Grand Junction, CO 
Watson Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: DustinRobirtis Hole #7 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    9/1/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Unlimited
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Grand Junctions best course
Good use of natural obstacles
Well maintained with trash cans and nice bridges
Accurate signage
Good flow through course
Baskets moved monthly (or more)
Lose a disc, expect a call back! When the water drops some dedicated searchers turn them in at local dg store(2$ to recover, I've lost 4 discs there and have had them all returned)

Cons: Hard to find hole 12 without a map. Print one or ask a local
High water (late spring early summer) can make many baskets disc eaters or underwater
Some homeless people to contend with (mostly on added baskets)

Other Thoughts: 6 new baskets have been added! 25 holes now. No tee pads yet but benches are there. Near impossible to locate the 2 farthest locations without a local. Really cool clowns mouth that's right across timber bridge. Lots of bum trash around some of new holes but local pd is supposed to check it out.

Must play!!!

2-4    3/29/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: Mbrad43
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads in perfect condition. Great signage and flow. Beautiful benches on every hole and trash cans are abundant. As long as you stay outta the water it's pretty impossible to lose a disc. Good mix of technical and arm stretching holes. Multiple pin locations on most holes keeps it interesting. Brand new baskets. (No excuse for my poor putting.)
Cons: No cons that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This course gets better every single time I play it. Big plans coming in the near future to make this a solid 4.5 course. You can reel right away that this course is well maintained and loved. Hands down the best course on the Western Slope!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 love Watson!

5+    2/28/2016   3/1/2016
Review By: QueQue
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A lot of work has gone into improving this course and it definitely shows.

Updated tee signage, benches on every hole, all concrete tee pads.

Plays right along the river.

Cons: Depending on pin position there are not many really long shots. Mostly shorter technical holes.
Other Thoughts: Underrated course on the western slope. Ton of fun to play and is only 2nd to Palisade.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Come a long way

5+    3/24/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: conch cruiser
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A lot of shots are required to play this technical course. Shot placement is critical because the course is surrounded by water. Good variety of hole lengths and difficulty.
Cons: Not much for elevation change on the course.
Other Thoughts: Just need tee signs to make it an awesome course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Watson DGC

5+    1/24/2015   8/18/2014
Review By: skeeter308
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/28/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: decent winter course. I really enjoyed this course when it opened last fall. Fun holes, though frustrating water hazards. Good layout and use of area.
Cons: Big slash piles on the east end of the course. Beware of contact high.
Other Thoughts: The city has really worked on cleaning up the course. The weeds are gone. I'm not sure if they plan on removing the large slash pile but is still a large improvement over the summer weed issues.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First time to play Watson Island

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: TexasRanger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very technically challenging
-Different hole lengths
-Pretty easy to navigate
-There is a nice sidewalk that runs through the entire course

Cons: -Very technically challenging -haha
-There are a couple of baskets right on the river... I lost a disc
-Only 13 permanent baskets right now... but more are coming!
Other Thoughts: So I have only been playing for about a year, and so this course really opened my eyes to what my game is lacking. The way this course is set up you really need to have a good variety of shots in your bag so you can adapt to whatever shot the course is going to give you. I liked the course overall and hope to play it again soon. You can tell that the local club has put a lot of time into this course adn they have plans to complete the last 5 holes soon. I think that this really is a 'players' course... you can tell by the way it was designed that it was not put together that it was not an after-thought added to a field to fill the space but that the guys putting it together spent a lot of time thinking through each course. Because of my own skill level I would have like a couple of easy shots but over-all I would rate it "VERY GOOD!"

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.