Disc Golf Center
Sunrise, FL 
Markham Park Share
Uploaded By: Deke Guff   (Taken 12/2013)



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Markham Park

5+    3/30/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 79  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now 18 holes. New B-pins on several holes. New blue tees on several holes. Markham is a fun new course to distribute some traffic away from the always busy Tradewinds park. Fisrt park in the area with four par 4 holes. Variety of shots required. More long holes than other area courses. Brand new baskets purchased for this new course. Fun between the uprights/trees mando. Elevation: There are a few pins on mounds which adds to aesthetics and challenge as there is fear of some roll away. 6 holes play along a lake with two that have over water options. Many restrooms in park for the ladies (although not close by course)
Cons: Natural tees. 6 holes run along a gravel road that is rough on discs & feet. Not for flip-flops. Proper footware required. Multi use park is always busy & people like to park on the grass with no idea they are on a golf course. A little mud at times in some spots by the water after rain.
Other Thoughts: I am very happy to have another local course that has a lot of challenge. The course if fairly new and already has benches, garbage cans, signs and a practice basket with measured putting circle. Seems there is something new each time I go. 8 new B-pins. Paved parking lot. Mulch between 2&3 and 15&16 help soften the journey. Boardwalk between mando trees to keep us out of the mud is a nice new edition.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Just Needs Time

2-4    3/18/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: flambamtym
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Markham Park is an excellent area, with plenty of outside activities aside from disc golf available.

Brand new, with a great course map and excellent baskets.

A bit scenic, especially in the holes by the lake and in the woods.

Good course variety (a mandatory shot between two trees, a few holes with a water hazard)

At some of the holes, the park supplies 10-foot long rubber pipes with metal hooks attached to the ends, for fetching frisbees out of the water or high trees.
Cons: No concrete tees (just two red stones per hole)

Weather can be an issue, with virtually no shade.

Located next to a frequented road, so expect to wait for cars to pass at some points.

Ignorant campers occasionally set up right next to baskets or in the middle of the course.

The poles are placed in obscure, unguarded locations (propped up against random trees, on the edge of the water) and probably will be subject to theft or disappear after a storm.

Navigation occasionally an issue (individual course maps often blow away from their markers in the wind, later 9 holes located on an obscure, unmarked path)
Other Thoughts: Markham Park Disc Golf seems to have earned a bad reputation for being "incomplete", judging from the ratings. However, it's noticeably improved in the 2 months or so between my visits. Again, for the most part, it's well mapped, has decent variety and challenge in its holes, is nice to look at, and even offers the handy retrieval poles. With time, the course might install concrete tees and better course maps to ease navigation. All in all, aside from its poor location right next to a commonly-used road, give this one a shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Course Now, May be Great In Future

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes that mostly meander between the woods and the road, with a few holes by the lake, and a few dipping into the woods.

The park was very clean, with plenty of benches to sit on.

A good mix of hole lengths and shot types.

Nice baskets.

Park free to enter during the week.
Cons: Tees range from rock, sand and grass. Concrete tees probably coming though.

The course starts out with rocky fairways. I recommend sturdy shoes and sturdy discs for the first few holes.

The biggest problem, was that a car was parked in the middle of a fairway and another car was parked by a basket with some either really stupid or purposely db people having a picnic next to the basket. This is a huge multi use park with plenty of areas for people to park/picnic that wouldn't interfere with disc golfing.
Other Thoughts: A nice decent course for a fun casual round, that seems like its not quite finished yet. Could be something really nice here when they're done.

The greater Miami area has some of the heaviest traffic in Florida. Combine that with the worst drivers that I have ever seen anywhere. Be careful out there people, and leave plenty of extra time to get around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Markham is now 18 holes!

2-4    2/7/2014   2/7/2014
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes that offer a variety of open and wooded fairways. A couple of elevated baskets (3&13) also add to the variety. Most holes are below 300' but there are three par 4's. The holes that run along the lake side are scenic but only come into play on three holes.
Cons: The course is still under construction so some of these cons will be obsolete very soon.
- Natural tee pads that will be replaced with concrete in the very near future.
- Only am pads are available at this time. Long pads and Rec pads will be added soon.
- some holes flood during heavy rains
- no restrooms or drinking fountains at the course. (There are nice restrooms nearby but you will need to drive)

Other Thoughts: As stated above this is a course still under construction so keep that in mind when you read some of the cons that people are posting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mark'em off my "courses to bag" list

1    12/27/2013   1/16/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 168  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, large park offers lots of activities.
• Mostly open fairways sparsely dotted with some well-placed trees. About half the holes allow for several different lines, a couple really force you to make a decision on the tee, and one (not that tight) tunnel shot says, "here's your line, hit it."
• Holes 3 and 6 feature well tucked pins that require beautiful drives to deuce, and at least two pretty good shots to par… screw up either your drive or approach, and you'll likely take a 4 on them. Pins for 7 & 8 are located nicely as well.
• Bright red stones with hole # let you know when you've arrived (but are hard to spot from the previous pin if the grass recently mowed).
• Reasonably attractive course, but nothing spectacular.
• 10-15 min from Sawgrass Mills Mall for a quick round while the wife/GF goes shopping (too bad it's not 18 holes yet).
Cons:
• Lacks variety in terms of distance and fairway type. 8 out of 9 holes are between 275 and 350, and there isn't much to speak of in terms trees close to the tee. There's plenty of room to make some over 400' ...but they didn't.
• There's a fence all the way down the right side of 7... just waiting for one to get away from you - very possible if it's a bit windy.
• Florida's flat and so is Markham. I value what elevation can bring into play. Hole1 plays down the spine of a berm, but even that little bit of elevation doesn't really come into play. May I suggest extending some poles to raise baskets and create the possibility of long comebacks on missed putts? Yes, it looks gauche, but can be easily dressed up by surrounding with landscape timbers or stones and filled with dirt. Viola! …an elevated pin that adds risk/reward, looks more interesting, and doesn't cost much. Not as much fun as rolling hills, but jacking up a couple of baskets 1-2 ft can help spice up a flat course.
• Needs tee signs badly, but based on the other Broward County courses, I have a feeling they're coming.
Other Thoughts: Brings another course to a thriving a metro area that doesn't have many. Prior to 2013, there were only two courses in a county with a population of 1.8 million. Broward County Parks & Rec has finally recognized the sport's growth, recently responding with Plantation Heritage and Markham to supplement longstanding Easterlin and Tradewinds.

Hole 2 may be the ugliest hole I've seen in a long time, but fits the definition of risk/reward and is a bit of a butt-pucker. A scraggly pine (that grows outward as much as upward) sits smack in the middle between tee and pin, forcing righties to throw a spike hyzer (up and over it) or a FH/annie (around it… and possibly in the drink if it glides long). It's a tourney worthy deuce or die hole, but there's just something about it I don't like.

This parcel of land isn't that great for disc golf, but I don't even think they used it to its potential and could've created a few more interesting holes using the same property.

Markham has a few things going for it, but on the whole, it just ain't all that exciting a course. If that's not the definition of "meh," I dunno what is. 2.0 is reasonable, and that might be stretching a bit, because I think 18 holes worth of this (plus concrete) might rate a solid 2.5. Hopefully, they add some variety when they expand.

Not worth going out of your way for, but if you're visiting friends or family west of Ft. Lauderdale, pack a Tee Bird and a putter and have some fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

On it's Way

1    1/10/2014   1/15/2014
Review By: Brendan
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park
Plenty of space, few interruptions from non dg park goers.
Cons: Needs some TLC or rather just more players coming through.

Signage is really lacking.

Some holes could use minor adjustments.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth checking out. It seems like the kind of place that is still smoothing out the initial implementation.

Another minor note. I was visiting from out of town when I played. Maybe I'm getting to old and too persnickety. Maybe it was just that group of people. Perhaps its just something in the water. I (playing alone) caught up to a four pack that did not let me play through. Not only has this never happened to me, I've never actually seen it happen to any one else. Maybe I've been lucky.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential

1    1/3/2014   1/4/2014
Review By: zubeala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lovely park. Great bathrooms and fountains (not close to the course though). Everything is brand new. Course is in a fairly isolated area. Read the driving directions carefully. Two or 3 interesting holes. Volunteers were adding benches and clearing brush the day I was there. That is always a good sign. It shows somebody cares and will care for the course.
Cons: No tee pads or tee signs (yet). Map is a must. If the volunteers wouldn't have told me where a couple holes were, I would have spent a lot of time looking. Hole 7 is a narrow fare way bordered by a 6' chain link fence with barbed wire (I did see an opening), but I hate that type of hole. People can and do park anywhere in this park. There was an SUV parked directly in the middle of hole 5. The guy was in it, saw me coming and just sat there.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 is the only hole where water comes into play and is a nice risk-reward hole. This is a fairly short course, and is great for new players and old farts like me. Hole six is great, with the basket pretty well hidden in the trees. I look forward too the 9 hole addition, and appreciate the care being shown here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

markham is almost complete !

5+    12/7/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: discjocky
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: multiple pin locations pro pads benches and tee signs are in . mulch on the rocky/gravel fairways and a bridge on hole 8 for when it floods . what a great job they have down with this course . they also put no parking signs on the fairways where cars were parking and strickly enforce them . if you havent played this course check it out !
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: do not listen to any negative comments this is a awesome course !

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.