Nashville, TN 
Naval Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #4 (Taken 7/2014)
-- / --   3 / 249ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Shelby

5+    6/7/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice practice basket with distance markers on the ground. The concrete pads are nice. Good signage w/ course map.
#6 -- It's a fun tunnel shot with a hard fade across the creek. A lot of great work was done. Steps leading up the hill from the bridge across the creek were recently added.
A path has been cut out from 8 basket to 9 tee, fixing a previous flow issue
#9 bench in the tree is very cool.
I like the new #19 running back to the parking lot.
Cons: #1 tends to have the most park goers. I've seen everything from people sleeping in hammocks to group yoga on that hole.
First 5 holes are a little close to each other.
1,2,5,10,12,13,17,18 all pose potential road hazards.
Elevation -- the worst spots are the hike from 6 to 7 and from 14 to 15 and 15 (placement at the bottom of the hill) to 16.
Only benches on 2,6,7,9 and maybe 15.
Half the pads are still carpet
Other Thoughts: I think the area was used well, although it does get tight in areas.The flow is easy to follow except for crossing the road from 12, one might walk to the 17 pad to the left by mistake. #13 pad is by the dead looking tree. The layout also makes it easy to skip around if its crowded, which it rarely is.
When the wind is over 10mph, the back 9 can get tough being so wide open on the face of a hill by the river. I also don't remember ever smelling bad odors.
It's a fun course that could be described as flick friendly. The crew has done a lot of great work and they're constantly making improvements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Naval Hill

2-4    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: mhansen11
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front nine as mentioned before is great. Holes 5/6/8 are by far my favorite on the course.

So far, I haven't ran into a bunch of traffic which is nice, but I'm sure it will pick up as more are made aware of the course.
Cons: As mentioned before, there are some brutal hills. But, it makes for a great workout!
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to me now, which is great. I would call it my favorite local course. Its fun, semi technical on a number of holes and at this time really clean with some nice views.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Like the old Two Rivers course, with more trees

1    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked the front nine. Right when I thought it was going to be the same "shoot around some trees in a field" theme for everything, we came to hole 5, which along with 6, 8, and 9, made for some very interesting shots.

There's a neat bench cut into a fallen tree on hole 9.

The back nine isn't terrible, one 641-foot hole, but otherwise nothing memorable.

Signage is nice, took me a while to notice that the pin placements are actually marked on them.

Practice basket at the beginning has markers up to 45-feet (at least) so you can see how far away you are. The writing on them is already fading so you kind have to guess which is which.
Cons: Hills. Oh my God, hills. The walk from 6 to 7 is atrocious. You play kind of sideways on a good number of holes.

18 doesn't finish by the parking lot, so you have to foot it back to your car. Uphill, just a little bit, but it's noticeable.

It smells *horrible* around 11, 12, and 17.

Could use some more benches. There are a few around but they aren't really where they're needed - like, towards the end when you're tired from all that hill work.
Other Thoughts: There's currently clover all over the place. Watch your disc because it's easy to lose it in a wide-open field.

A few holes play close to the road, but any cars we saw had slowed down around us, there was never any danger of hitting any body.

The first hole you see after hole 12 is hole 17 across the street. You have to keep walking past that to find hole 13.

Mind the fences on 11,12, and 14.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/20/2014   1/29/2014
Review By: Genegoesfast
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course utilizes the land its built on perfectly. The views of the Nashville skyline are awesome! Despite being a rather open course, the layout makes it feel much more challenging and interesting. There are many holes that take advantage of the elevation changes the landscape offers. The pads and signage that are installed are high quality and all the baskets are brand new.
Cons: There's a lot of walking up and down large hills. The pathway from 8's basket plops you right into 9's fairway.
Other Thoughts: The course feels predominately left to right. Holes 11-18 are currently temp. with carpet tees and hand drawn signs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well done,.

1    11/30/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: refriedjay
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the space given by the city of Nashville, I would say this is an extremely well conceived course. Several holes cause you to sweat- several high risk/reward type shots.

I also enjoyed walking up to a tee-box and thinking, "that's a great pin placement".

For a rather "open" type park, they really managed to create diversity in difficulty and shot placement.

Great baskets, great concrete tee boxes, good signage.
Cons: Not all the teeboxes are finished.

A few times, I found myself walking way up or across a hill, to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has great promise and potential.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.