Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park Share
Uploaded By: hirsch449 Hole #11 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
What I think of as "Home".

5+    4/20/2016   4/23/2016
Review By: spetersonfleet
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I have a home course, it's Edora. We're lucky to have a pretty good number of courses within an hour drive here, and I think Edora is the best course I've played thus far. (I'm pretty new, not quite a year golfing, now.) Seems to have a good variety of shots you need to throw, not overly forehand or backhand friendly. There are few wide open, 500' plus holes you'll need a big arm to birdie. Also, there are shorter holes that are more technical, as well as a very technical and long hole 4, if you play the longest pin. It's close to 700' total, with a very narrow double mando, 150'-ish off the tee. We have some elevation changes, but nothing too drastic. It's not a hiking trail, but it will affect how you throw your shots. We recently got a second set of baskets on almost every hole, so you can throw at either the shortest pin, or most holes have at least one longer pin setting that now has a Mach X basket on it. Edora is a very nice park, and most of the course is really well manicured. This is just a very solid course that I'm so happy to be able to play regularly, and I'm really thankful to the folks who bust their butts to keep it up. Thank you so much!
Cons: It is a multi-use park right next to an elementary school (and an ice rink, swimming pool, tennis courts, horseshoes, etc.), so look out for non-disc golfers wandering into the fairways. 17 and 18 have crossing fairways with lots of trees both in the fairway and near the tees, so it can be hard to see if people are in the area you'll be throwing in. With the big lift the folks who do a wonderful job keeping the course up had in getting the new pins for us, they haven't been able to get around to the correcting the posts that show the pin placements, standing next to the tees. They are still up on a hole that no longer exists (the old 10, if memory serves), and haven't had placards made for some of the newer holes. As a result, the hole numbering is off. In a perfect world where they had the time, money and help to do it, some work on the tees themselves would be nice. A few of them are broken or different portions of concrete have sunken, making the footing a bit dicey. Also, something on or near the pins that points new players to the next tee would be nice. There are a number of tees that can't be seen from the prior pin, so unless you have a map (easily downloadable in PDF form, I think there's one posted near the first tee, but I seem to remember it being outdated) it can be tough to find your way around. It's populated enough you can usually find a group of locals and follow them, or just ask. Most folks out there are pretty friendly.
Other Thoughts: We won't be hosting Worlds at any point, most likely, but Edora is a fantastic course. If you don't have fun playing here, disc golf probably isn't your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Experience

2-4    9/8/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: Soulsnatcha
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed playing this course it has something for everyone. This course has a lot of variety. There are long holes, technical holes, a hole on an island, shots along water hazards, as well as shots over water hazards. hole 12 has an "A" and "B" tee pad which I found a fun twist ( I played both). Concrete tee pads, multiple pin placements and well marked holes are also features of this course. All in all I had some great rounds of disc golf.
Cons: Nasty Bathroom Facility! Certain times of day the course can be packed. To me however these cons are outweighed by the pros for this course, I play it every time I am in Fort Collins.
Other Thoughts: The local disc golf shop has maps and is extremely helpful in providing information on all the courses in FC.The course is well groomed and surprisingly there was very little litter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

2-4    6/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: drj1807
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pretty, well maintained course. Nice amount of trees for Colorado. Variety of holes.
Cons: Busy with OTHER activities and folks "in the way". Not the best laid out; hard to follow if you are not familiar. Maps out of date.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's a beauty!

1    8/27/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great layout in this community park
- Nice variety
- Good incorporation of water hazards
Cons: - Orientation of a teepad or several is backwards...my playing partner nearly broke an ankle when he slipped off the narrow part as he made a drive on hole 6
- Didn't get to play hole 9 the day I was there (due to city construction)
Other Thoughts: I love the 16th hole!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Once Great Course...Now Diminished

1    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee-pads
-Baskets are in good shape and catch well
-The tee-signs are in good shape. They show a picture of the hole and the distance to each pin position
-Some of the holes force you to throw a variety of shots, and will force you to use a majority of the discs in your bag.
-There is a good variety of distances on this course with holes ranging from around 150 feet to over 650 feet.
-The creek comes into play on several holes
-There are some fun holes on this course. Hole 11 was a lot of fun. It is a tunnel shot that doglegs left, to a basket in a thicket of big trees. Hole 4 was a fun fairly heavily wooded fairway that in its longest position maxes out at about 650 feet.
-There are benches, trashcans, and bathrooms near the course.
-Hole 12 had two tee-pads
Cons: -The flow of this course is very confusing at times. There is a long walk between some of the holes. The walk between holes 4 and 5 is a long walk. The same goes for the walk between holes 6 and 7. There are no arrows pointing to the next basket so without a map it is easy to get lost. The flow also gets really weird after hole 15. Hole 17 tee-pad is directly between the basket for 15 and the tee-pad for 16. It is very easy to play hole 17 and skip 16.
We saw several people do this and we ended up playing hole 17 before 16.
-Several hole fairways play really close to each other. Holes 2 and 3 play back and forth near each other. Holes 5 and 6 are very close to each other also. The worst offender of crossing and close fairways are holes 16 and 17. These two holes basically share the same fairway. You can't see the tee-pad for 17 from hole 16 tee-pad and there are definitely safety issues on these holes.
-This course can get very crowded, with the above crossing fairways, this could lead to a lot of dangerous situations. When playing this course keep an eye out for incoming discs.
-The baskets blend in easily with the foliage and can at times be a little hard to see.
-While some of the holes require a variety of shots, there are quite a few holes that are just wide open and not very exciting.
-Hole 6 was a total filler throwaway hole. It is a straight 200 foot hole with no trees or obstacles at all on it. It did have a drop zone, so there may be OB on it, but the OB was not clearly defined so I couldn't tell where it was supposed to be. This is easily one of the most boring holes, I've played in a while.
-While I appreciate the tee-signs, the pictures of the holes sometimes make it really hard to get a good feel for the layout of the holes.
-Parts of the course (especially holes 5, 6, 7, 14 and 15) were getting really overgrown and will definitely need to be mowed during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is just average. The old layout of Edora park was one of my favorite. This new layout is a little too wide open and doesn't possess the variety and quantity fun holes that the old course did. It's not a terrible course, but it not spectacular either. If you are in the area give it a play, give it a try, but don't go out of way as Edora park is no longer a destination course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Layout!

1    3/16/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: TBabb
Played: 55  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee boxes on this course, though only a few of the monster tees from the old layout remain. Baskets are in good condition and the signage is very good, featuring a photo of the fairway with different pin positions marked. Signage also includes distances for each pin position. Course is clean, with well maintained grass that allows you to get significant distance out of your roller shots. There are a few trashcans in the park to keep things clean. There's plenty of parking, restrooms are on site, and the park has a number of other activities including a skate park, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, multi-use paths, and more. Navigating the course is much easier than the old layout. The course is well designed with a wide variety of shots and has some significant distance on it with well over a mile of fairway in the longest pin positions. Mature trees, a creek, and other OB areas will challenge your game. The designer made the most of the little elevation changes. A few shorter holes make this course an ace hunting spot. Signature holes include the island hole at 5, the long downhill bomb at 6, and risky shots near the creek on 16 and 18.
Cons: Baskets are hard to spot. If they had any bright colors on them, it would be easier. There is no way of knowing which pin position the baskets are in from the signage. The signage also contains no par information. There are some safety concerns at this course as well as many holes play close to active railroad tracks, a busy road, and multi-use paths. The course gets crowded too, so it's not a great spot to get a quick round in. It would be nice to see more benches at the tees so you could rest your legs while you're waiting for the group ahead of you.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play, and a real challenge. Most likely the best course in Fort Collins. The new layout is a huge improvement, though it makes me nervous to throw so close to trains, cars, and joggers/cyclists. Nevertheless, they've done a great job with the terrain they had to work with. Definitely a course worth seeking out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than the old layout

1    2/28/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 31  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Still has a couple bomb throws, and a few short throws. The level change is great, especially in the back 9. I've always had a love of the "island hole", and they made that even more fun. It is now away from the main park at most parts. Signage is great as well.
Cons: Still a heck of walk half the time to go from hole to hole. The wall to the power plant looks like it would have quite a few discs behind it, especially on a windy day. Some of the tee pads have an unlevel section, it looks intentional... but annoying none the less.
Other Thoughts: Great course still. I was worried after the new layout, but they really made what they had work.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Incrementally Better

5+    2/13/2014   2/14/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 360  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most popular course in the area and lots of history here
-Lots of other things to do at the park while not interferring too much with the disc golf play. Plenty of free parking, bathrooms, shelters for a picnic, skate park, tennis courts, baseball/softball fields, walking/biking paths, etc.
-Nice new tee signs, this is the biggest improvement that happend during the renovation IMO
-Nice long tees
-Baskets in good shape
-A good variety in distance, a few ace runs and a few long holes but nothing too short or too long to cause frustration or boredom for players of most skill levels
-This park is beautiful and well maintained. The grass is lush and green during the spring and summer.
-You probably won't lose a disc here, the creek is clear enough and shallow enough for retrieval in most instances
-Pretty close to Old Town which includes a wonderful shop that has many discs- The Wright Life. There are also breweries and great eateries all over FTC. I wouldn't come here just for the disc golf but there are plenty of other reasons to come here.
Cons: -The navigation is still messed up and always will be. It makes sense once you play it but I like courses that are easy to find your way around. This one you have to cross roads, parking lots, under the tracks, etc to get to the next hole and that isn't always evident. The course is kind of pieced together between 4 different sections of park.
-The layout makes for somewhat long walks. 4-5, 6-7 and 13 to 14 are the ones that I remember most. I would highly recommend printing the map or playing with a local to make sure you find your way around this course properly.
-This is by far the best course within the FTC area and it will be fairly crowded if the weather is nice, especially on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This park is decent and due to its long history and lack of other good courses nearby, is kind of overrated at times. It is a solid 3 but the layout and business keep me from giving it a higher number. If you can only play one course in town, this is it. Like I said earlier, FTC is a cool town, especially if you are into beer and good food so this can still be a destination of sorts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great

5+    1/15/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: Fresh Hound
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course, easily the best in FC. Multiple tee placements, very well taken care of, great facilities.
Cons: Can get crowded during the weekends. Other than that not to many cons come to mind.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely my favorite in FC.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Revision

2-4    10/6/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 111  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro to this course is the local club that continues to fight to keep this course available to play. This being the latest revision of the course brings a new challenge with several new holes using new land on the east side of the railroad tracks. The course sits in a very nice and well maintained park. There are lots of other activities for the rest of the family. It is also near and ice rink and swimming pool. The tee pads are nice and the baskets are in good condition. The new holes add a lot of length to this course to add challenge while still maintaining the character of the course with the short technical holes. Really the best part about this course is the challenge factor and the need to have many different shots in the bag. There are very few holes that feel like other holes on the course and each hole seems to provide a unique challenge.
Cons: The tee signs were still yet to be changed. There is still a lot of park traffic that you will deal with. This is still going to be a very busy course. The new length makes it not as kind to newer players. While the latest revision keeps filler holes to a minimum, there is really nothing they can do for the island hole. It is just a really bad hole that can only be saved by a much longer tee and a blind basket without the island. Be sure to take a course map with you as you may need to know where to walk to find the next hole. There will be a couple of good walks. The flow of the holes has gotten worse with this revision and there are some really confusing layout decisions including a long walk back down 18's fairway to get to the parking lot that you are supposed to park in.
Other Thoughts: There is so much history to this course, way more than even I know. It is well worth playing but be sure to find a time when there will not be many other players there. The crowd that plays this course varies so greatly and you are bound to find people who lack ettiquite. We all hope the city is done forcing changes to this course, but I doubt that will be the case. Make sure to make the time to enjoy this course now.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.