Ruston, LA
Hideaway Park Share
Uploaded By: championlog22 Hole #3 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Pond Overlook



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Shorty but Goody

1    6/21/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 11.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Multiple tees on every hole
-Tee signs on almost every hole (I think #11 & #13 are missing)
-Benches & trashcans are all around (not really ON the course itself but plenty close)
-Pretty little park on the LA Tech campus
Cons: -The course is a little tight, some holes are right on top of each other
-Short holes
-Hole #16 you have to throw across a gravel parking lot
Other Thoughts: Great usage of limited space. Decent variety of shots plus great use of elevation. Nothing spectacular about this DGC, but it is a solid course that will provide a challenge to intermediate players, although probably not to much of a challenge to a pro, it is still fun to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Who put the walking track in?

1    9/15/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 179  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained, elevation changes, some water holes, nice variety of shots. Lots of nice trees and it's on the campus of Louisiana tech so there are plenty of fine college women all over the place. I really liked Hole 3 which is a hyzer over a pretty water hazard to the right. I also liked Hole 17 which is a bomb anhyzer down a big hill and up again to the pin. I might consider adding one of those two holes to a list of the top 18 in the state.
Cons: The walking track! Ug. I get the feeling that the walking track was added sometime after the disc golf course was installed. This course is soooooo dangerous to people on the track. There are a couple of long holes where the track is not even seen from the tee so it's possible to throw while people are coming towards the disc golfers. Not safe! I felt very uneasy the whole time I was playing this course, which is really a shame because without this walking track running through the course it would be easily four stars and probably 4.5.
Other Thoughts: Holes 3 and 16-18 are away from the walking track and I enjoyed these holes the most. I guess the best time to play this course would be early in the morning when there aren't lots of people walking around the track. I had to really check up on a lot of throws because I was afraid I would hurt someone if I was off my line, and the track just isn't visible from some teeboxes but it's definitely in play. It's such a shame, because many of the holes are really great. For example Hole #1 Pro tee which is a downhill and tight tight fairway with the kind of slanted green that makes putting a challenge---unfortunately the walking track cuts across this fairway at about 80 feet off the tee, and there is a hill to the right that obscures most of the track, so you have very little warning of a pedestrian crossing. I guess the best way to play this course is with the help of a spotter to play traffic cop as you play this nice-looking course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but could easily be improved with minimal effort

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well shaded course with reasonably challenging holes.
Cons: No map anywhere; virtually impossible to figure out without someone who has played it before.
Other Thoughts: I like to play courses I town where I travel for work, so hit this after a deposition in Ruston. There was no map anywhere(except of DGCoursereview, which I discovered later). Nothing on signage tells you where next tee will be, so you stumble around until you find it, until #10 and 11 which have no sign. Then #16-18 are across the street, with nothing to tell you. So I wander for 10-20 minutes trying to find 10 and 11, then another 15 minutes looking for 16. Came here, found it, and would have had to throw across parking lot full of cars. Just quit. This was middle of day on Wednesday, so can,t figure out when cars would not be here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Short Course

5+    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: matt_robertson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees.
Discatcher baskets (in mostly good condition).
Mostly shaded.
Short - easy to walk. Can even play 2 rounds.
Several challenging uphill/downhill putts.
Many challenging wooded holes.
Cons: No bathrooms.
Can be difficult to navigate the first time.
Walking track around the course - occasionally have to wait for joggers.
Other Thoughts: Relatively well-maintained. Trees on some holes are slightly overgrown sometimes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with a very nice course. Every hole has two concrete tees and the signage is decent. There is a nice variety of shots, (though I did find myself throwing rhbh on most drives, when I usually drive rhfh). This course would be especially good for beginners, since it is mostly short. Also provides challenge for experienced players as well. There is plenty of shade, trash cans, and a few pretty unique holes.
Cons: A few signs were missing, and a basket or two were in need of repair/replacement. Can be hard to find your way around at times, but not too bad. While playing, there was only one other group playing, so most people in the park are there for other reasons; this seems like it could really slow play if too crowded. No bathrooms on site, but it is right in the middle of town.
Other Thoughts: Locals were very friendly, and Ruston was a really nice little town. My dad went to Tech, so it was nice to get to play at this one. I really loved the atmosphere at the park, and sort of wish it was my home course. If you venture down I-20, play it. It is maybe five minutes off the interstate. Also eat a "Sweep the Kitchen" at Johnny's Pizza.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid- Fun little course

1    12/15/2010   12/16/2010
Review By: LetsPlayGolf
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual concrete tee-pads.
-Good (not great) signage with length (although in yards), flight path, and appx basket location.
-Good mix of shots, lefty, righty, straight, long, short.
-Great course for LA Tech students to learn on, not long at all, especially from short tees.
-Nice water hole(s) #3 is as good as hole as you will play. #4 the water can come into play on a bad drive.
-Plenty of shade, benches and trashcans.
Cons: -Some of the signs are missing, makes it a little tough to navigate without a guide.
-Would be nice if on the signs or baskets there would be some arrow showing next tee. Most were easy to find, but 3-or-4 took some hunting.
-#12 basket is badly beat up and needs to be replaced.
-All baskets are showing age. Either a little TLC to clean them up, or replace 3-to-6 a year would go a long ways.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun little course to play, but not very challenging for experienced/advanced. I walked out of the car and threw a 5 on hole #1... after that it was 6 birdies and one bogey for my first round. Again, this is not a con at all because it is set on Tech's campus, it is geared to introduce students to the sport and I believe it does that very well. In my opinion a tie for signature hole between #3 and #17. #3 is the great water hole and #17 you are throwing downhill with the football stadium as your backdrop. If heading down I-20, the course is less than 3 minutes off the interstate, very easy to find and play. When you walk down the steps into the park, #1 long tee is to your left close to fence.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but Fun

5+    3/5/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hideaway Park on the Louisiana Tech campus is a fun course to play.There are holes that require annies, hyzers, and tight straight throws. Trees are everywhere. Plenty of shade, obviously. Walkers and joggers can be present, but everyone seems to give each other their space.1 and 2 are straight and pretty tree -lined, especially if you fade too much. 3 is the water hole, but no problem for a decent Drone that comes back from over the water. 4 and 5 are straight and tree-lined. 6 is a big annie hole. 7,8, and 9 are pretty straight. When you finish 9 look left to spot the 10 tee against a covered picnic slab. No signage on that one. 11 and 12 have the constant tree challenge as well. 13 was a fun hyzer hole where your second shot will be a hyzer or an annie, depending on where your tee shot lands. Lots of trees between you and the hole. 14 and 15 are somewhat open compared to the other holes. The last 3 holes are across the road along the Thomas Assembly Center. This is where some big arms will finally be happy. Lots of elevation change here. Good parking at hole #1. This course is a good test of technical skills and lines. Only one or two holes won't punish you much for an errant drive. All in all with elevation changes and all the trees, this was a good course to play. Many putts are challenging due to the slopes away from the baskets. A putt can roll a ways. Two sets of tees.
Cons: No rest rooms, unless a door is open across the road at the Thomas Center or Argent Pavillion. Didn't see any water fountains either. I was not able to find a map online.#16 requires an improvised tee, unless you want to throw across the car tops parked there in the original fairway. Watch walking the slopes, or you could turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: Better be able to throw straight here. Tech has some pretty coeds for sure. Locals were nice in pointing out Tee 10. DG'ers I passed spoke and were friendly. All in all, a very pleasant afternoon for 36. I play here any time I can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    8/27/2012   8/4/2009
Review By: championlog22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: #12 and #15 tops and chains have been replaced! Brand new discatchers! The only two holes in the park with double chains.
Shot variety
2 concrete tees on every hole
Accurate signs although not present on #10, #11.
Challenging water holes
a LOT of shade
discatcher baskets (good condition)
Lots of tables to sit/eat at
pavillions with nice new grills
rarely crowded
no thick brush to walk through or tall rough
paved trail that follows most of the course
Cons: no bathrooms
no water
#2 basket is a little bent but playable
#6 basket is broken and where there should be a bolt, there is a stick holding the basket up.
2 missing tee signs, but fairly easy to navigate
fairway of 16 is a overflow parking lot and on days with basketball or football games can be very crowded.

UNPLAYABLE on LA Tech football game days.
2014 home games are listed below and if you are planning to play a round here, do not come on those days. Course will be playable the day before and the day after game day.
Other Thoughts: LA Tech Home Games:
9/20/14 vs Northwestern State
10/4/14 vs UTEP
10/18/14 vs UTSA
11/1/14 vs Western Kentucky
11/29/14 vs Rice

I personally replaced the mando signs on hole 6 and 17 with handmade signs that have held up well over the last few years. The mando on 17 is in play to keep players from throwing to the right side of the hole which is the fairway of 18. There is a water fountain under the big blue argent pavillion at hole 17.
Hole 2 and 17 have changed locations in 2011 due to construction.
Cross the road after hole 15 to get to 16 tee.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Starter Course

5+    6/15/2008   4/5/2009
Review By: littleshoe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of lightly wooded, clear, and dense wooded holes, about 50/20/30%. A few real challenges present themselves, #3 is narrow with a creekbed immediately to the right and behind the basket, #13 is a densely wooded with a sharp dogleg left. Good course to start on with a lot of holes requiring accuracy above all else. Short and Long Tees available on most holes. Nice new paths and signs to direct you between holes. Nice scenic paths.
Cons: Limited parking. Hole #16 crosses over an area used for parking for school events and could be covered in cars. Hole #17 is now difficult to navigate sue to a pavilion addition, used to be a long dogleg right but now may be a straight-shot through the woods. Could use more hole descriptions. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Bring someone with you who knows the course to avoid getting mixed up and not seeing baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

a fun course to play considering the limited number of acres

5+    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes nice use of the creek and the limited elevation. I really enjoyed holes 1-7. The last 3 holes are across the street. 16's basket is across from parking area. Holes 3,4 and 5 run along a creek. Hole 3 runs parallel to the creek with no room to work with between you and the creek which is on your right. It is an intimidating looking basket location to some, but there is a spot to climb down and the water is not too deep to see through it, so you should not lose a disc on hole 3. So let her rip with no worries. I have never looked at the water level behind holes 4 and 5 or to see if there is a safe place to walk down, so you might want to check it out before you throw. Decent variety of required shots. Moderate number of trees, but not enough to annoy those golfers that don't like heavily wooded courses. I love heavily wooded courses and although hideaway is not heavily wooded it has enough to keep golfers like me interested. Not too hard of a course to introduce new players to our sport. It might be a better hook with which to catch new people than a typical wide open city park cram job with walkers everywhere or people flying kites in the fairways. Plenty of places to rest or refresh.
Cons: Not enough trash cans. Sort of hard to navigate. if it is busy a few holes can be dangerous. Needs better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is an original course in my opinion. It isn't like any that I have previously played. It has a good amount of shade even though it is not heavily wooded, but it is not lightly wooded. Enjoy a quick cool round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.