Noblesville, IN 
Morse Beach Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Beautiful Berm Views

2-4    11/11/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I started playing from hole one at Morse Beach DGC for the first time, I was kind of expecting another ho-hum dual tee nine holer like so many nearby, but was really pleasantly surprised when I got to the top of the berm to throw hole 6, and saw the views of the reservoir. Or maybe I just really like throwing off an elevated tee area to a reachable basket.

Overall, the course is a pleasant, quick loop for Recreational arms and skill levels, with some park trees to define lines, but absolutely no rough. Maintenance is excellent, parking is abundant, and there is a course map right by the first hole. Even without above ground signage, the flow is logical, and there is usually a hole sign with layout and distance, glued to the generously sized, level, concrete tee. Brightly painted cages on the DisCatcher baskets await to grab your discs.

Memorable holes for me involved that berm, with the opportunity to glide a slightly longer shot on 15, get off a pretty good upslope drive to the top of the berm on 7, and try to ace run 8/17 to the blind basket position hidden downslope behind a couple of pines. Overall, you can come enjoy Morse for a very brisk nine holes or play both sets of tees for a little bit of variety.
Cons: The lack of above ground tees (helps with easy maintenance) is different, but not bad. Just means first timers need to bring the map along. After the first go through, it's a piece of cake. The lack of distance will certainly discourage the guys who prefer to throw big or go home. There is the possibility that overzealous folks could create safety issues throwing over the path and out over the driveway on the first couple of holes, or among the parallel fairways and nearby baskets and tees on the six (twelve) holes on the parking lot side of the berm. I could see this being an issue if and when the course gets crowded on a really nice spring day. Finally, it should be noted that some of the glued tee signs have gone missing.
Other Thoughts: The Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yrs experience, rated 900+/-, played 244+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A 9-holer I'd love to have near my home!

1    11/29/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 276  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* On courses with dual tees and 9 baskets, I typically only play one set of pads due to time constraints and the second set of pads looking too similar.

Good layout in a pretty park next to a lake.
Hole 6 is the perfect hole to empty your whole bag of discs.
Different lines making this a great course to practice.
No worries on losing a disc unless you really shank one on hole 8/17.
Cons: The only real con I can think of is the signage is attached to the concrete tee and is fading. Other than that, I think the course is a blast!
Other Thoughts: Fun course that I will stop to play again when I'm in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Old Favorite

5+    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - 9 very grippy Innova DISCatchers Baskets. Yellow on baskets are starting to fade, they could use a fresh coat. Still catch great!

Tees - Two per hole, both concrete. Very large throw pads. One set is numbered 1-9 other set is numbered 10-18. Signs are on the Tees.

Variety - Trees make each hole different from each other. Slight variety in distance. Several trees have been removed since the last time I played this course (4 years ago).

Some elevation. 6 is a downhill shot from on top of levee. 7 is uphill shot onto levee. 8 is downhill shot from top of levee.

Great course for your ego - Every hole has chance for an ace if you are experienced and it is easy to save par (and underpar).

Great course for beginners or any golfer looking for practice with putting or with a new disc.

Easy to navigate. It is very compact.

Clean course and there is a beach nearby if it gets too hot!
Cons: Very short course. Longest hole is a little longer than 300 feet.

Course can become dangerous if several people or groups are playing. Holes border each other and errant throws can end up on a different fairway.

Not much of a challenge for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I forgot how much I enjoyed this course. This was one of the courses that taught me how to play disc golf back in 2005. My girlfriend is new to the sport and I took her here to help her develop her game. She loved the course and wants to come back.

If you are new to the sport or need practice with accuracy, come to this course and it will improve your game. It is not challenging for more experienced players but it will not leave you disappointed.

If you are looking for an ace or for practice on your approach shots, come here. I would recommend it for those purposed only. If you are more experienced, there are several courses within a 20 minute drive that will provide you with more challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Morse Park

5+    9/7/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: khuye
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As was said before, this is a great place to work on your approach and putter driving.
The course has always been kept clean and has been groomed well each time I have been there.
Cons: Can't really think of any is what it is...
Other Thoughts: This course is a LOT of fun for Ace Race's and night golf...

Fraternal Order of Police building on other side of parking lot...I'm just sayin'

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, quick, and lots of ace potential

5+    8/22/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very active club, doubles on Thursday nights usually has a nice size pool
-great workout for your midrange game
-ace runs
-lots of different shots
-this course can be played with one - three discs if you really want to
-the wind
Cons: -the wind off the lake
-the only real con is that the course can become a little congested, but that only means a lot of people are enjoying the game of disc golf, which isn't really a bad thing now is it?
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, especially for aggressive doubles, every hole can be a go-for hole if you wanted. Great Club, fun tourneys, and great overall atmosphere.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Morse Park Frolf Course

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 127  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I was the only one there the entire two hour time I played
-The Morse Park Disc Club seems to be very active in their activities and they even are having a tournament for women only! Go them!
-While the alternate tees may only be 10-35 feet apart, they add an entirely new perspective to the holes, so I'm glad there's the "front nine" and a "back nine".
-There's a nice little 108 footer (8th basket) that's a nice break after 3 par 5's in a row.
-Nicely taken care of park with beautiful trees that sits right on the Morse Park Lake. I'll upload pictures shortly.
Cons: -No holes longer than 350 feet
-No real terrain change with the exception of the hill that's used for 3 holes (6, 7 and 8).

Other Thoughts: It's not a bad park for putt-putt, as another reviewer said, but if you're in the mood for a good round of disc golf and have the time, definitely check out Dr. James A Dillon park, it's only about 5 miles away and ABSOLUTELY worth the drive!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too Bad

6/18/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has a few fun shots, some challenging tree shots, and an insanely easy ace hole. You can make up your own shots, since baskets are so close together.
Cons: Small course, kinda busy the last few times I went there. Walkway right through the middle of the park to the softball field. Not a lot of variety with the 9 holes and 18 tees. Picnic area right next to one hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, pretty fun to play every once in a while. Hopefully the new 18 hole course in Noblesville will keep me from coming back too often.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Morse Beach Park

5+    4/24/2006   5/26/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Your scores will make you sound like a hero. Eagle opportinities everywhere.
Mostly Well Kept (grass is usually mowed, holes are in good shape, Information board with hole numbers and pars available) Very little traffic and wait time.
Cons: Heavy winds at times as the course is on the water.
Other Thoughts: This is an 18 hole course, though there are actually only 9 holes with 18 tees. You can play the entire 18 holes in half an hour or so. I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, but since it's about 1 mile from my house I don't have to. If you're bored with all the other courses in the Indianapolis area, give it a shot, it's not bad, just not nearly as good as Brookside or Washington Park.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.