Albemarle, NC 
Fox Chase Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #18
4 / 420ft.   4 / 558ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Above Average Course

1    6/1/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent design, you can tell the piece of land was crafted into a course and not just forced.
-Benches are plentiful, trash cans on about a third of the holes.
-White tees are impeccable, with nice signage.
-Arrows pointing to next hole, and for blind shots of the tee (great for newcomers).
-Park is easy to find, practice hole, other amenities make for a good time.
Cons: -Blue tees would have to walk up to the white tees on most holes to figure out distance, direction, etc.
-Quite buggy (it is the woods after all).
-Some holes might feel like a crap shoot for beginners and some semi-experienced players from the tight fairways.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course overall. The design is solid, and elevation changes make the course interesting and extremely enjoyable. Woods course for sure, but the front nine has some open'ish' holes. Like many other reviewers mentioned, you have to be accurate and not throw with warrantless abandon off the tee.
Memorable holes:
-Five: This hole struck me as being simple, yet well defined. Its the perfect length, with the perfect amount of space off the tee to get through the trees. A little creek 5 feet behind the hole makes it even better.
-Nine: Not the easiest hole, but definitely one of the nicest. Off the white tee it sweeps downhill slightly right then finishes hard left nestled behind some trees on a uphill. A balanced challenge.
-Seventeen: After a slew of tight fairways downhill and uphill, seventeen offers brief respite in terms of openness, but the elevation is much more severe. I would guess a 20 degree gradient or so that requires a strong drive either anhyzer or sidearm to reach close enough for a birdie chance. Great hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Top Shelf!

2-4    6/25/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+ (This course will spank you if you make bad decisions, get too aggressive, or do not execute to plan - perfection!)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A (Several holes are a little too long for me, so that makes birdies not to be expected, but with the terrain and narrowness pars are still rewarding....and I can live with bogeys on those holes. BTW, I start losing accuracy at 300'. The other holes are perfectly challenging/rewarding!)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+ (Wow! The design forces so many different shot shapes and combinations of power and finesse that every round will offer a whole new set of challenges.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+ (This course exemplifies my favorite kind of beauty.)
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- B+ (I wish there were a few more multi-shot holes, but the ones there are a great combination of decision making and executing your shots).
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

5+    8/14/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful wooded course in central NC. It will test your accuracy, as many holes have tight fairways. There are multiple tee pads on several holes, and the tees are nice, wide raked concrete. The course flows very naturally, and has many arrows pointing toward the next tee. Every hole has a bench, usually between the white and blue tees. Fox Chase offers many shot selections and makes you think about what shot to throw. The baskets are in great shape, and there is a practice basket before you enter the woods to hole #1. The park offers a playground, sand volleyball court, kids playground, soccer fields, and a swimming pool. The area the course is on is disc golf only. This course scores very high on my fun factor scale!
Cons: Not enough trash cans, there were maybe 3 out there. The lack of signs on the blue tees, only a minor incovience the first time you play. I think the listed par on a couple of holes is questionable(I can't believe I just typed that). Not real fond of the direction the white tee on 9 faces. A couple of the blue tees were never poured.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth the trip to play. I like courses tight and wooded, and this won't disappoint if that's your thing. This piece of land is beautiful in the summer or winter. There is an outfitter just 2 miles down the road that sells Innova. They have a decent selection, and still have some Fox Chase stamped discs. I wish I lived closer.
-Favorite hole is #14, its a tight downhill ace run. You can go straight, or try the risky right or left paths. If you miss it goes from ace run to possible bogey.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded

1    2/13/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 17.7 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
- Tight fairways that emphazise accuracy more then distance.
- Easy to navigate due to next tee arrows on every hole.
- Great use of elevation and variety of shots.
- Multiple teepads add a great variety and allow a course that will challenge players of all skill levels.
- Beautiful park and course
Cons:
- Blue Tees lack signs.
- Some of the Blue teepads are missing
Other Thoughts: Fox Chase is a technical wooded course that offers a great variety of lines thru tight fairways that provides a great challenge and experience. A creek that runs thru the park makes for some well placed OB lines. The course is very well maintained and has a great design. Highly reccommended.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Its good but not that Good

1    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: ERace
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: the white tees like everyone else has said is maped out nicely and its a real clean park with some tough holes
Cons: some blue tees dont exist or do they?
Other Thoughts: its a good course but i dont think its a 4.5 course i live an hour away and drove with a friend there and this is probably the last time i play it. if it was closer then maybe but its not worth an hour drive for me.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Hidden Gem

1    1/23/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: LunacyMountain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lovely huge park, Tight hallways right from Tee 1. Nice selection of holes from the tightest of hallways to some beautiful open shots. LOTS of elevation here so play smart! Park was VERY clean with trash cans at every hole.
Cons: The only problem I had with this course was no Tee Signs at the Blue Tee's but other than that LOVELY park!
Other Thoughts: Play this park if you get a chance

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/12/2007   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Russell Schwartz Design, great layout and good work with land they had. I rate this one close to excellent. I had some trouble on the long tees, but shot well out there. I was fairly new when I played there and in the middle of the summer, so foilage was heavy. Great raked pads and innova disccathers.
Cons: Some very tight drives from the longs, left thinking what the hell was that, but I managed it.
Other Thoughts: Overall worth the 3 hour drive to play in the tourney they had. Wish they would have it again.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto

5+    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of Elevation Changes, Very tough course. Tight Fairways! Makes for an interesting game. This course definately rewards smart play and punishes you for mistakes! I have been going around to other courses in NC every weekend but always leave thinking that I could have had just as much fun or more at Fox Chase. So far this one is number one in my book.

I don't know if you play pool but if you do here is the best way to describe fox chase. It is like a Gandy Pool table with tight simonis cloth and shimmed pockets. The table plays beautifully but with the fast cloth and the shimmed pockets you have to play your shots with finesse and perfect aim. Too much speed and you will bounce right out of the pocket. The good thing about playing on a table like this is when you go to a regular pool table you can drill all your shots because the holes are wide open. Fox Chase is the same way. You try to throw a bomb and you are going to hit a tree. You have to be disciplined, and play accurate shots. However once you get good at Fox Chase the fairways at other courses will open up for you!
Cons: Local disc golf club member added mandos and out of bounds on some holes. None of this was intended by the course designer. It is my opinion that mandos should only be used in disc golf for safety reasons, to protect a road, playground, or parking lot. These additions are unnecessary and detrimental to Russel Schwartz's original design.
Other Thoughts: The longer layout could be improved with a few longer baskets and teepads.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 An Excellent Course

8/4/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I was thouroughly impressed. This course has multiple concrete tees and lots of elevation. Many of the tees are on top of one hill with the basket on the next hill. The holes were excellently marked with arrows pointing to the next tee. The signs were very accurate in the description of the fairways. The course was extremely challenging. I played the white course and struggled to par many of the holes. The white tees have a par of 56 and the blue tees par is 58. There were a variety of shots represented in this layout. There were long holes, short holes, left handed holes, right handed holes, open holes and tight holes.
The elevations added a lot to the play of the course. This course was definitely worth the drive to get it.
Cons: The one complaint that I have about the course was that the tee signs for the holes was at the white tees. This means that if you played the blue tees, you had no idea how long the hole was or where the baskets were located.
Other Thoughts: I had a very hard time finding the course because MapQuest identified a road as Centerview Church. The road sign says NE Connection.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.