Palmer Lake, CO 
Palmer Lake Share
Uploaded By: MrDrew Hole #3 (Taken 7/2014)
-- / 261ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Improvements Keep on coming

5+    7/8/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: jacrams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: New course. Mowed fairways. Paver block tee pads. Metal cut out hole number signs. Benches. Distance/map signs mounted on each hole number sign. Top quality baskets. Well maintained by volunteers. Beautiful setting close to mountains. Great eating places in Palmer Lake!
Cons: 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Holes 1 and 3 run parallel to Santa Fe Trail and so you MUST not throw when anyone is on the trail between the basket and the tee.

Well we played it.

1    2/24/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: coonmanx
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a 9 hole course with baskets. I suppose beginners might like it.
Cons: No use of any trees or anything. Basically just a bunch of 250 foot holes. No imagination at all. Seems that no real design work went into this course. Just pedestrian at best. Will not play again unless we can do some Safari holes. Tee pads were not even flat at all.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course I just wanted to go back to Cottonwood in the Springs where we have a real course with trees and obstacles and actual challenges. Playing at Palmer Lake wasn't much better than just throwing discs in a field.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Stop off Course

1    1/3/2014   1/3/2014
Review By: RevDrDisc
Played: 89  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to course close to the interstate but far enough off to feel like you are really near the mountains. Great use of shrubs to add some challenge to this course. I can imagine when things green up the challenge will improve.
Cons: You walk back past basket 5 to get to tee 7. The north side of the lake seems to be off limits due to train traffic.

Distance signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Why sit in traffic between CS and Denver. Stop in Palmer and throw some discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish the Lake Wasn't Dry...

1    12/1/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is easy to navigate. There are poles marking each tee-pad and there are signs pointing to the next tee-pad from each basket, even without a map we had no issue navigating this course.
-The baskets are brand new and catch very well.
-The holes 6,7, and 8 make good use of the available elevation.
-All of the holes have mowed fairways, and many of the holes have some very thick rough off of the fairways, which will punish you for bad shots. It adds a little more risk/reward and challenge to this course.
-Hole 7 was by far the best hole and quite memorable. It is a downhill/sidehill shot, with a big drop-off to the left and thick rough to the right, to a basket slightly to the right.
-Several holes definitely provide ace opportunities
-Park has some nice views.
-There are restroom near the start of the course (though they are closed during winter).
-A couple of benches and picnic table sprinkled throughout the course.
Cons: -Only posts marking the holes and no tee-signs. It would be nice to have signs with a layout of the hole and distance for each hole.
-The tee-pads are dirt. While they weren't bad when we were there, I feel like they were already starting to get slightly rutted.
-This course is not very long. I believe the longest hole is just over 300 feet. I didn't throw a driver once on the course. If you like course, where you can just let a disc rip and throw far, this is not the course for you.
-The majority of holes on this course end up being straight shots, with very little line shaping required. Without, the thick rough on the sides of some holes to add a little risk reward, some of these holes would get a little boring.
-A couple holes play really close to the walking/bike path. Make sure no one is coming on the path, before you throw.
-There is a somewhat long walk between holes 5 and 6 and a somewhat long walk back to the car after hole 9.
-While I enjoy the risk and reward that the rough adds, make sure you keep an eye on your disc because you could lose a disc in some of the rough especially in the middle of summer.
-Hole 9 is a boring way to end an other wise solid course. It is a short straight wide open shot, that throws back over hole 6's fairway and it has very little challenge to it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a solid course and I was pleasantly surprised by it. It is a shame that the lake is dry, because if there was water in the lake, holes 2 and 5 would be very interesting. Overall, this is a good stop if you are in the area, or passing through. It's only about 2 miles off of I-25 so it's also a good quick 9 if you need a break on a road trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: otterprods
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very pretty setting. Interesting terrain. Should be nice and green in the summer. Seems like a good design for 9-hole course. Very well signed. Not too easy, not too hard.
Cons: Some overhanging trees and high surrounding brush make it easy to lose a disk or get obstructed. It's just 9 holes. The lake is dry which is kind of depressing.
Other Thoughts: A brand new course built by volunteers in Palmer Lake. Let's hope it brings more interest and support to the local lake and park restoration efforts.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.