Koh Samui, Thailand 
Laem Sor Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Disc golf in a paradise

5+    6/26/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: 420player
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 18 holes disc golf course in Thailand. The course is amazing and keeps on going better and better way. Owner Dave has build the course during last 3 years middle of the jungle by he's hands and the result is pretty amazing!

There are shorter and longer holes so which is perfect because pro's and am's can play in the same course together. New beachfront area holes 4,5,6 are pretty stunning too with a sea view and the course ends to hole 18 which is the longest hole on the course. There are shot from every player I could say, you must see and play it by your self.

And that place you don't have to stop playing even if the rain or night comes, because they got virtual disc golf by PS3 in their cafe and and LED disc set which you can borrow, so you are free to play when ever you like. I would say that's the way to bring the disc golf in a new level in Thailand.



Cons: It's located south side of the island which is a little bit far from the tourist places , but it is all worth of it! Go, play and have fun!
Other Thoughts: They also have rooms for rent in the course and their food is amazing! It's healthy and tasty. Beers are cold and coctails are good. Every Sunday there is a league day, which is nice and you can meet another players from the island.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome little course

1    2/15/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: FlippyBoss
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now 18 holes with nice baskets.

Great little course that is off the beaten path on koh samui. There is a great mixture of shots with right and left handed hyzers as well as straight throws. Plays through cocunut trees with a hand full of raised baskets and hill positions. There are some mandos, marked ob lines on some holes and a creek comes into play on a few as well. Pretty easy to follow and you are provided a map with a scoreboard on a clipboard.

The staff is great and very friendly and there is food and drinks available for sale. You get bring your own discs, borrow some from the course, or purchase some as well. I bought a sss wizard with a cool stamp for 500 baht and got a free entrance fee as well.
Cons: Short course. I personally do not mind having a short course around to dial in your putters and midranges but decently no room to.air one out.

The heat and wind can be factors but obviously depends on season and time of day.

It can be hard to get to if you do not have a motorbike. We took a taxi for about 200 baht each way but had to ask a hand full of drivers before we found one that would take us there. I would have a map pulled up on your phone or have it marked on a island map if you are taking a taxi otherwise no one will have any idea where you want to go.
Other Thoughts: I played the hole course with the one sss wizard i purchased and shot 1 over playing it for the first time. So not super hard but ob, mandos, and elevated pins combined wity wind could defently add strokes. An experienced disc golfer will only need putters and midranges except for hole 18. I could have used my firebird for a few flicks and maybe a thumber.

I would consider this a destination course if you are planning a trip to Thailand. I wish I could have stayed for a few rounds but I will be back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

DG in paradise!

5+    12/18/2015   12/25/2015
Review By: Stargazed
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/17/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixed course, good for all skill levels. Well maintained course.
Nice clubhouse/bar/cafe and a small disc shop.

Awesome welcome and service by the owners, never had such a good experience visiting a course.

Excellent course for of season practice.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to see the creek more in play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "Off the beaten path!"

5+    11/17/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: destinationdiscgolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: "Off the beaten path" there lies a diamond in the rough on the South Side of Koh Samui and it is what could be described as the crown jewel of disc golf in Thailand. Not only does this secret gem offer ice collared beer and great food, it has everything that an experienced disc golfer looks for when concerning landscape and course design, scenic ocean views, sea breezes, big trees and canopies to provide shade and yet have open spaces for big throws, elevation changes, water features, nice targets that catch ace runs or soft finesse putts and upshots, handmade artistic tee signs, proper facilities like a cool clubhouse with fans, hammocks and bamboo huts washrooms/bathrooms, airconditioned affordable guesthouse or backpacker's dream bungalow with island ocean views overlooking the course of nice well manicured greens and fairways, in a beautiful setting just off the beach on a disc golf holiday.
Cons: everything is par 3(some shorter easier but more technical holes and some harder more technical holes that make it difficult to make par).
Other Thoughts: Also has a nice evening vibe as a great acoustic music venue as well so bring your guitar or whatever instrument for nightly jam sessions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Relaxed setting for a totally casual round

5+    1/30/2015   12/3/2013
Review By: Khao Pra
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2015
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very close to the beach.

Cons: difficult to play the course without crossing multiple fairways.

difficult to navigate the course without local help.

limited facilities on site. bring everything with you just in case.
Other Thoughts: it is what it is. a makeshift disc golf course on a tropical island. don't take the game seriously or you won't enjoy your round. each round is much more fun with a cold beer in hand.

needs a complete design redo to make it playable, but that also requires more time to cut down the constant growth of a tropical island.


***Updating my initial review as there have been some very positive changes taking place here.

Signs have been posted at each turn off from the main "Ring Road" to the course.

A large course map has been added opposite the clubhouse, at the small road that separates the first 4 holes from the remainder of the course.

Lots of clearing has taken place in the last 2 years, opening up new areas for play

the 8 year old and out dated baskets have mostly been replaced with a more modern basket and chain assembly.

course expanded from 9-18 holes

weekly league play (Sunday 4pm) now has a regular following

bar/cafe is open now with cold drinks and a food menu. on league nights they had a set menu for 200thb when i was there, that may be seasonal though.

really happy to see the positive changes here. the course design relies heavily on crossing fairways though so it's 18 holes packed in to a space where 9 very nice holes would be fine.

hopefully with more players getting rounds in here the course will continue to grow out into a true 18 hole layout which would be ideal, considering it's adjacent to the beach.

my initial review gave the course 1 star for existing. updating to 3.5 as the entire golfing atmosphere here has noticeably improved.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.