Lubbock, TX 
Mackenzie Park Share
Uploaded By: Survivor Hole #6
3 / 163ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Looking back toward #6 tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Brind your "A"Game

5+    7/5/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: ChampionWraith
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: Makes you feel like your not in Lubbock. Great Trek throughout the only hills in the Hub. 21 Holes and signature over the brazos river onto a small bank where the basket lies. After playing the course over a year now my overall distance has increased by 50+ ft. There is a sign by the parking lot entrance off of Broadway with the details of the park and the course layout. Course takes me and 2 other friends around 2hrs to finish, and we haul ass...HUGE COURSE. Alternate basket placements that change seasonally. Trash bins and portapotty's near #16.
Cons: Be prepared to lose one, or two. Course can be confusing because there is alternate pin placements. Dont go on a Holiday course is littered with families. Speaking of litter, people need to throw your trash away, TOSS NO MAS.

Other Thoughts: Love the course, would recommend it to any player. All it needs is a Texas Tech beer lady!

Mackenzie Park

5+    1/31/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: The first thing you notice is the length and multiple tee pads(except hole 8, there is no tee pad). I also like how holes 3 and 19(currently in the long) are for lefties. Even though I am a righty, I appreciate the challenge they present. My favorite part of the course is holes 9-12 because of the water hazards. Like any other golfer I hate loosing disc but the risk/reward is always exciting. The course ends with a bunch of ace run holes which are nice after playing the longer holes at the beginning. Everyone loves the chance of getting an ace.
Cons: I do not like how the course has little to no signage. The arrows under the basket are not very helpful. The course doesn't really have a flow because it is sort of choppy. There are many times you have to walk quite a distance to get to the next tee pad.Most notably going to hole 5. It rained a few days before and the bridge was flooded. Then after you five you have to find hole 6. The short is not facing the basket. Then to get to hole 8 is a long walk, and also getting to hole 13 you walk across a street. After 15 you have another long walk.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent the only thing I did not really like was the choppiness because it takes away from the flow of your game.

Solid Lubbock, Solid.

1    7/23/2012   1/18/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this substantial course at 21 holes over 6000' from the shorts. There is simple start to #1, but then opens up to some major long open holes satisfying even the biggest arms. The hole layouts are mostly fantastic, and it's understandable why there are so many weird transitions - you just look at the area around #5 and think, I have to have a hole here - so they just make it work. Arguably the best portion of the course is #8 - #12 area still with the park feel, but also tough pin locations. water hazards, big trees, and massive elevation on a signature #11.

The park is ample with practice areas, bathrooms and areas for the masses. The tee boxes are huge, and I always enjoy having the option to throw from multiple tees. Plus, even though it's only for a few holes - I loved the transitions into the high grassland practice of #13 and #14, which fell completely different from the rest of the course.

Finally, I really enjoyed the strong finish at #21 - with the uphill blind over the crest. First-timers will want to scout out the pin location to make sure they have an accurate line. Overall, this course is diverse enough to be enjoyed by newbies and pros alike.

BEST HOLE/S: #9; #11; #14; #21
Cons: Even with all of the pros, Mackenzie has it's fair share of cons. The biggest being the weird transitions and long walks between many of the holes. This is always the drawback to "making it work," but first-timers bring a map and play with someone who knows the course. I also wish the signage were better, and portions of the course felt rundown. The baskets are in fair shape and signage is pretty crappy.

The course is also very popular, and that can also be a major drawback. I played through three separate groups of seven plus in each group - wow. People were very nice about it, but that's what happens when you only have one true quality course to play in a college city.

It also could have just been the evening I was there, but the pavilion area by #16 over literally overrun by homies and their low-riders. I can only imagine the multiple ways my life would have ended if I had hit the gold Impala with 12" rims, hydraulics, and the la enamorada sitting by it trying to look sexy for her hombre.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #4
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my experience at Mackenzie Park, and the course was really nothing like I expected. I honestly expected more of a traditional park course with inflated ratings because people in the area didn't have a real course to compare it too. This is not the case. Even in a park - there was more water, varied terrain, and elevation changes than I could have ever hoped for, and really made for an interesting round.

Bottom line is - this isn't just some out of the way course in the middle of panhandle that tries to be better than it is - it truly is a good and challenging course. I also think the rating is pretty spot on, since it's still missing a lot of those defining and refining features that could truly set it apart from other good courses in its category. Rather it's a quality course that gets great traffic and a great following,, and if you're ever within a 100 miles of Lubbock - I highly recommend making the stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid

1    1/5/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A nice variety of open holes with a few distinct hazards
- Nice long, concrete teepads. Some holes with multiple.
- Clean park with other recreational options.
Cons:
- Water is a sneaky factor on many holes. It doesn't look bad at first, but if you aren't careful, it will get you.
- Navigation is not easy, even with a map. Teepads need labels.
Other Thoughts:
- This is a solid course. I got frustrated after losing three discs in the water, but that was my fault for being too aggressive on a windy day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/22/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: rrolloTX
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being fairly new to disc golf, this course has been a great one to learn on. A practice area with a putting basket and plenty of space for practice drives provides a great opportunity to limber up your arm. Concrete tees on most holes is a major plus, especially when it rains (which is incredibly rare in Lubbock). Great diversity of holes and a fine balance between risk and reward. The locals are great, and I haven't once played this course without meeting other players who had something to offer in the way of helping me develop my game.
Cons: Though most holes are permanent with concrete tees, there are a few that seem to have been thrown together last-minute. The small creeks (not the Brazos itself) tend to smell and harbor mosquitos, but I can't say it's been too bothersome.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Lubbock local and I must say this course is a great diversion from the Lubbock norm. In the heart of town everyone complains of how flat Lubbock is, but elevation change seems to be an almost constant element on this course. It's not drastic, but just enough.

Cheers!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, be sure to bring a map

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around the Brazos river, which provides a picturesque backdrop and hazard.

The cement tee pads are immense trapezoids.

The schule is light on most holes and few discs will be lost, other than in the water.

While the course favors the big arms from the back tees, the second set provides an appropriate challenge for most players. Overall, the course is well suited for players of all skill levels.

There is plenty of opportunity to air out the disc, but the course is not without some more interesting, technical challenges. Holes 6-15 are particularly good.

Hole 9 is my favorite hole on the course; a medium-long par 3 at 360ish with water down the right side. It affords the option to hyzer over the water or come in left-to-right around a huge old tree.

Hole 11 is the signature hole, which throws from a cliff tee over the Brazos river. It is a fine example of good risk/reward design.

Hole 15 in the long position is a nice fairly short par 4 with OB water down the left side.

Hole 21 provides a unique challenge on the finishing hole. The basket is located blind over the crest of a hill and must be thrown with power and accuracy to have a chance at deuce. The disc must be thrown up hill and flip sufficiently to stay straight as it rides over the crest and descends.
Cons: There are no informational tee signs and the navigation is squirrely in several places.

Holes 2-4 are long, open bombers that could be done without. Hole 5 is a nice little par 3, but requires players to backtrack its entire length to get to hole 6.

There are no directional signs up to the signature hole 11's tee. Once climbing up the hill to get to the deck/tee area, there isn't a descriptive tee sign. It didn't even occur to me that the hole was across the river. To add insult to injury, players must walk through hole 12 to get to the basket on hole 11.

Holes 16-20 are fairly pedestrian.

Overall this is a good course with some nice variety that could significantly benefit from descriptive tee signs and "next tee" signs. With adequate signage it could easily be a 4.0 course.

Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    4/1/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has many elevation changes, and scenery changes. Instead of having just one hole that is memorable, this course has three holes that you will never forget, like the 900 ft hole #2, the Cliff Shot at hole #11 throwing across the Brazos River and "Stonehenge" or hole #14 throwing over a ravine type area. This course is always changing and has 2-4 basket placements per hole. Course is easy to follow and is well maintained. Pro and Amature tee boxes give a great variety to some holes.
Cons: If you are afraid of losing discs or throwing near water, then this is not the course for you. Many of the holes are along water and you will most certainly lose a disc. Also if you cannot throw very far then the "Cliff Shot" is not going to be as cool because you are not going to be able to make the shot all the way across the Brazos and will again lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course will require alot of walking so bring some water. After it rains the fairways can get flooded and become very hard to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Lubbock

5+    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: meanmeanbg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety! Landscape changes through course from desert/flat to wooded/cliffs and a little in between. Holes move often to really keep things changing. Plus a nice practice/putting hole right by the main parking lot.
Cons: Can be a bit confusing to find your way around to the next tees the first time you play. There's been efforts to post signs of each hole, but a lot have fallen down and there's several tees that aren't in plain site.
Other Thoughts: I HATE lubbock, but have really come to love this course. Bring lots of water, sunscreen, and bug spray though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quite Enjoyed it

1    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots, not repetitive at all. Course layout is fantastic and the two cliff shots are great.
Cons: Lost a disc for the first time playing on hole 8 I think it is, the first cliff shot, can't find the thing anywhere. I wish things were a bit farther from the water on a few holes but other than that it was a blast
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned above I lost my Wraith disc on the first cliff shot, highly recommend you have one person stay down low to help watch where they go. Other than that the varying shots, nice trees, well maintained park, it was fantastic.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    9/27/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: Hostel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I came to lubbock from houston for the weekend and this course is much better than any couse that I have played in houston. The park looked amazing and there was lots of elevation and terrain changes.
Cons: I was not able to stay long because of who I came with.
Other Thoughts: The cliff shot was not what I imagined but was still very challenging.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center