Layout Extinct

Stanardsville, VA 
Greene Co. Community Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 good overall course

1    10/14/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: gregk23
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good mix of wide-open holes and tight wooded courses.
quiet and beautiful surroundings
good course for all abilities
Cons: Only 12 holes
tees in some disrepair
Other Thoughts: There are only 12 holes now, but they are all at least solid. They are planning on adding additional tee areas and generally improving the pre-existing 12 holes. It's a good course that serves a mix of abilities and strengths.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Damn nature you scary

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 76  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Discatchers
- Teesigns
- Technicality of the holes
- Mix of shots (R-L, L-R, S)
- Beautiful hill that it's set on
Cons: Where to start

- Teepads were half turf and half natural with grass growing through them
- Some holes were poorly designed (i.e. 6)
- Parking is about a 600 foot walk to the first tee
- UNDERGROWTH IS NOW OVERGROWTH
- Rough was too rough... even if you were off the fairway by a few feet there was just nothing
- Holes 10-16 were just awful (nice design but just bushes and overgrown stuff even in the fairways
- High percentage of loosing a disc
- I know this is an outside in the woods type sport and I know the park can't help it but spider webs are everywhere
- Park is in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: HIGH PERCENTAGE OF DISC LOSS

There were times were I was dead middle of the fairway and we still almost loss the disc due to high grass.

If I were local I'd play holes 1-9 then 17 and 18. The others weren't worth loosing a disc over.

Skip this course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Shows much Promise

5+    3/30/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: Edgar Allan Bro
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you first arrive you will see some dirt and gravel on the side of the paved road (that continues to a pavilion and soccer fields). This dirt and gravel will be your parking spaces, not a problem in my opinion, but some people want a true parking lot.

Aside from hole #1 you won't run into many people who are not DG players.

This is one of the best marked courses that I have played. Each hole has a sign post that shows not only the hole location, but also the direction of the next hole. Most of the holes are fairly obvious where you are starting and ending, with the minor exception of hole 12 which you have to play over a hill.

The course has a variety of wooded, open, and wooded into open holes. The course utilizes elevation very well. Some holes you are shooting straight down a hill, other holes you are shooting straight up a hill. Some holes you and the basket are at the same elevation with a "valley" between you, while others have a hill between the basket and you.

This course demands accuracy and power and when you have a good round here, it feels very rewarding.

The first 11 holes (and last 2) are all very well laid out and feel complete, the 5 in between kind of feel like an afterthought. The fairways are not as clear and at times it feels like you are in your backyard hacking through the woods. But if you play the full course the mix of RHBH, RHFH, and Neutral lines are pretty even.

If you want to play a "short round" you will most likely play 11 holes. Stopping at 9 will leave you far in the woods. The old 10 and 11 (now 17 and 18) go side by side with the new 10 and 11 and both take you right to where you are parked.
Cons: First: Mud. This course holds water for an ungodly amount of time. They have recently planted small trees in many locations (I think the goal is to soak up some of the water) but at this time it is still a swamp. I have come a week and a half after it last rained and there will still be 2 inches of mud throughout the 1st, 2nd, and 7th holes.

Second: Thorns. This course demands power and accuracy to be enjoyable. One small mistake and you are off of the fairway (and it is brutal). There are thorns EVERYwhere as well as sharp brittle limbs. There aren't many "lines" in the woods and oftentimes it is difficult to follow PDGA rules of not disturbing branches (or thorns) in front of you.

Third: Park-goers. Most of the time you won't have to worry about the people up at the soccer fields, with the exception of hole 1's basket. It is located near the top of a hill. At the top of said hill are multiple soccer fields. Occasionally balls will come rolling over the hill, children will come running down the hill, or parents will be playing on the hill with smaller children. Everywhere else seems to be fine and the walking trails do not really conflict with the course in any way that I have noticed in 25+ times coming.

One thing that is upsetting is the lack of communication with the disc golf course and the school system. Greene county uses the course (not really trails that people walk on, but the actual course) for crosscountry. My dad and I were playing one day when out of no where highschoolers come running by the basket and on top of discs that we had just driven. Luckily, they weren't there when we threw the drives and no one was hurt, but our discs did get trampled and we had to quickly get out of their way. I am all for other sports, but a flyer or sign at the front Board would have been nice saying that there was a meet on X day at X time. Random and unlikely it will happen to you, but there is the possibility.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and the course that I learned on. I've played it through many renovations/hole changes, and I think it has improved for the better. A lot of the times that I come during the day I will see BRDG members working on the course improving it. This is a wonderful course less the briars and mud and keeps improving. If you are an alright to skilled player I would recommend the course. If you are a beginner, it is not bad, but you will most likely get frustrated and cut up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Again (at least in the summer)

2-4    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: - Course has a lot of potential
- Rights, lefts, straights, even a nice S turn
- Level, Up hill and down.
- Good signage
Cons: - Chiggers / Ticks / Briars
- Several holes have VERY narrow shot lines (we spent a lot of time looking for ricochets)
- The back 8 don't really have fairways, they were cut down with a bush-hog and at least the times I played had grown back up.
- Several holes have a high chance of not being able to find errant discs (see above)
- Multiple tees were not clearly marked
Other Thoughts: - If you can throw a perfectly shaped 250-300' shot you'll love this course and have a high chance to birdy many holes. But, if you get off 15-20 feet you'll be looking at bogey.
- I've never been so frustrated or torn up by briars and chiggers.
- I'll never be able to get my wife to play this course again.
- For now, I'm just not good enough for this course's tight tunnel shots. Maybe I'll check it out again next year after I've gotten better and the course has been beatten down some more.

 Great Course... But oh the pain!

5+    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fairways balance finesse with distance well.
-Nice, Yellow, Innova Baskets (always a plus for me)
-Simply Beautiful park, combines green open fields with dense woods
Cons: -Going off the fairway for a disc will tear you up like nobody's business!
-Watch out for spotted ticks!
Other Thoughts: This course is one of two in the Charlottesville area. It was designed and put in place by the local disc golf club. It was extremely well designed and offers a variety of left and right fade shots both in the woods and in more open areas.

It has appeal for most levels of play. One exception to this this is hole seven, a hole that is more of a jackknife than a dogleg. A player who cannot drive at least three hundred feet will struggle to shoot under five on this par 3.

This is a wonderfully designed course in a beautiful park. That being said, the vegetation off the fairways is punishing.

The course has been cut through the woods with a bush-hog. It has not been played long enough to trample the ground vegetation along the fairways. The trees are not quite thick enough to block out the sun. What results is several wooded holes that will cut one to shreds with thorns and brush. Especially on the back nine.

This course is better to play Fall thru Spring. I went there yesterday. It's clear that in the summer the vegetation just grows too much to properly maintain the holes. Also, the grassy field that comes into play on 2, 6, 7 and 9? had not been mowed, forcing the d-golfer to wade through knee-high grass. Don't misunderstand me. The local disc golf club did an amazing job designing and does a tremendous job maintaining this course. However, the terrain is so high maintenance that it makes for a significant drawback.

This is a great course to bring some variety to your play if you live in Charlottesville. And If you can't stand wet grass, this is a good course to play early in the morning since there is always a dew at Walnut Creek. Several years down the road, this will be an amazing course. It's just not completely broken-in yet.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Like this Course... A Lot!

1    4/30/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are open long holes for the big throwers, open holes and tight wooded holes for accuracy throwers. Severe elevation holes going up & down hill. The wooded holes are an advantage for players like me who aren't as long but can throw tight & accurate. If you get off the path on this course in the woods you are in the jailhouse for sure.

The course is in a busy park but set up where you will not be in the way.

The course has been redesigned and there are marker signs at each hole and the local club members take good care of the course and are working hard to improve it.

Here's the play by play...

1- Good hole to open with, 405' throw with the basket on the other side of a small creek with high grass next to the tree in the distance.

2- Straight 322' shot through the trees & over a small creek that is about 3' drop. The woods on the left are thick. Past the trees & it's wide open.

3- Straight 265' shot through a tight wooded fairway to the pin.

4- Tight 255' dogleg left shot to the pin. As Always you want to stay out of the trees.

5- Another tight 248' dogleg to the left. But the pin is in a small clearing at the end of the path.

6- The sign is a little misleading the 280' dogleg to the left is a little more of a turn than illustrated. Tight trees on both sides.

7- This was the toughest hole for me. 416' opens with a Long open drive to the opening in the woods. If you make it past the small hill it's a jailhouse to get to the pin.

8- Another tight 303' wooded hole that has a slight dogleg to the right near the end of the hole.

9- Long & graceful 338' anhyzer shot will put you in good shape on this wooded hole that's not as tight as other holes.

10- Long 400' elevated hole. A good straight shot off the tee will get you in the field below. The pin is at the edge of an open field.

11- Straight tight tee shot to get out of the woods to the open field for this 372' hole. The pin is too the right on an uphill grade of the open field.

12- This 469' hole starts with a Long straight shot through the opening with the pin to the left on a slight downhill grade.

13- Another straight 247' shot to get through the woods to an opening. The pin is to the left and on a slight uphill grade.

14- This is a serious uphill 262' straight tee shot. THe fairway is fairly open but it's a hump to get to the top.

15- Straight 202' shot going back downhill through a wooded hole. The pin is tucked in behind a few trees at the bottom of the hill. DO NOT OVER SHOOT THIS HOLE. SERIOUS THICK BRIAR PATCH ON THE OTHER SIDE OF SMALL CLEARING BEHIND THE PIN.

16- Another 285' uphill tee shot. Not a severe as #14. Just make sure you get over the bushes to a clearing on the other side.

17- A 310' downhill anhyzer shot but for me the objective was to hit the clearing at the bottom of the hill. There is a stream just behind the patch of grass at the bottom and on the other side the pin is tucked in some trees.

18-360' dogleg right. I threw a straight tee shot to get to the other side of the trees.

Cons: The only con was I got lost a couple of time going to the next tee, but that was more my fault for not paying attention.

The natural tee pads could be a problem if it rains or is wet.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 4 because I'm not a power thrower but a control thrower and the tight wooded holes are my best chance for some birdies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid All ‘Rounder

1    4/23/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety - length (low 200s to mid 400s), tightness (quite to not), elevation (quite to none), and shape (left/right/straight/S)
Cons:
The tees were worn spots, slippery, uneven, and often root-filled. Course retains water quite well
Other Thoughts:
Course plays into/out of the open space, sparse woods, and thicker woods of a gentle valley formed by a tree-lined creek. After the first couple of mostly open holes playing near/across the creek help you loosen your arm, holes 3-5 will challenge you with technical/flat tree work. Hole-6 starts tight then exits into the open, while number-7 is just the opposite. More tech/tree on 8-9, then 10 (downslope) and 11 (upslope) both start in woods, but quickly and easily enter open space. Longest-hole #12 has you wind your way through moderately-dense trees for nearly 500', then number-13 is a short-n-tight left-turner. You begin to realize there's not been a lot of elevation changes, then you hit the up-down-up-down rollercoaster created by 14-17. Number-18 provides the final challenge of tight early, slightly up slope, sharp right at the end.

From the kiosk, tee-12 is to your right, basket-11 to your left, and tee-1 to your left, down the hill. Current (4/23/11) online map is incorrect - some holed are different, and/or re-numbered. Despite this, the course was easy enough to navigate, as it had a fairly natural flow to it, and the signs (some had hooks) at the teepads would also indicated the direction to the next tee. Orange flags and/or yellow-painted logs/limbs in various place to assist in navigation as well. Newly-built bridges to help cross the creek at its widest points.

Decent course with solid variety, certainly worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  GC 18 Hole Design January 2010

5+    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: michael purcell
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The GC is now back to 18 full holes due to efforts of local Blue Ridge Disc Golf Club (BRDGC) members. It retains the former intent of the course with tight wooded fairways and a couple of open long shots. Nice change in elevation and use of natual hazards. Players are required to have the techincal ability to get past natural defense found at each hole.
Cons: Tee boxes will be an on going project at the course. A couple of bridges are needed in order to safely get over streams, another on going project by BRDGC club members.
Other Thoughts: This review was prepared by the BRDGC course coordinator for the GC and is intended to give a honest overview of the course in it's current condition. If you live in the Charlottesville, VA area and would like to help maintain this or any BRDGC course please contact us via the club web site www.brdgc.org

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Coming Back From Destruction

5+    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: reallybadputter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of holes with a few out in the open, a few firing out of woods into the open, and about half playing through the woods. With good use of the terrain to provide 2 big downhill shots.

The 11 holes that remain from the pre-logging layout are relatively well manicured (although that doesn't mean you won't get into some briars if you get off the fairway). The last 5 holes play through more open woods (see Cons below)
Cons: December 2007, Greene County decided to sell the rights to do select hardwood timbering of the Park for $30k... then spent $20k to "clean up" the mess that was left behind... This area included 6 holes of the old DG course. The "clean up" only took care of about 1/4 of the area that trees were removed from... the rest is still covered with the branches cut from the trunks of the removed trees... including the holes mentioned above. The new final 5 holes can be rough if you get off the fairway, but landing areas and around the baskets are clear.

Other cons: Natural Teepads that are at times uneven. They were the next thing to be addressed when the loggers came.

Free Tattoos... on the wooded holes briars are present if you get too far off the fairways
Other Thoughts: It is a course that is still under development, but is now getting the TLC that it needs. But I do have to agree with the "camping" comment in the earlier review.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Time Potential

1    10/29/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The GC is on a great piece of land with plenty of open and wooded terrain for a great course. The first half of the course, for the most part, plays very well and has some great holes. My personal favorites are #2 (throws through a tight opening in the trees then a slight incline up towards the basket), and #10 (long, downhill shot through tight woods into an open field, basket on the opposite side).

Most holes have mulitple tees (looked like 2 on most, 3 on some), and the baskets are in pretty good shape. The land that the course is on has a lot of potential, and I think that with some TLC this course could be great.
Cons: Unfortunately, the course doesn't seem to get much TLC. I knew that only 15 holes were "playable", but when I went it was more like 11. Holes 12-15 go through some VERY tall grass (I spent 10 minutes just looking for the basket on 12). It looks like nobody had been back there to play these holes in quite a while, as there were no paths to be found. In it's current state, you can really only play holes 1-11.

Another con here is the signage. The drawings are pretty primitave, and many of the holes don't have a # on them, so it's hard to tell if you're in the right place. It's not really worth fixing the signs until the course is restored to a full 18, though. The tee locations on the signs were also somewhat confusing.

Speaking of tees... boxes would be a huge improvement here. Cement isn't necessary, but if they could be boxed and filled with gravel (like the recent improvements at Walnut Creek), that would be huge. Again, there's really no point in taking care of that before making this place a playable 18-hole course.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, The GC, in it's current state, isn't worth the 40 minute drive from Charlottesville. Walnut Creek is much closer, and Kiwanis in Staunton is an equal drive for a much nicer park.

There is lots of potential here, though, so I'll keep an eye on it. This could be a top-tier course in the state one day if it gets some attention. For now, though... not so much.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.