Des Moines, IA
Grandview Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 311ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
enjoyed the course

1    7/7/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It reminded me somewhat of my home course in that the course isn't carved out of forest but there sure are a lot of trees!!
Cons: could use some.......next tee ===> ......in one or two locations although having the course map photo on my phone helped with that.
Other Thoughts: Even here in the Quad Cities where we have many awesome courses I would still make this course a regular part of my rounds.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, even when crowded!

1    9/25/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was the first course I have ever played on, but not the first I have ever seen. It is very nice and I have been comparing all the other courses I have played since to this one. It has a good use of the elevations and the layout is pretty good. It has good baskets, and was freshly mowed.
Cons: There is a road going straight through it. probably not a problem if you are using a decent disc made of good plastic. at some times the next tee was hard to find. it is a long walk back to your vehicle from 18 if you park by 1. there was no scorecards by the map.
Other Thoughts: Really a very nice course, all things considered. I will play this again as i have a son in college down there!
I actually can't wait to play this one again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

solid public park course

2-4    6/10/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of the park. You dont see this good of use of a park very often. Long and short placements go very well together. Making a lot of good short and long holes.
Cons: Could be some more technical holes through trees. The trees that are there are pretty easy to get around. Kind of sucks when there is a lot of people at the park. But you will have that with a public park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Top 3 in DSM

5+    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: AcunningStunt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in the des moines it's a good mix of short and long holes open shots and some trees it's also very good for forehand and backhand shots very well kept n clean
Cons: Inconsistent tee pad summershore and summer long some have mud in front and behind so can kind of get slick Hilly

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite 18 hole in the Des Moines Metro

5+    7/30/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs, baskets and tee pads, layout is about as good as courses get around here, nice mix of shot types, decent chance for birds but also some longer challenging shots, mostly shaded, well maintained, hard to lose a disc here b/c even the wooded areas are pretty clear and not a wall of underbrush like you sometimes find
Cons: Pretty popular so can be crowded, they recently moved a couple of the longer shots back even further taking the hole from challenging to frustrating in my opinion
Other Thoughts: My favorite 18 hole in the metro, I love pretty much everything about it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, poor layout

1    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great holes, lots of up and down hills, left and right turns. Good trees.

Nice tees and baskets. Great signs. Des Moines disc golf club does a good job with this.

Lots of different distance, everything from the huge uphill to the little shorty downhills.
Cons: Layout isn't great. There are a couple spots where you have to cast around a bit to find the next hole. Signs show multiple basket placements, but don't say which basket it is in, which makes things a bit more difficult, as you have to cast around a bit to find the hole sometimes.

No water hazards, there appears to be a small swamp that doesn't really come into play, would have been nice to have that be something you had to clear once instead of just something to shoot near.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, I played like absolute crap, and the course bent me over, but I felt good at the end of it. I would play this course again in a heartbeat, and if I were anywhere near Des Moines I would make a point to get here for another go round. At least the second time I'd remember to bring lube.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 DSM needs another one just like it

5+    6/15/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Serene and shady park tucked on the back side of a municipal golf course in one of Des Moines hillier neighborhoods (whomever says Iowa is flat hasn't been there). Due to its moderate length this course is very popular. Dual tees on most holes (some of the shorter holes have just one) give users the ability to tailor the length of it to their abilities. The "back seven" holes to the south of the entrance feature the coolest elevation changes as well as the challenging monster on #12 (essp. when the pin is long). Minis every Monday night.
Cons: The downside of popular of course is crowded, and not just with disc golfers. Towards the middle of the course is where you're going to run into the most trouble. I've never had the misfortune of hitting here on a weekend thankfully. There are some erosion issues, and you'll likely encounter a few muddy spots towards the lower areas.
Other Thoughts: Best advice I would give folks is get here either early or on a weekday before the crowds hit. Also if you have a camera handy, take your picture with the carved basket made out of a tree trunk near #10's tee. The popularity of this course begs a question as to why Des Moines doesn't plan another course like this. Many of the other courses in the area seem to be set for advanced players and I've never really seen a crowding problem at those.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

1    6/3/2005   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All 18 holes have large mature trees to contend with. Some are a little more open and others get relatively tight. Gently rolling hills provide a slight additional challenge. The course has a nice flow to it and for the most part is easy to follow. About halfway through the course the holes move to the other side of the entrance. Majority of the holes are short to medium length with a variety in shot types.
Cons: Non-disc golfers are a nuisance. Careful where you park as discs may hit your car.
Other Thoughts: Always a joy to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: garublador
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well groomed, many different shots required, low chance for losing a disc, nice shelter, parking and bathrooms.
Cons: Gets really busy, can be on the easy side for skilled golfers.
Other Thoughts: Perfect for a fun outing that can be enjoyed by many skill levels.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.