Rexburg, ID 
Nature Park Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Meh

5+    4/2/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: mpacker5
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Tee-pads
-Signage
-Nice baskets
-Hole 8 is sweet, if you're worried about it skip the hole and practice up.
Cons: -Crossing fairways. 6 of the 9 fairways cross. If anyone else is on the course look out.

-Many of the fairways are on busy parts of the park.

-The park can be very busy.

-I miss the old hole 2.

-Stinks like sewage from time to time.
Other Thoughts: I waited till I had played the course many times at different times of the day to write this review.

While the baskets, tees, and signs are a huge improvement, the new layout has more interference problems than before.

The new course is using at least twice as much land, and has 6 crossing fairways. the old course had 2 crossing fairways. Someone is going to get hit.

The new course now has 6 fairways that cross over busy parts of the park. The old course had 1.

Overall I am glad about the update. I only regret that with all the time, effort, and money that was spent, a much better outcome could have occurred.

 Nice.

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: rothlisburger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: All signage and concrete tee pads installed now.
Less dinky course now.
Normal baskets finally.
Cons: Tee pads small.
Intersecting fairways.
Other Thoughts: Although, the intersecting fairways thing.. It had intersecting fairways before too. It's a tiny park, and cramming nine holes in will necessitate crossing paths. I think the upgrade is an overall win. The old course lacked signage, so people played holes in random order, exacerbating the problem of running into other groups, so I don't think we can complain about running into groups now being a problem. I think I'll end up liking this course well. And the over-water shot is cool. My 10-year-old did just fine with it. (Of course, he's not a novice.)

Some nice upgrades, but lacks well thought out design

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice new baskets (double chain)
2) All holes now have cement tee pads and signage to help you navigate the course.
3) The course is longer and more challenging than it used to be.
Cons: The revised course layout is IMO deeply flawed. The fact that there are 4 holes on the south part of the park and 5 holes on the north part is not a problem, but when you look at the course map, the fairways crisscross all over the place.

1) Holes 2 and 3 crisscross each other.
2) The tee for hole 3 is in the fairway of hole 4!?.
3) Holes 6 and 7 crisscross.
4) Hole 8 requires players to play across a pond of murky water. The risk of losing discs in the water is real, especially for novice players. Two out of 7 people in our group went in the water; we were lucky to recover both discs, mainly because water levels are down this time of year - we wouldn't have been so lucky during the summer.
Also, when we played the other day, there were only two other groups on the course, and we were constantly in each other's way.

The number of crossing holes make this course a challenge when even a small number of groups are playing at a time.
Other Thoughts: The course is a little longer and a bit more technical than it used to be, and that's fine, but the new layout is IMO a disaster!


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Upgrade

5+    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NEW Baskets, Tee Pads, Course Design.
- Concrete Pads
- DISCatcher brand new baskets
- Variety of hole length, even an over the water hole
- Better use of the space that the full Nature Park had to offer
- Numbers on the tee pads. This is a major step up from the confusion the course previously possessed.
Cons: - Amount of walking distance for a short 9 hole course. There are 2 parts of Nature Park involved at this course, but in dividing the park, they put 4 holes in one part, and 5 in the other, with a little bit of a walk between them, but nothing that can't be handled, this is disc golf.
- Concrete pads, though helpful, are quite short, and the pad size varies from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was in dire need of something to spruce it up. As the renovation started, they had originally used the old single chain baskets. Recently they just installed baskets that wont spit out your disc every time! All in all, when first seeing the changes they were making to the course, I was a little worried that it wouldn't turn out well. But upon seeing the complete renovation, I think that they did a good job. The only regret is that they didn't try to make the course a few more holes long. They could have easily put in a 12 hole course to use some more of the space available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.