Ruston, LA 
Hideaway Park Share
Uploaded By: championlog22 Hole #4 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
a fun course to play considering the limited number of acres

5+    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Played: 56  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes nice use of the creek and the limited elevation. I really enjoyed holes 1-7. The last 3 holes are across the street. 16's basket is across from parking area. Holes 3,4 and 5 run along a creek. Hole 3 runs parallel to the creek with no room to work with between you and the creek which is on your right. It is an intimidating looking basket location to some, but there is a spot to climb down and the water is not too deep to see through it, so you should not lose a disc on hole 3. So let her rip with no worries. I have never looked at the water level behind holes 4 and 5 or to see if there is a safe place to walk down, so you might want to check it out before you throw. Decent variety of required shots. Moderate number of trees, but not enough to annoy those golfers that don't like heavily wooded courses. I love heavily wooded courses and although hideaway is not heavily wooded it has enough to keep golfers like me interested. Not too hard of a course to introduce new players to our sport. It might be a better hook with which to catch new people than a typical wide open city park cram job with walkers everywhere or people flying kites in the fairways. Plenty of places to rest or refresh.
Cons: Not enough trash cans. Sort of hard to navigate. if it is busy a few holes can be dangerous. Needs better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is an original course in my opinion. It isn't like any that I have previously played. It has a good amount of shade even though it is not heavily wooded, but it is not lightly wooded. Enjoy a quick cool round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Throw straight... or else!

1    1/4/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Probably the hilliest course in NELA.
Clearly Marked hole information
Refines every shot in your bag.
All holes within general eye-sight (centrally located)
Challenging shots with heavy woods and plenty of dog-legs.
Park is generally clean with walkers and pedisterians about
Cons: Punishingly tight fairways.
Some holes are insane: narrow lanes to throw thru, deep ravines, 90 degree turns
Hard to navigate for booming throwers who are use to wide open spaces.
Other Thoughts: Good course and offers a great variety to the other courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course to practice control shots. Plenty of trees, but there are clear paths to the baskets. Trees provide shade in the summer time which is welcomed!
Cons: No bathrooms

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1/20/2008   1/21/2008
Review By: Glen Smith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is an easily accible course,and has plenty of chalenges. Although not needed in Jan. there is plenty of shade.
Cons: No bathrooms. No drinking water. All holes are par 3(some are a lot more chalenging than others.Acouple of tee boxes are unmarked,causing a lot of unnecessary confusion.
Other Thoughts: While I like a challenge it could do with a few less trees.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1/20/2008   1/20/2008
Review By: sketch72
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice quiet park to play in. Lots of obstacles to challenge even a seasoned disc golfer.
Cons: Bring your hip-waders because there are a couple of baskets right on a huge creek, and although there wasn't much water there today it is still a very deep gulley. A couple of tees are not marked so if the course is unknown to you there will be extra walking involved to find them.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend that if you know someone that knows this course, bring them with you and it will be a lot more fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.