Noblesville, IN 
Morse Beach Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Alt. Tee Sign (aka #15)

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful Berm Views

2-4    11/11/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I started playing from hole one at Morse Beach DGC for the first time, I was kind of expecting another ho-hum dual tee nine holer like so many nearby, but was really pleasantly surprised when I got to the top of the berm to throw hole 6, and saw the views of the reservoir. Or maybe I just really like throwing off an elevated tee area to a reachable basket.

Overall, the course is a pleasant, quick loop for Recreational arms and skill levels, with some park trees to define lines, but absolutely no rough. Maintenance is excellent, parking is abundant, and there is a course map right by the first hole. Even without above ground signage, the flow is logical, and there is usually a hole sign with layout and distance, glued to the generously sized, level, concrete tee. Brightly painted cages on the DisCatcher baskets await to grab your discs.

Memorable holes for me involved that berm, with the opportunity to glide a slightly longer shot on 15, get off a pretty good upslope drive to the top of the berm on 7, and try to ace run 8/17 to the blind basket position hidden downslope behind a couple of pines. Overall, you can come enjoy Morse for a very brisk nine holes or play both sets of tees for a little bit of variety.
Cons: The lack of above ground tees (helps with easy maintenance) is different, but not bad. Just means first timers need to bring the map along. After the first go through, it's a piece of cake. The lack of distance will certainly discourage the guys who prefer to throw big or go home. There is the possibility that overzealous folks could create safety issues throwing over the path and out over the driveway on the first couple of holes, or among the parallel fairways and nearby baskets and tees on the six (twelve) holes on the parking lot side of the berm. I could see this being an issue if and when the course gets crowded on a really nice spring day. Finally, it should be noted that some of the glued tee signs have gone missing.
Other Thoughts: The Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yrs experience, rated 900+/-, played 244+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A 9-holer I'd love to have near my home!

1    11/29/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 276  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* On courses with dual tees and 9 baskets, I typically only play one set of pads due to time constraints and the second set of pads looking too similar.

Good layout in a pretty park next to a lake.
Hole 6 is the perfect hole to empty your whole bag of discs.
Different lines making this a great course to practice.
No worries on losing a disc unless you really shank one on hole 8/17.
Cons: The only real con I can think of is the signage is attached to the concrete tee and is fading. Other than that, I think the course is a blast!
Other Thoughts: Fun course that I will stop to play again when I'm in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Old Favorite

5+    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - 9 very grippy Innova DISCatchers Baskets. Yellow on baskets are starting to fade, they could use a fresh coat. Still catch great!

Tees - Two per hole, both concrete. Very large throw pads. One set is numbered 1-9 other set is numbered 10-18. Signs are on the Tees.

Variety - Trees make each hole different from each other. Slight variety in distance. Several trees have been removed since the last time I played this course (4 years ago).

Some elevation. 6 is a downhill shot from on top of levee. 7 is uphill shot onto levee. 8 is downhill shot from top of levee.

Great course for your ego - Every hole has chance for an ace if you are experienced and it is easy to save par (and underpar).

Great course for beginners or any golfer looking for practice with putting or with a new disc.

Easy to navigate. It is very compact.

Clean course and there is a beach nearby if it gets too hot!
Cons: Very short course. Longest hole is a little longer than 300 feet.

Course can become dangerous if several people or groups are playing. Holes border each other and errant throws can end up on a different fairway.

Not much of a challenge for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I forgot how much I enjoyed this course. This was one of the courses that taught me how to play disc golf back in 2005. My girlfriend is new to the sport and I took her here to help her develop her game. She loved the course and wants to come back.

If you are new to the sport or need practice with accuracy, come to this course and it will improve your game. It is not challenging for more experienced players but it will not leave you disappointed.

If you are looking for an ace or for practice on your approach shots, come here. I would recommend it for those purposed only. If you are more experienced, there are several courses within a 20 minute drive that will provide you with more challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 -- . ....

1    2/24/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Morse Beach presents itself as a fairly typical park-style course: a predominately grassy lawn-like surface dotted with mature trees, a few smaller pine, benches, sidewalks, and other park activities (e.g., swing sets and basketball courts). A large grassy berm comes into play on a couple of holes (#6, 7, and 8). Scenically located on a lake, Morse Beach offers nine holes, each with two teepads.
- Good use of the available elevation. #6 shoots off the top of the berm, as does #8. #7 tees off of flat land to the basket on the side of the berm, creating the risk of rollaways.
- Good concrete pads (two pads for each basket). Signs are attached to the pads, and although one or two are missing, the flow is easy enough to follow. The signs number each alternative pad as though it were an 18-hole course.
Cons: - Many of the holes are short and open (#'s 2, 6 and 7 come to mind, while #8 has only a couple tiny pines to contend with on a super short downhill).
- The "back nine" really doesn't do a whole lot to change up the looks on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: - Morse Beach is well-maintained, kinda fun, but in the end pretty darn easy: an above average beginner/rec/introduction-to-disc-golf course but not much in the way of excitement or challenge for experienced (but not necessarily good) discers.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to shoot low scores

5+    6/3/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: realdealmcneal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout for a small course
Easy to par but takes a touch to consistently birdie

Cons: Short course
Some other tees don't give much of a different shot

Other Thoughts: This course is easier to get well under par. At random draw doubles on Thursday the winners could be at -17 or they could be at -10 depending on pairings and the wind. It is an enjoyable course to play and try to get a new best score. If you don't think you will be challenged come out to a tourney or Thursday doubles and see how you compete. (challenge thrown down)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/29/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morse Beach is a short but fun little course in a well taken care of park with a beautiful view of the lake from the last few holes. Navigation was very easy and there's even a map on the bulletin board. It's got 9 baskets and 18 tee concrete tee pads with tee signs embedded in the back of the pad. The signature feature of the course is the levee which creates some fun elevation on three of the holes. The course plays through mature trees, sometimes with a couple routes to the basket and zero rough so there's no chance to lose a disc here.
Cons: The shot selection is lacking. Because it's all mature trees and routes through them, only hole 5/14 is a legitimate turnover shot IMHO.

The course is very short, only one hole over 300ft and it's downhill so it doesn't play that long. With the exception of the three holes involving the levee, the course seems a bit repetitive.

I really didn't find that the alternate tees added anything to the course. Some of them (2/11 and 8/17) are just 30 feet away in a straight line.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was an enjoyable round with some great scenery and a couple memorable shots involving the levee. The course is great for casual players, families and locals, but don't expect a challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the Respect?

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most underrated course in the greater Indianapolis area. I went expecting nothing, but was completely blown away by how intriguing this layout is. The pros here are alot of fun ace runs and focusing on your mid range discs to get the job done. The layout and design couldn't be better for the space used. The double teepads per 9 baskets is a brilliant way to make the most use of the space. It feels like an 18 hole course. The hill levy for hole #7 and # 16 are more challenging than they look.
Cons: The only con is if the course is busy you need to be careful of entering the path of other players. There isn't alot of land used here.
Other Thoughts: I feel this course deserves more respect. I play mostly on courses that require long bombs off the tees. This course actually tested my skills the opposite direction by easing off the distance and being precise on my disc selection. I think this course is a blast. Don't let the low rating fool you. The fun factor is as good any in the greater Indy area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 May need more of a challenging coarse

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shorter holes but can be easily birdies. A couple of shots off a giant hill which is fun. Few tree shots to but pretty standard throughout
Cons: Too easy especially with pars. They should all b 3's really. Not much variety here. Good for hopping for an ace then an easy putt-- needs more of a challenge or trees but not bad of beginning

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun pitch n putt

2-4    11/23/2009   3/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of small and mature trees with a couple open holes in a mostly flat park. There is no underbrush on the grassy well-kept fairways, and no chance of losing a disc. A couple holes play up and down a fairly steep levy making for some interesting elevation shots.

Most holes have one or two main lines to the hole, with some other tighter "local" routes. There is a good mix of holes where the best route is a right or left turning shot, with a couple straight ahead. The course has good flow, with no long walks between holes, and no holes that aren't obvious from the tee pad even with lots of baskets in a small area.

The course has great amenities. There were two nice concrete pads on each hole, many that were set off to the side to give a little different look at the hole. Each pad had a tee sign set into the back corner with hole number, distance, and a hole map. There was a nice kiosk at the beginning of the course with a course map and information about other local courses and leagues. The course is pretty with some nice lake views and a family friendly park feel.
Cons: The course is very short. Nearly all the holes are under 300', and most are very reachable with a midrange even for a mediocre player like me. Because there is no rough, the course doesn't feel like there is any variety, you are just shooting through the same trees for another short shot.

Because the tees are set down into the pad, you don't know which one is for the "front nine" and which is for the "back" without walking up to them. This isn't a big deal once you know the course, but it was a little irritating the first time through. The two tees per hole also caused some backups when groups were playing the front and back at the same time. Most groups seemed pretty courteous about it, but I did see some groups throwing at the same basket at the same time...

There were a couple spots where walking paths and picnic areas were in play on holes, and they seemed to be well used so it really could be a safety issue. The worst spot was the hole off the levy, where newer players are most likely to hyzer out early, and both the next tee and a picnic area were in the likely landing zone for that kind of shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course for learning on, or for working on hitting lines with your putters and mids. Beginners will find some challenges here, but the lengths are reasonable and there are no spots to lose discs. More experienced players will not find many challenges here or much variety to keep things interesting.

I thought this course was a lot of fun for a quick round, and it's great to have a family friendly course, and even better to see families with kids on the course enjoying being out together. This isn't a destination course, there are more challenging and interesting courses in the area, but this one is not a bad stop if you don't have much time.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Small course, but fun

2-4    2/28/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A very clean and well maintained course.
- Par signs with distance, pro & AM's par, and basket location.
- Cement tee pads at every hole and every alternate hole.
- Interesting shots on hole 6 &7 good use of the hill.
- Some of the alternate tee pads are like playing new holes. You can play alternate as back 9.
- You have a good chance to get an ace on this course.
- Most holes veer slightly left or right.
- By hole 1 there is a map & info about course
- Hole 8 could not be any easier basket is only 108ft away.
Cons: - Only 9 baskets. Front 9 share with back 9.
- Some alternate tee pads are only 20 to 40ft away other tee pad.
- Only 1 hole over 300ft
- Duck boop was all over the course
Other Thoughts: Not a hard course so if you're new to disc golf you will probably like it here. If you're a pro you might find it not challenging enough. I played there my first time in an ice tournament. I placed 12th out of 38 people. Played a total of 44 holes. Allen Hazelwood held a good tournament and I met alot of ggod people from the Morse Beach D.G.C.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.