Salem, OR 
Oregon State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: nightowlor Hole #8 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun short course

1    10/6/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Mellow layout, easy distances, a great short break course to play! Doesn't seem to be used almost ever so it's pretty much wide open it would seem.
Cons: No baskets, just tone poles (IE: Hit it and it makes noise). Makes it a bit more challenging in some regards, easier in other.

Never found the first tee, and missed another that I forget the number of. All tees are just lines drawn in the ground. Some of the holes seemed to be a bit close, so if this ever got busy the layout would put some players in a throws way.
Other Thoughts: With a bit more disbersement, some baskets, and some better tee indicators, this could be an excellent and fun lunchtime course for some people to play on break! Right now though, it just doesn't seem to catch anyones attention as it was empty on a nice Saturday afternoon.

Oregon State Hospital DGC - A Walk in the Park

1    8/1/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Oregon State Hospital DGC is located near the old tennis courts directly in front of the Museum. The course plays in a large open park setting with clusters of large trees spread throughout. The layout allows for players to be challenged using distance and challenging lines off the tee. Although some holes are easier than others, there are no "give me's" on the course with the exception of hole four. A lot of the time players are forced to keep throws low and controlled in order to avoid hitting the tree canopy. Tee pads are painted lines on the blacktop and roads and are usually located within close proximity of the pin. Par for the course is 54 with holes ranging 242-450 ft and is best suited for advanced players. However, due to it's park like setting, anyone can come out and have fun! There will just be a lot of players shooting over par which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The course will continue to improve once the baskets are installed.
Cons:
Some many the fact it is a tone course may detour them from playing the course frequently or even at all. I personally don't mind them considering I have played my fair share over the years up in British Columbia. It is a quick way to get a course in without the funds it takes for tees, signs, and baskets, and can also be a way to test whether the location of the course works…a trial period per say. I wouldn't want a tone course as my home course though as putting is an essential part of the game but this will soon be fixed at the course.

Another issue for first timers only would be course navigation. Printing a map off online is a must! It helped me with the hardest part…locating hole one, but also with finding the next tee and pin location. There are no tee signs and at times it can be confusing.
Other Thoughts:
I stopped at the Oregon State Hospital DGC on the way home to Seattle from the Oregon Coast with my wife and son was very pleased to have made the stop. Although there were no real memorable holes here I was challenged and felt safe as I walked through the park with my family. My three year old son had a wonderful time running around and throwing and my wife was able to stretch the legs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Never Thrilled With the Tones!

1    5/28/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Oregon State Hospital DGC is set down in front of the museum and the old tennis courts on 24th & Center Streets. Don't be fooled like was and try to play the four tone poles at the other side of the hospital at the corner of Park & D Streets.

There are nine tone poles here, each clearly marked with a number. The tee pads are painted on the asphalt and sidewalks. There are no signs of any kind. This is a lovely little section of very well maintained park. There are mature trees and enough length to challenge. And putting at tones is always a scary proposition. I found rollers to be especially effective.
Cons: Tone poles instead of baskets.

I was a little confused trying to find out where to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't it great if someone could design a basket that makes the same wonderful melodious sound as a tone. They kind of duplicated it at Horning's Hideout with their truck rim baskets but they're not PDGA approved.
Both this area and the other section of the park (Park & D) would be a great place to install a nice little recreational course complete with signs, tee pads and BASKETS!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Info update 06/01/2014

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: nightowlor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Today measurement were taken and hole info was added to this site with hole pictures. just print a map and scorecard and use paint stripes on asphalt and sidewalks as tee pads. # 2 and #4 tee pad paint stripes are the ones closest to each holes.
Cons: Need to figure out a way the directionalize the tee pad stripes with numbers and directions like arrows for first time users of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lunchtime Playing

5+    12/30/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: Maxpsych
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is always very well maintained by the hospitals fulltime groundskeeping crew making it nearly impossible to lose a disc in underbrush.
The trees here are another story and they keep a technical edge to the course.
Tee pads have been set up and marked on paved areas as of March 2014.
It never floods on this course so it is always playable.
Cons: There are currently no baskets, only tone poles.
No signage at this time.
Download the map, take a guide, or expect to spend some time figuring out the course layout.
Other Thoughts: When the baskets and signage are in place this course will improve dramatically. (The first of the Bentley Baskets has been ordered as of April 2014).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.