Lubbock, TX 
Mackenzie Park Share
Uploaded By: Survivor Hole #17
3 / 354ft.   3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Mackenzie Park: A surprisingly good disc golf course in little 'ol Lubbock, TX.

2-4    10/3/2016   10/3/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes plus 3.

-Multiple pin placements for each hole. However, they haven't been changed in at least two months (since I've come back for school).

-The course is pretty well-balanced overall. The front holes play longer, while the back 5 are ace run holes. If it's above 80 degrees or so, you'll be really happy to encounter the shorter holes near the end of your round. Overall, players with a medium-strength arm will be able to ace about 7-9 holes on this course. This keeps friendly, competitive rounds with friends fun and interesting, since no particular playstyle gets a distinct advantage at Mackenzie. Putting gurus will have just as much of a chance as long-bombers and everything in-between.

-Most holes have a decent amount of trees, which cuts down on how much the wind affects your disc's flight path.

-The course is well maintained, since it's a public park.

-Not many pedestrians walking around the course.

-Mackenzie Park DGC isn't overly busy. I've gone all times of the week and have run into a total of about 12 other players in 4 trips. All were really chill.
Cons: -No signage. I was very lucky to run into a local during my first round, so navigation wasn't an issue. Tee pads and baskets are numbered, but you can't see them from far away, so you're still forced to walk around to find the correct tee pads and their corresponding baskets. The back 5 holes (17-21) are especially difficult for first-timers, since they're all shorter ace run holes and multiple baskets are within sight of each tee pad.

-No maps available, except for a really bare bones online map. It was of minimal help during my first few rounds. The city really needs to install a proper sign with a map, because you need to either luck out and find a local or spend a couple hours (in addition to the time you spend actually playing) figuring out where to go. I still haven't found the tee pad for hole 14 in four trips.

-The course flows logically for the front 9 or so holes. However, the course's natural flow goes off the rails toward the back half. Holes 13-21 are super confusing to navigate for the first time. You won't be looping back to the parking lot until near the very end of your 21-hole round, so bring plenty of water.

-This is mainly a con for newer players: there are about 6 holes with water in play. It's usually on one side, but if you can't throw straight consistently (or you're bringing a disc golf noob), expect to lose a disc or two.

-There are only a few holes with significant changes in elevation. Still, probably the only hill in Lubbock resides on this disc golf course. Just watch out for snakes as you climb the caprock between holes 8 and 9.

Holes 1-2 and about 4-5 others had a lot of ants. This makes putting really difficult on those holes, since you don't want to set your feet for too long. That probably lowered my score by about 3 strokes today, since I wasn't too keen on having fire ants crawl down my shoes.

-Don't bother trying to play here after it rains a significant amount. Wait two days or the front 9 or so baskets will be surrounded by large pools of water.

It can be difficult to find the first hole. Look for a playground past the overpass which leads you out of Joyland (coming from Cesar Chavez Dr.). The playground should be on the left. The first tee pad is on the left as well and the basket is past a power line and tree.
Other Thoughts: Fun fact: it rained the first two times I tried to play here (both times on the 10th hole). Therefore, I'm much more familiar with the front 9 than the back 12.

I skipped hole 8 today, the signature hole where you throw off the caprock, because I saw a huge snake turd lying in the path leading up to the top. It was sunny and cool outside, so pretty perfect for a snake to be hanging out on the trail. Just be careful when it's sunny and cool outside. Stomp loudly as you walk, since the vibrations will most likely scare the snakes off. Whatever you do, don't panic and sprint away. That's how you spook the snake and get bitten. Be calm and collected so they see you as a non-threatening threat and leave you be.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

1    1/5/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 60  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- A nice variety of open holes with a few distinct hazards
- Nice long, concrete teepads. Some holes with multiple.
- Clean park with other recreational options.
Cons:
- Water is a sneaky factor on many holes. It doesn't look bad at first, but if you aren't careful, it will get you.
- Navigation is not easy, even with a map. Teepads need labels.
Other Thoughts:
- This is a solid course. I got frustrated after losing three discs in the water, but that was my fault for being too aggressive on a windy day.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Played a few times now...

5+    8/17/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 116  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Very good variety of holes to play. Nice concrete tees. Pleasing to look at. Holes changed frequently to add variety. Improved from my first impression. It never gets boring.
Cons: The river is pretty nasty...
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and will play it every time I go to Lubbock. A "big arm" course that challenges your accuracy on the approach and the wind challenges your putts.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.