Chester, SC 
Chester State Park - Advanced Share
Uploaded By: dtriscari Hole #17 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 384ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Swamping it...

1    9/20/2014   9/24/2014
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Pictures shown are from the spring or fall and DO NOT represent the summer (closed in)look and feel of the course.
I enjoyed my round here, it was an easy layout to follow from hole to hole, quiet and scenic. I rated this course a 4 My gut instinct is a 3.5 for the current design and condition maybe less...but I added .5* because of the second course on property and the great vibe of the park.
-Great tee pads, grippy, large enough, level, and free of debris
-signage, was great, both the tee signs and the decal arrows on the baskets that pointed you to the next hole. The only concern here is that if those wear you could get lost.
-Course map and kiosk was cool.
-The dedicated parking lot, and private bathroom between the advanced and beginner courses.
-I like pay to play courses, keeps out people who would trash the course.
-Where the fairways were, it was well maintained and mowed.
-Holes were long and technical, a lot of shot shaping is required.
-Tight shots benefit more accurate players.
-Short tee pads on the front 9 holes were sufficient for players stepping up from the beginner course. The long holes were definitely more difficult and a challenge.
-Really pretty fauna transition from the clay hardwood of Charlotte to the sandy pines of S.C. I really liked that the flaura seemed to be evergreen and would probably retain much of its color in the fall.
-Discs were easy to find and I can see this being a safe Fall course with little worry of fallen leafs covering up your discs.
-You will have to play this course smart. I do not find it necessary to go hole by hole or section by section. Pretty much each hole is similar. narrow mowed fairways, and unkempt rough. Hole 9's tee shot was one of the cooler looking.
-If you are looking for a quiet shaded, wooded tight course, you will be in heaven here.
Cons: -No benches or trash cans. for a longer course, you want to sit down sometimes and this isnt an amenity currently offered.
-I did not agree with much of the design of the fairways. They tended to narrow at the end or take sharp turns. A majority of the holes required a well defined turn halfway down the fairway but then a late finishing opposite turn at the end of the discs flight. In my opinion, this is a poorly designed course, not for layout but to accomodate how discs actually fly for most people.
-There are a number of holes where the basket is protected by groupings of trees too far from the basket. If you hit them you drop well outside the circle. Random trees in my opionion should be inside the circle or around it so you have a chance at a putt.
-The course plays noticeably left to right.
- The fairways are very narrow. Even in a dry month, it is obvious that this course can be very swampy. The fairways are more like raised switchbacks through a potential marsh. The water level is so high that when trees fall over, the hole left behind is filled with water. There are hundreds of these water filled holes just off the fairways that can gobble your disc. Holes that you cannot plan to miss.
-I usually can pick a hole or 2 that I really liked, they all seem to be pretty much the same. Holes 10 and 18 stand out to me. Tight fairway, very difficult flight requirement, and hidden, non visible baskets.
-I was able to identify and use "cheater routes" skipping the intended fairway.
-Most of the greens did not have sufficient putting areas cleared out. I "lost" discs a number of times that ended up being within 15' of the basket when found. Occupying the space within the 20' circles surrounding baskets was tall grass, briars, bushes, low hanging trees, water filled holes, mud, and drag piles. Not aspects that I would expect to find on a finished 4*+ course.
Other Thoughts: I really thought this course was neat and fun, and a must stop if you are in the area. Play both courses! but.. it is not finished enough at this time for me to rate over 4. If greens were cleared some, benches installed, secret green protecting trees removed and fairways widened slightly the layout and design would warrant a 4*+ rating. It just isnt there yet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/9/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: smithroboteng
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice and well manicured course. All baskets in perfect condition and look like they were installed yesterday!
Really liked the concrete tee pads of which there were 2 for each hole. If playing with beginners or children they could enjoy the round much better from the short tees. Blue tee's are long and Red tee's are short.
There is an 18 hole course (only one I played today) and a shorter 9 hole.
All tee pads very well marked with distance and direction. All baskets have arrows pointing to next tee. Very easy to navigate.
As always you will want to play the fairways. The rough will punish you but it was not so overgrown that you should still be able to locate missedplaced shots. I was in the rough several times and had to use quite a few thumbers.
Good mix of shorter and longer holes. Some dog leg left and some right. One of the longer holes had a S shape to the fairway. Another one of the longer holes was a left fade that seemed to be almost like a horseshoe shape till I reached the basket.
A few holes had some small ravines to add to the challenge. Elevation changes were there but nothing too steep.
Around a lake but water does not come into play which is fine by me. I hate loosing discs in water.
Did not see any trash anywhere on the course.
Cons: No trash cans installed. No benches other than picnic tables at the starting area. Bathroom facilities are primitive in this park and I did not use them.
Other Thoughts: Hole 9 ends up at the parking area as well as 18. If you need a break and wish to sit, the picnic tables are there and are brand new.
Glad I read the review before playing as you need $2 per person to enter the park. Nowhere to get change so bring enough $1's to get in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quiet Gem

1    6/27/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teepads Perfect
Baskets Perfect
Flow Very Good
Signage Perfect
Fairways well defined
Variety of holes very good long short lefty righty
I played this course 1 x reds on front nine and blues on back ...(no reds on back)...the course demands that you hit your lines or you will be chucking it out of the rough repeatedly. Many of the holes tease you into attacking when you should be playing for position. But thats where the fun is right? You really need to play it more than once to appreciate the cleverness of the design.
My wife said I wasnt allowed to review the course until i chilled out from the way i played. See hitting your lines above.
Cons: No Benches
No Trash Cans
Needs dead tree and branch cleanup
Other Thoughts: Would recommend this course to any serious player.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Isolated but well worth the trip.

2-4    3/1/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 174  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Part of the trilogy of great new courses in SC along with Grand Central Station and Socastee Rec Park.
Played the course twice in February and March 2014 and favorite holes include the following as noted by RHBH,
#1 - Short downhill. Easiest hole on course and great chance for birdie but play it smart. This hole can be tricky if you throw more than a midrange or putter.
#3 - Tight long and narrow but good chance at 2 if you stay in the fairway.
#5 - Great hole with tight slow hyzer up tight gap into fairway. Good chance at 3 if you stay in fairway and not flair left. I would think left would be treacherous during summer with foliage but I threw thumber for second shot both and played and three'd it both times but if it was summer I would have had a 4 or 5 due to foliage.
#7 - Fun uphill shot with a great chance at birdie. Green is guarded by a deceiving front.
#8 - Monster hole which is very tight from tee to 2/3rds up the fairway. Plays all of 800' and definitely stay on the fairway. Best to walk hole first time playing to see and due to placement shots for better scoring.
#9 - Fun hyzer where the hill should not really come into play unless you hit an early tree. If so you will have an uphill shot for 3.
#10 - 18 Here come some great holes
#10 - Stay straight in the fairway and make it up the hill for a chance at 3 on this guarded green. I could see this hole being brutal in the summer if left off the tee.
#11 - This and #15 are the only holes on the back that I think are average. The hole is a bit short for a rhbh due to the anhzyer approach green. Sidearm may get there but the green is small.
#12 - One of the best holes I have ever played. This hole is uphill to dogleg left and plays all of 600'. 3 is a great score here but more 4's likely depending on skill.
#13 - Another really fun hole that is straight and uphill but a valley is part of the fairway. Good chance at 2.
#14 - Accuracy is a must on this hole and I like the anhyzer route but that may change in the summer with foliage.
#16 - This hole is like the scene in Swingers. Inspiration may have come from, "I don't want you to be the guy in the PG-13 movie everyone's *really* hoping makes it happen. I want you to be like the guy in the rated R movie, you know, the guy you're not sure whether or not you like yet." This is a fun hole but definitely frustrating if you cannot throw an anyhzer with a midrange accurately for a rhbh. I did not know what to think about this hole initially and not sure if I like it or not but it is challenging if you play it poorly.
#17 and #18 - Best two finishing holes I have ever played.
#17 - This hole reminds me of #10 at Augusta National. There is something about looking down this fairway that reminds me of a great traditional golf course hole and 2 is a great score if you can make a perfect, long drive.
#18 - Best finishing hole I have ever played. Long hole with elevation, trees, creek and a turn at the end. You have got to be accurate off the tee or you could take a 7 or 8. If this course is ever used in a sanctioned tournament, I could see this hole playing into the results of each division positively and negatively.
Cons: The only thing that I noticed missing was trash cans and benches on holes but I may have missed them. The rec course is next runs parallel to #18 and is alright but not near as good as this one.
Other Thoughts: Great use of land and professionally designed by an experienced course designer which is nice to see due to the trend of many newer players designing courses. Feels like a private course because it is isolated from the rest of the park and you can tell the State Park is behind growing the sport with this type of course. I know everyone wants to hit the gems in Charlotte but this is definitely worth drive and each time I played there was only 3 groups on the this huge course. Looking forward to seeing this course during the summer with foliage. This course can get sloppy due to substantial rain SC has had over 2013 and early 2014 so watch your footing. Plan to spend a few hours if you are playing with a group. Hopefully someone steps up and host a sanctioned tournament here. I think the Sunday after the USDGC would be ideal for one day C tier for those not playing Winthrop or Stoney Hill.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 So clean, So sweet, So far

5+    4/29/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: sprintermatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is up there in my top ten. It's just a pleasure to pull into the lot, the EMPTY lot, and see this clean, pristine grassy mecca in the woods. Yes it is $2 per car to come here to play, but I'll make the 30 minute drive from Rock Hill anytime someone wants to get a round of golf in.
This course was designed by a friend, and I think it is easily his best design. I also think the Chester SP crew did an amazing job carving this course out of the woods. Walk down the fairways, they are grassy (at least now), root and stump free (even the little ones), and there are very little modifications needed to make this a top notch destination.
When you pull in the lot, you'll have the PERFECT place to warm up. You can throw in the big field just outside the lot (if you want to practice your drives) or practice your upshots around the area between holes 1, 9, and 18.
The Kiosk welcomes you with a big map, State Park pamphlets, score cards for both courses, and a little box filled with pencils!!!
The holes are challenging, especially for those who want to throw nothing but distance drivers. This is woods golf, learn to manage the course and you'll feel like you are on a top notch ball golf course. The fairways are fair, the rough is anywhere from not bad to tough. learning where not to go is part of playing here. but if you are in the fairway, chances are you'll have a decent lie.
I love the par here. 63. 12 par 3s, only one is over 400 feet, 3 par fours all give you a shot at an eagle, and 3 par 5s. two give you an eagle opportunity. Hole 8 is the one true manly par 5. This course could yield some amazing scores. But a round of the mid 50s (55-57) is a really good round. These holes are tough.
No trash anywhere. If you see some, be a gent and pack it out.
Lots of moderate elevation here, with some gullies near the baskets for interesting putting and approaching.
This course plays great in the winter. If you are looking for a winter day trip, this is the perfect place.
Beautiful lake and plenty of camping nearby.
The short course is a great test of skill, the shots are harder than the long course, yet most are under 250 ft! It is probably a good beginner course, simulating par 4 on many holes, teaches people how to play smart.
Baskets are beautiful, as are the tees (with painted corners for blue (long) and red (short)
Tee signs are nice and not too close to the tees. blends in well with nature.
It's quiet out here. You may be the only ones on the course.
Bathroom nearby with decent facilities.
For now, nobody knows how awesome this course is. In time, they will find out.
the front 9 has 6 short tees to make the course a little easier for less experienced players.
Cons: A few holes allow tee shots to overlap... hole 5 could reach hole 3 green on an errant shot, hole 8 could hit 10s green.
Benches would be nice if this place got any sort of traffic. but just having a bench for each par 5 would be nice. in case there's a wait. It would be a good start.
Parking -could- become an issue. Not sure if there's designated spots for overflow.
Make sure you bring $2. You won't be able to make change.
There are some piles of limbs along the sides of the holes, nothing crazy. I'd be most worried about snakes... not that I've seen any.
Be prepared, as you are secluded, you may not be able to count on other players if you get in a bind.
I think the back nine could use some shorter tees. there are some very long holes that WILL frustrate less accurate players. Large numbers WILL be taken on 12 and 18.
Benches would be nice. especially on hole 10 (after you just played up the hill on 9).
No open holes to let one rip. Although some fairways beckon a driver, it may not be your best choice.
Other Thoughts: Such a nice course for being so new.

Hope more people get to experience this gem in the country.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great to see DG at state park

2-4    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: JBryant
Played: 56  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is no other thing on this side of the park. DG is itnhere and thats awesome.

Great kiosk with scirecards and a map. The course had nice flow and next tee markers on the baskets were great. As for the baskets, you couldn't have better.

Bathrooms were close plus the secluded course makes for a giant bathroom in case you aren't close to the main entrance. There were plenty of tables or areas where you could sit and eat lunch. Bring your own lunch.

This a top level course. It will require shots you may not use on a regular basis. You'll need those shots you probably don't practice often.

The flow of the course is perfect. We also didn't see another soul out there as we were paying. Not a stitch of trash either. This course is well kept.

Overall A+ here.
Cons: The course was respective. I felt I threw a lot of RHBH anny shots. I'm okay with that but I felt some holes seemed exactly the same.

The red tees were great. We played three rounds of all red and blue. The holes that had both red and blue seemed to have just unnecessary blue tees. The reds were difficult enough. We also felt like reflecting on three rounds from the same tees would show us our improvement or lack of and that's another reason we didn't play those longer blues. There should be reds from all holes. The blues are championship level (not a con). The reds are advanced level and thus have one for every hole. It's a 5 with the remaining reds added and two or three more hyzer like tee shots.

Swampy if rain. Some fairways would be unplayable.
Other Thoughts: The course is fair and it will punish bad shots. In some spots your punished for tree kicks and in others you come out fine.

I had a lot of fun and its worth a trip. I'm crossing my fingers other DG course go in at other state parks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Addition to the SC Disc Golf Courses!

2-4    4/18/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 86  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -When you first pull up to this course from the park entry road you see a parking lot marked "Disc Golf" with a nice kiosk with maps and scorecards. Disc golf occupies it's own section of the park and you don't have to contend with other park activities.

-Amenities were great! There are bathrooms located between the 18-hole course and the 9-hole course as well as a fire pit area and shelters nearby. There are also lots of picnic tables surrounding the parking area.

-The course is challenging, but fun. Over the course of a round you will end up using every shot in your skill set and pulling discs out of your bag that you seldom use.

-The baskets and signs are great!

-The course plays in a figure-8 with the parking lot in the center.

-Talk about secluded, this course is way off the beaten path in the middle of a state park.

-The scenery is great with the lake in the backdrop of some holes and grass covered fairways shaded by tall pines.

-The course is not crowded. We were there for several hours and saw cars in the lot and few players walking, but never came into contact with them on the course.

-Very little risk of losing a disc (the rough to the left on hole 15 being the one exception).
Cons: -The biggest con for this course is the repetitive nature. There are many holes that require a straight shot with a right turn at the end. You either need a strong FH or under stable drivers if RHBH.

-This course really lacks a signature hole. There are several great holes, but nothing head and shoulders above any of the others.

-Marshy in several areas. Flooding is very likely after a strong rain.

-While also a pro, the fact that this course is so secluded means that there is nowhere nearby for food or drink. You definitely need to pack your own food.

-The rough is rough! Long pants are a good choice!

-There are only 6 red tees, all of which are on the front 9. They felt pretty pointless to me because there seemed to be plenty of room for them on most holes yet they're only present for 1/3 of the course. I could understand if 3-5 shared a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The $2 charge may be a deterrent for some, but it is well worth the cost. I would suggest packing a lunch and make a day of it playing both the Green and Burgundy courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beauty in the boonies!

2-4    4/5/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 86  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new course with beautiful scenery set in a state park with a large lake. Mostly wooded holes. Long course layout with Par 4 & Par 5 holes. Awesome!! Two tee pads on some holes give a different look. Some elevation but no mountains to climb. Large kiosk at the front entrance has map, scorecards, etc. Relatively easy navigation through the very quiet & peaceful grass covered fairways. Large concrete tee pads & descriptive tee signs at every tee box (even the short ones!). Very clean park (I didnt see any trash). Lots of challenge for every skill level but I would say geared more towards the Advanced level player.
Cons: This place is kind of out in the middle of nowhere so plan accordingly. Bring your own food & drink. They could use a couple benches (there were none!). There is a very nice lake here but it was not utilized in the course design. If you stray off the fairway there are lots of cut trees laying about making footing tricky.
Other Thoughts: Chester Park DGC stamped discs for sale at the front gate/guard house. Friendly park staff. Camping available! There is a second 9 hole course here that is shorter & would make a good warm-up for its bigger brother. Very cool experience that I can recommend highly!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chetser's Glen

1    3/2/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I see that I won't be the first person to compare it to Nevin and to be sure, there are some similarities. Both frequently require long straight shots. Both sport a distinct feel, a look and feel to the holes that pervades the respective courses. I'd probably describe the advanced course at Chester as a more forgiving but prettier Nevin. More forgiving in two ways. One, the fairways are a bit wider. It still requires those straight shots, but there is a little more room for error. Two, what is off the fairway is lot easier to walk through and search for shots that do get kicked out there. I actually don't see it as all that difficult a course. I found that it fit right into my skill level and walked away thinking it was perfectly aimed at intermediate players. And prettier. Well, Nevin is a city park and the view from most tees is the thick surrounding brush. Chester has the advantage of being by a lake in a sprawling state park. The towering pines that line the fairways at Chester support branches high above flight paths, allowing the eye to see far in every direction, to the lake from some fairways but everywhere, everywhere, tall, majestic pines. And then there's the fairways, which even in March were green. Brown needles and underbrush everywhere else. Paths of lush green marking the fairways. Between the ground and the trees it has almost an unreal, almost Hyrulean quality to it.

So then there's the golf. That's pretty good too. I wouldn't say there is a signature hole, but they are all solid. Some courses are like that. There is some serious length for a wooded course, with a number of holes over four-hundred feet and a pair that top 800. There is definite variety of length though, with a smattering of holes under 300 feet. I'll add that the lines are solid and as a RHFH dominant player, there were numerous holes that were really set up perfectly for me. (Did this bias me somewhat? I had tons of fun watching drives flow smoothly down these fairways.) There isn't a ton of elevation but there is some.

I also want to point out the greatness of the amenities. The tees are perfect. The teesigns are attractive and informative. And on a course where it would be easy to wander in the wrong direction, the next tee arrows are painted right onto the basket. With those, I had no navigation issues and the course flows nicely from glen to glen.
Cons: It's not beginner-friendly at all. While there is a beginner nine on the property, the difference in difficulty between the courses is massive. New players attempting to step up will have problems.

More significantly, there is nothing really special. The vibe sticks in the mind more than any particular hole. It's a little bit of "too much of the same thing." Not that the thing that the course does is bad but a true elite course should do more than one thing, if that makes any sense.

Lastly, the short tees that are available on some holes do a lot to make the course more accessible. The holes that don't have a shorter option would benefit from a second tee.
Other Thoughts: To me, this course is an obvious 3.75 and I swayed between 3.5 and 4.0 for a while. I want to say I had a 4.0 experience but I feel that someone who wasn't as much of a forehander would not have enjoyed it as much as I did. Or I don't know, maybe it's just lacking a truly memorable hole.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Chester State is Great

1    2/23/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chester State Park advanced 18 is a terrific new course. Beautiful grounds and super clean. In the parking lot there is a directory and scorecards with a map on the back. The woods are prevalent throughout the course, and there are some long holes that bring par up to 63. Fairways are not wide open, and in places pretty narrow. Elevation changes are there on many holes ranging from slight to moderate. Water is in play on a couple of holes, but not high risk of losing a disc. The baskets are still like new. I really liked the arrow decals on the top belt pointing to the next tee. Tee boxes are concrete, and alternate red short tees are an option on several holes. Each tee pad has its own illustrated sign with distance. The fairways seemed like they were well established trails, for a newer course. Very nicely done in terms of layout, there were doglegs to the left, the right, and a couple of straight up the middle shots. Very few looks at a 2 on the scorecard after the first hole. Not any one in a million type disc golf holes, just really solid all the way through. Holes 8 and 18 are 800+ foot monsters. 9 and 14 are cool holes with tees elevated, and baskets about the same elevation, crossing low valley between. Birdies are possible, if you can avoid the trees. We played the blue tees, and I was 6 over on the day. I lost a couple of strokes bonking off trees teeing off the 800 ft 8th hole, and found my disc under water somehow on the 15th for a circle 4 bogey. Miss a putt here and there and you're +6.
Cons: Not much wrong with this one people. Not a beginner friendly course, but there is an easier 9 hole course on site also. There was some moisture, and muddy spongy spots, but not in places that affected my game. No trash cans, pack out your trash and keep it clean and pristine. No benches on the course either. Signs indicate alcohol is prohibited and all dogs should be kept on a leash, and if anyone asks, I was in full compliance (wink wink). Cost to enter the park is $2 per person.
Other Thoughts: This one really impressed me. Major props to the designers and builders. Right at the top of my list of South Carolina favorites. Liked the winter rye grass lining the fairways. Quiet, clean, and awesome disc golfing. Sort of reminds me of the Magnolia DGC at Spirit of Suwannee Music Park in Live Oak, FL.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.