foliage behind them. This adds a bit of Risk reward on your approach shots. The hole length variation seems to be decent. Hole #13 is certainly the picture hole on this course as it is teeing off on a pad along a stairwell with flowers around it with a great pin placement across the creek at the end of the flight path. The elevation that is used on this course is decent well thought out. There is a bathroom here and you get to it more than once. They do have a nice message board at the parking area.
Cons: The cement tee pads are not in good shape and there are no tee signs. There was an attempt to put hole info painted on the tee pads, but that was not successful. As the title suggests, even with a map, this is tough navigation. Hole #5 to #6 and #11 to #12 have you back tracking to the next tee. So, the layout is not very friendly. There are many locations lacking in grass and making mud a common place. The baskets were in fair condition. The grass height was very inconsistent, which sometimes is a clue for a course not getting the proper maintenance.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was average. Some holes were fun, but the navigation for a new person coming here killed any real thrills. If you played here regularly, I suppose it would not be so bad. There are just too many "in better shape" courses in the area to spend time coming here, unless you get a course guide to play with you. I can't say it was not challenging at times, it just wasn't enough to keep me overly interested. It does have the potential to be a decent course with the proper TLC.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not again

1    1/30/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: csheafer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It would be good except for the cons
Cons: They have changed the course from when I have played it years ago. It appears that it starts on the opposite side of the park.
No signs, no maps, no tee signs, no idea!
This course demands that you know where you are going to the next box or even where the basket is. Many are hidden, with NO signage.
All the tee pads are surrounded by lots of mud. Nothing has been done to reseed or putting down chips. Therefore, all the tee pads are covered with lots of MUD. Very dangerous.
One tee pad was on lower ground which gets covered with water that froze. Only about 1 1/2 ft of tee pad exposed with ice and mud surrounding it.

I tried to play, but after an hour and only figureing out 5 holes, I gave up. I won't ever go back there especially with so many fine courses in the KC area
Other Thoughts: Great course if you don't mind being muddy, walking amlessley and taking the chance of breaking your ankle on the tee pads.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Take a map. Here are some links.

1    11/14/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course situated in a large park.
Concrete tee pads at all tees, and multiple pin placements at all holes.

I was actually a fan of most of the hole designs. The course is fairly open with scattered trees and only a few tight fairways and gaps to shoot through. Despite this fact, hole placement is rather well done with some tricky lines available to advanced players. The openness of the course means it's not a punishing course, so even if you can't hit the line for birdie, par isn't difficult to achieve.

Not a lot of dense brush or opportunity to lose a disc. The only real hazard is getting your disc or shoes wet in the small trickle of a creek that runs through the park.
Cons: A map is an absolute must for playing this course the first time.

It's not any one thing that makes this course difficult to navigate it's more an accumulation of errors.

Throughout the whole course, there is one sign pointing you to the next tee, and no signs on the teepads. There are also very few trashcans and no benches next to teepads. I don't need trashcans or benches, but when you're pulling your disc out of the basket and wondering which way to go next, they come in handy. There were spraypainted signs on the teepads at one point, but these have all worn away.

The layout for the course is ridiculous. There are sizeable walks between 2 & 3, 11 & 12, 12 & 13, and 14 & 15. These aren't necessarily long, but they're long enough that you need to know where you're going.

Teepads for 3 and 7 are right next to each other. Some fairways are rather close to other baskets and teepads. I imagine this could be quite annoying on crowded days. To get back to the parking lot after hole 18 you cross the fairway for 1 which happens to be one of the few blind holes on the course.

In short, if I hadn't had a map, i would probably have quit after wandering around for 5 minutes after hole 2 only to find two teepads with little to distinquish them and shooting at 7 rather than 3.
Other Thoughts: Here's some Lawrence, KS websites with course maps. In my opinion they are required.

The first is the pdf map from the parks and rec department. The second is a more general city website should the first stop working for any reason.

http://www.lprd.org/art/recre...cenwebmap.pdf

http://www.lawrenceks.org/lpr...ties/discgolf

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Target placement varies weekly. Variation goes beyond short/long, but can drastically change shot selection.
-Good use of elevation.
-Even set of right/lefty shots.
Cons: -Difficult to navigate.
-Awkward tees. Some tees are sunk well into the ground and can be covered in mud. Other tees seem to be raised up which has led to many falls off the sides and front... 13 is notorious for bad falls.
Other Thoughts: This has been my home course for the past 4 years and I have yet to get tired of it. Baskets move all the time. Over half the baskets are unlocked. If the groundskeeper doesnt move a basket by the end of the week, a regular is most likely going to move it. But this is also what makes it difficult to navigate the course, even with a map. Several baskets are not visible from the tee. Fortunately this course gets a fair amount of play. If you get lost, wait a few minutes and more often than not there will be another golfer for you to follow. I play this course at least 3 times a week and I usually end up helping a first timer through once a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Course

2-4    6/15/2000   10/14/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first disc golf course I ever played, and I really enjoyed it. The elevation of the park, the winding creek, the multiple cage locations, and the trees make this a fun course with a variety of fun and challenging holes. It's been many years since I last played here, but I remember the course was in great shape, and some of the the holes were strategically set up in ways that forced you to take an alternative route to the basket. Otherwise your disc could run into a tree or get stuck in the woods or in the creek. It's a nice looking park that provides a lot of unique layouts throughout the course.
Cons: A few holes are mostly open and kind of easy to get a low score on. They could use some more obstacles like trees and bushes to make them more fun and challenging like the rest of the course. It can be kind of difficult figuring out where some of the tee boxes and baskets are located. Adding signs to this course would make it a lot easier to navigate. Also, you might not want to play here if it's rained recently, because some areas tend to flood rather easily.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty solid solid course with a good variety of obstacles and layout designs that make it a fun place for disc golf, though finding some of the holes can be a bit of a challenge for anyone not familiar with the course. I would've played here more often growing up, but I lived about thirty minutes away from the park, and there were other good courses nearby for me to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful course!

1    7/25/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 97  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variation to it. Has a good mix of right and lefts with some good distance and elevation changes everywhere. The boxes were all nice and with a map the course is pretty easy to navigate. The course is also pretty forgiving in that most holes are pretty open if you make a bad shot.
Cons: No tight holes for those technical shots. Signage on the course could be a little better, but with the map in hand navagation is fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to challenge the experienced golfer or to bring someone new to the game. We had both in our group and everyone had a great time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home park

5+    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: KSsteven
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good use of the parks elevation
-Has a creek and plenty of trees as obstacles
-You can air out on plenty of holes
-Nice course layout that leads back to the parking lot
-Next to a fine BBQ establishment
Cons: -Finding the course layout can be tough for the first couple of times
Other Thoughts: It's an over all well rounded course (like an orange), with a pretty chill atmosphere (as far as folks you meet on the way). Some ace opportunities as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Larryville Loafin

2-4    5/31/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a good variety of shots necessary to do well on this course and the setting is pleasant. Virtually every hole has some elevation change but not what I'd call steep. There was enough length to satisfy those who like to rip long distances without a lot of obstacles but no really technical shots necessary as long as you keep it clean.
Cons: Even with a map a sign or two would be most helpful. After taking far to long to find the #2 tee pad and #3 nowhere in site we invited some locals to play through so we could follow their lead. Even though there hadn't been rain in days when I played there were muddy spots camouflaged by grass to ensnare the unsuspecting. The sidewalk between #17 tee pad basket had a muddy spot that was slick as ice...AVOID IT!
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed this course quite a bit. I stayed at the nearby hotel and it was a relatively short walk from there. Aside for the need for some signage I graded it as I did because I think it would get a little stale after a few plays but it's worth a play or two if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.