Des Moines, IA 
Grandview Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Corse

1    7/30/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Bigcountry54
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great holes, easy with a hint of challenge for a new player, Trees made it a little technical to play, No water
Cons: With 2 tees and 2 baskets, things got a little confusing occasionally. A busy course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: If I get back to Des Moines, I will play this course again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hometown Favorite

5+    10/19/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: rocker13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements. Elevation and tree hazards add some difficulty. On my favorite side of town. Nice tee pads great for driving. Many seats if you get tired.
Cons: Many holes are very similar. Not too many shots that will really punish you.
Other Thoughts: I have always loved this course. It isn't that hard but I personally just go here to see how much my skills have improved. Many holes are possible to make in one shot. Some times a poor throw will go towards people but if you can control your shot you will do fine.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

enjoyed the course

1    7/7/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It reminded me somewhat of my home course in that the course isn't carved out of forest but there sure are a lot of trees!!
Cons: could use some.......next tee ===> ......in one or two locations although having the course map photo on my phone helped with that.
Other Thoughts: Even here in the Quad Cities where we have many awesome courses I would still make this course a regular part of my rounds.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun park course

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely groomed city park. A few spots play near woods and brush, adding some occasional opportunities for punishment on errant shots. Elevation comes into play on much of the course, with rolling hills throughout and a couple steeper shots. The hills are used well to add challenge and variety, especially on the last several holes.

Mature trees provide the main obstacles here, with a scattering throughout the park. There are enough that several holes force left and right turning shots. The grass was mowed short when I played and some holes have low ceilings, so rollers can come in handy here.

Dual concrete tees on most holes offer a good tee surface. The tee signs are solid, with signs at both holes with length and hole layout. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow, and there's a map posted at the kiosk. Dual pin positions add some extra variety.
Cons: I always like to see dual pin placements, especially when they add variety of lines like many here do. It is frustrating to have to guess what pin position is in use though, this area doesn't seem to have any way of indicating that at the tee sign or the course kiosk. There are some safety issues, with the park road and picnic areas in play on some holes.

The course can feel a bit repetitive at times, with similar terrain and foliage throughout the course and only limited punishment for missing your line. Despite good use of the hills and trees, you can get away with a lot of hyzers here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable, especially from the short tees. There is some length, but nothing ridiculous, and lost discs are not an issue here. More experienced players will find some fun shots, but not too tough a test. This is a nice place for a low stress casual round in a pretty park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, even when crowded!

1    9/25/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was the first course I have ever played on, but not the first I have ever seen. It is very nice and I have been comparing all the other courses I have played since to this one. It has a good use of the elevations and the layout is pretty good. It has good baskets, and was freshly mowed.
Cons: There is a road going straight through it. probably not a problem if you are using a decent disc made of good plastic. at some times the next tee was hard to find. it is a long walk back to your vehicle from 18 if you park by 1. there was no scorecards by the map.
Other Thoughts: Really a very nice course, all things considered. I will play this again as i have a son in college down there!
I actually can't wait to play this one again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 solid public park course

2-4    6/10/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of the park. You dont see this good of use of a park very often. Long and short placements go very well together. Making a lot of good short and long holes.
Cons: Could be some more technical holes through trees. The trees that are there are pretty easy to get around. Kind of sucks when there is a lot of people at the park. But you will have that with a public park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Park Course

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design - The course is designed pretty well and uses most of the land available in the park. It caters mostly to the beginner/intermediate golfer as most holes, even from the long tees. The course flows well and it is generally pretty easy to find your way around. The design uses the elevation in the park pretty well.

Infrastructure - Two concrete tees for every hole and very nice, descriptive tee signs for each pad. Bathrooms were located in the park along with picnic tables and park benches. The park is very clean.

Location - Grandview is located in the middle of Des Moines and is close to hotels, food, shopping, etc. It is pretty close to the interstate as well and easy to find.



Cons: Challenge - Most golfers will find Grandview to be fun, but most pros and some advanced level golfers may find it to be a bit easy as there aren't many long holes. Bad shots aren't really punished in most cases. Even with a bad drive off the tee, most holes are pretty par-able.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, Grandview is worth a few hours of your time. The mix of elevation and trees, along with the clean tee boxes and signs make it a fun round. It is your standard park style golf with above average elevation. Definitely worth a try!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated

1    4/1/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 145  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is mostly open with plenty of mature trees in play. The trees just aren't thick, and you don't really go in the woods. It's a nice course. Probably a 3.5 for beginners.
Cons: There were a lot of people playing here at 10:00 am on a Sunday... and I really don't like too many people at one park.
The worst thing about this park is that is has a road winding throughout the whole thing. As you probably know, nothing scuffs up/ruins a disc more than hitting concrete. Kinda ruins my day when I ruin my favorite disc on a nice throw that barely dodged a street that was in play 250' toward the hole.
Another bad thing is that this course doesn't loop. Its a decent walk from #18 back to your car at #1.
It was also kind of confusing as to what teepad to throw from... some holes have two tee pads. A regular, longer pad and an "R" pad which is slightly shorter. I assume "R" stands for Rookie?
Other Thoughts: SUMMARY; The play of the course itself was nice, although it lacked variation. Other outside factors hurt the score.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Top 3 in DSM

5+    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: AcunningStunt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in the des moines it's a good mix of short and long holes open shots and some trees it's also very good for forehand and backhand shots very well kept n clean
Cons: Inconsistent tee pad summershore and summer long some have mud in front and behind so can kind of get slick Hilly

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite 18 hole in the Des Moines Metro

5+    7/30/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs, baskets and tee pads, layout is about as good as courses get around here, nice mix of shot types, decent chance for birds but also some longer challenging shots, mostly shaded, well maintained, hard to lose a disc here b/c even the wooded areas are pretty clear and not a wall of underbrush like you sometimes find
Cons: Pretty popular so can be crowded, they recently moved a couple of the longer shots back even further taking the hole from challenging to frustrating in my opinion
Other Thoughts: My favorite 18 hole in the metro, I love pretty much everything about it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.