Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Throw between trees over a creek, basket is nestled near trees to the left on other side



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fantastic if you know where to go

5+    7/13/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of openness on holes, but there aren't any that are completely wide open or ridiculously wooded. 10/10

At the same time, there are a few holes like that do force certain shot paths to be successful. 8/10

There isn't a ton of elevation compared to some of the KC courses like Water Works or Swope or Blue Valley, but there's still quite a bit, and it's used very well with lots of variety between uphill, downhill, sidehill etc. 10/10

Obstacles are used very well, they bring challenges to at least one of the shots on each hole (either drive or approach) without making any of them impossible. 10/10

Most holes have three alternate hole positions on each hole, and unlike some courses there are pretty big differences in the hole positions, affecting distance and direction of the holes fairly drastically. The baskets are also changed pretty frequently, which makes this a great course for playing often and it never gets boring no matter how much you play. 9/10

I've been at least ten times and it's always been well mowed. There is running water a couple of places along the course and restrooms after hole 12 (which comes back to the parking lot) There are several benches along the course, not on every hole, but at least every three. The only complaint I have with course maintenance is with some of the mud on the tees. 9/10

Tees are concrete, which is good, but a couple in the lower lying areas have a bit of mud on them. 8/10

Several holes have options for how to play them successfully, the course really lets you throw every shot in the bag. 7/10

Forested regions make it not the easiest to find discs, but it's not nearly as bad as some courses and there is no knee/waist high grass anywhere. that the disc can burrow into, plus it's not nearly as uncomfortable to search for them. 6/10
Cons: Navigation between holes is pretty bad the first time, but with a map, a friend who has played here before, or some help some locals it's not too bad. There is a map which is somewhat helpful on the first tee 2/10, but shouldn't warrant lowering the course rating to a 1 or 2 overall... plus it's fine after the first time playing.

Navigation on the actual holes isn't the best. There are no tee signs, only numbers on the pads telling you what hole the tee is for. There aren't too many blind holes, but a few are close to each other (2 and 14 are close, and so are 3 and 7). 3/10

Baskets are great, but the concrete within a few feet around them is tough because it makes great approaches skid while decent ones don't and end up better. 4/10

It's more crowded than most of the courses I've been to depending on when you go, but it's not like you're waiting on every hole or anything. 3/10

Holes 10-12 make up the only section of the course that's sort of "eh...", they feel sort of crammed in and are only there to connect from hole 9 to 13 and fit in 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of forested regions used as hazards more than individual trees all over the place or tall grass. I've played ball golf for a long time so I guess I just like the open lanes for fairways on most holes with larger areas that you need to avoid with your misses. It helps give the course the ability to challenge all levels of disc golfers. This was the first course I ever played, and I didn't find it to be impossible at any point, but with some individual trees, the course can provide all levels with a challenge.

I go to school at KU, and it's a great course to play over and over again, fun every time even if you go frequently, and that's a big part of why I rated it so high.

I think this is a fantastic course that gets pretty severely underrated by people who only played it once and got frustrated with the navigation. I know we aren't supposed to comment on other reviews, but I just feel the need to point out that pretty much all of the low reviews are by people who only played the course once.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 hippies and their hills

1    10/13/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: challenging, hills add great height variations, trees add fun obstacles. plus the blind shots make for a great way to start the course off
Cons: I hate the fact it takes at least a week to dry after a rain. would love some signage to see where pin placements are.
Other Thoughts: Kind of cool this is the only course with a giant missle on it.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A fair course

1    7/14/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mfrench
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple pins, park in great condition, variety of holes.
Cons: Layout and lack of signage. Bring a map and it won't be bad to manage.
Other Thoughts: They really need tee signs to bring this to a top course. The water fountain wasn't working during a heatwave.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NICE!

1    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A little bit of EVERYTHING! Great layout, great scenery, tight shots turning left and right and a couple long open bomber holes.
Cons: No complaints from me on this one. I really enjoyed it!
Other Thoughts: I hit up the Tuesday night league while in town on business and had a great time. Pretty small turnout, but a fun group.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 108  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are easily accessible restrooms here and trash cans at several points throughout the park. This course has a lot of small hills and elevation changes in this park that come into play often as well as a creek. There are multiple pin placements and long concrete tee pads. There were many hole designs that I really enjoyed, especially 13 with the downhill shot past the skate park over the creek. There were a few risky putts on the edge of the creek/woods. I had a some trouble, but a lot of fun with the low ceilings I don't really come across much on my local courses. 7 was a nice one for that with the low, long downhill ending over the creek.
Cons: The navigation here was difficult, luckily there is a relatively accurate map for this course on here I was able to follow on my phone because there were none at the start of the course. Some of the fairways run parallel to each other and might present a problem on busier days here. Some tee pads are uncomfortably close to other holes' baskets where on some others are quite far, and could be difficult to find without help. The worst of these were where you must backtrack the length of 11 to get to 12 (which is on the other side of 10), to get to hole 3 you need to cross to the other side of 14 and 7 and to get to the parking lot from 18 you cross the blind spot of fairway #1. Be prepared and print a map or find a local your first time here.
All of the baskets were numbered, unfortunately most of the numbers are facing away from the tee pad. I made it all the way to the basket on one hole before I realized it was the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: A little bit of TLC, some tee signs and maybe moving a few things around and this could easily be a much better course.
Although the flow and navigation issues aren't at all necessary and could have been easily avoided, it is still fun to play and this will be one I look forward to playing again while passing through. I have not played any other Lawrence courses, but I have heard that this is the best in town.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Fun

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: parrothead8
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not too crowded, a good mix of wide open and narrow tree-lined holes. Slightly hilly, a good workout.
Cons: A little difficult to figure out where the first few holes were.
Other Thoughts: This course gets some bad reviews because of its "lack" of markings. A group of four novices figured it out pretty easily the first time we played it, especially once we noticed the arrows painted on the base of each hole that pointed towards the next tee.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  2 and a half hour journey

1    7/19/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: JDMcNugent
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean, well cut and trimmed, concrete pads
Cons: baskets not marked at all. there were holes we had to walk all the way to a basket to see the number and then try and figure out from there where the tee off might be, lol! the placement made no sense and then the last couple holes are just open field back and forth
Other Thoughts: definitely beats river trails! lol

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Locals Only-the rest will get lost

2-4    6/10/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes. If you're not throwing up or down a hill you're lost again. Fun and challenging.

Great course for a local since each hole has 3 possible basket placements and once you know the course, it is a lot more fun.
Cons: Zero signage, difficult to follow layout, repetitive uphill tunnel shots. It was rather depressing to play an uphill tunnel shot on 4, then walk to 5, play another one, then WALK DOWNHILL to 6 to throw yet another one. 7 is a downhill tunnel shot, then 8 and 10 are both uphill canopied shots.

Extremely dense trees...I thought they were supposed to be 90% air. These ones are 100% branches...nothing goes through them.

A long hike. You really feel like you've had some exercise by the time you're done with a round.
Other Thoughts: I had to laugh when I saw the below review describing this as a "recreational/intermediate course." I typically shoot below par, at least posted par if not pro par, on most courses. I shot a +8 and a +4 here. Granted, I didn't know the course and the pins all seemed to be in the longest possible orientation, but still....hardly a beginner course. I only shot 3 birdies total in 2 rounds. Expect a challenge.

Unfortunately, much of the challenge involves orienteering and hiking. I went with a local (granted who had lived elsewhere for a couple years before returning with me) and we had to ask directions 3 times to the next tee. We had one hole where we played all the way down to the basket only to discover it wasn't the basket for the hole we thought we were on.

There is one shot you absolutely must master to score well on this course. It is the 300 foot uphill drive that never goes higher than 8 feet above the ground. It seems like that shot (which I don't currently have) was required on far too many holes.

The "big bomb" holes are disappointing in that you can't actually bomb them. You have to either go over the canopy (50-60 feet despite the fact that the holes descends 80) or throw a roller. Kind of a bummer to climb way up a hill, and then realize you don't get to watch your disc fly down because you have to throw a roller to have any chance at making par on the hole. Blah...

I liked the first hole, although I confess to taking a 6 on it the first time. 13, of course, is a classic, although it is a little hard to enjoy due to having to yell fore since the teepad for 14 is far easier to get to than the basket on 13.

Hey locals-- Buy some tee signs. This is the only course I've ever been to that didn't have a single one. Also, consider another set of baskets or another set of tee pads. This course could be a destination course, all it needs is a little money and a little work thrown at it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun downhill bombs, but you may find Waldo before finding the next tee.

5+    4/20/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 332  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park. Decent intermediate to recreational level course with multiple positions. Has good albeit not great elevation changes. The big thing at Centennial are its varying uphill/downhill holes, especially the big bomb on 13 over the creek. Mostly park golf, but enough woods to keep you honest on some of the holes up at the north end. Plenty of amenities nearby.
Cons: Bad flow. As what been mentioned before me, this course is an orientation nightmare. There is no signage, and where you think the next tee logically would be, well it often isn't. You head towards both the north and sound ends of the park twice. Several parallel fairways (2 & 14, 5 & 6, 3 & 7, 15 & 16) where you can easily put an errant throw into the fairway of the people next to you, or mistakenly walk into it if you don't know where you're going. A lot of backtracking. A few holes (11 & 17) cut close to busy streets. Short positions are well...short and not all that fun. Multi-use park, watch for non-players around the skate park and shelters.
Other Thoughts: Nearing twenty years old, Centennial is starting to show its age in regards to the latest disc technology. Advanced players will be crushing some of the shorter holes for birdies. (although I didn't see to many of the course's short positions in play while here), but its still a fun play that I'd gladly hit again, and may be your only option if Riverfront is swampy and the Clinton Lake courses are overgrown. Crowds here can vary depending on when you show up. If you're going to be visiting Lawrence and want to play this, I cannot stress enough to print out a map. Not a must play, but the best venue in town.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Orienteering Badge Needed

1    4/26/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 225  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has lots of elevation, a creek, some trees, wide-open holes, and uses the whole park. Some of the pin placements are protected or have creek or foliage behind them. This adds a bit of Risk reward on your approach shots. The hole length variation seems to be decent. Hole #13 is certainly the picture hole on this course as it is teeing off on a pad along a stairwell with flowers around it with a great pin placement across the creek at the end of the flight path. The elevation that is used on this course is decent well thought out. There is a bathroom here and you get to it more than once. They do have a nice message board at the parking area.
Cons: The cement tee pads are not in good shape and there are no tee signs. There was an attempt to put hole info painted on the tee pads, but that was not successful. As the title suggests, even with a map, this is tough navigation. Hole #5 to #6 and #11 to #12 have you back tracking to the next tee. So, the layout is not very friendly. There are many locations lacking in grass and making mud a common place. The baskets were in fair condition. The grass height was very inconsistent, which sometimes is a clue for a course not getting the proper maintenance.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was average. Some holes were fun, but the navigation for a new person coming here killed any real thrills. If you played here regularly, I suppose it would not be so bad. There are just too many "in better shape" courses in the area to spend time coming here, unless you get a course guide to play with you. I can't say it was not challenging at times, it just wasn't enough to keep me overly interested. It does have the potential to be a decent course with the proper TLC.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.