Course Extinct
Battle Creek, MI 
Kimball Pines Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 332ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 wooded course

5+    9/26/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: brian lee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded area get to learn how to control ur throws and really practice ur mids.
Cons: Markers are a little poorly done.. there are no up to date maps of holes at any tee. Not all tee are cement ..
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to practice on.. not many people ay there for obvious reasons ...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you like the woods

1    9/14/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: rosh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, with almost all holes running through the woods. Nice mix of terrains and lefts and right holes. There are one or two in open meadows that allow you to let loose.
Cons: Poorly marked, very hard to find next hole, especially on the back nine. Did I say it was poorly marked? Some baskets missing.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course once or twice a year for a few years now as I pass through this area while traveling. I've used it to gauge my progress as a player, since it is a much tougher course then I normally play. Very hard to follow the course I've often skipped holes or made up my own when it was impossible to find the next hole. A local gave me a map one time, but I've since lost it. Very pretty course, I've seen deer every time I have played. Recently played on a Friday and Sunday, baskets missing on Friday were back on Sunday, not sure what was up with that. Very convenient to get to if traveling on I-94, since it easy to get off play and then continue the direction you are heading and get back on. Was playing in the later afternoon and as it started to get dark, being deep in the woods it got dark fast, and hard to even find you way out. Never seen more then a few other players on the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be much better

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ryankilgore
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long fairways. Great setting. Not crowded. Good variety of shots required. Length of holes shows good design.
Cons: Poorly signed and hard to follow. Many of the signs were vandalized or missing. Missing baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a lot better, but for a newcomer it was very difficult to follow the signs. After four missing baskets and being unable to find hole 15, I gave up and went home. Another thing I didn't like was that virtually all holes have essentially only one route to the basket. You can throw aggressiviely or conservatively, but in the end, you either make the route or you don't.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kimball Pines

5+    8/19/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course, nice and quiet and usually not very busy. If you want to throw somewhere and not have to worry about waiting, Kimball is the spot.
Cons: Located near the armpit of Michigan that is Battle Creek. At least it is not right in the heart of that pit.
Yearly renaissance fair.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for windy days---Challenging-long-technical--Advanced course difficulty

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Secluded park with ample parking and space.
-Cement tee pads
NEW HOLES #2,3,4,5 do not have cement tee pads. Hole #6 is old #2
-Good baskets (when they are not missing, stolen probably by some jerk vandals, the baskets have always been there before)
-Very technical and challenging, patience and good mechanics needed to do well here
-Pretty scenery with 50-80 y.o. towering pines and renaissance fair permanent displays
Cons: -Needs upgraded signs and markers to help newcomers playing
-The course could use some trimming of some of the tree and bushes to clear out the holes.
-Lot's and lot's of little branches and sticks (you'll poke your eye out!)
Other Thoughts: -With a little work and upgrades this course could be rated higher.
-It has nice seclusion and is never very busy.
-Dog friendly, lots of room to roam.
-Park is located behind a parking lot of a medical building (brown brick). Right next door to a McDonalds.
-Very challenging and rewarding, I'd recommend this course for an intermediate to advanced golfer.

Went there as of 5/16/09 new holes #2,3,4,5 really improve the course design and fun factor. Sad to see old 14 and #15 go, (13 and thankfully 16 are gone as well) but overall course play is much improved.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/15/2010   10/27/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course, relative seclusion, good tee pads (except for new holes). New layout for Holes 2-5 (as of 5/09) is a marginal improvement, but the new holes don't yet have cement tees. Tightly wooded layout through pines should make course better than others on windy days.
Cons: Some odd course design (three road holes rank with least favorites, the tight right on old hole 2/new hole 6), Could use some trimming on some holes to create Oshtemo style fairways. Somewhat difficult to navigate throughout, made worse by deletion of back nine holes 13-16. Remaining signs have the old hole numbers, further complicating navigation. A couple of missing baskets (new Hole 3, old Hole 8), and a couple of old baskets have broken chain links.
Other Thoughts: Decent course with easy potential to be better. Selective tree removal (Whitehall, which is similar but shorter and more easily navigated, also needs this). Trails and better signs would help too. When better signs and tee pads are done for the new holes, I will up my rating.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.