Midland, TX 
Windlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: Geddy Lee Hole #8 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Course

5+    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: rickbergman10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Great course that offers a little of everything. It's very challenging and requires an accurate drive on most holes. Best course in Midland
Cons: Fairly wide open however it it not flip flop friendly. You MUST wear shoes or you're going to have a bad time. I've been poked countless times by thorns and I've been bit by ants 3 or 4 times so mind where you set your bag and step. The city seems to not want to cut the grass so it can get annoyingly tall.
Other Thoughts: #16 is a 600 ft par 3 and demands a deep drive. The back is harder than the front mostly because of OB. Lots of OB. #10, #14 and #15 require some serious accuracy. No tunnel shots really. #10 might be the closest thing to a tunnel. Just noticed they put down some alternate pin locations so that's exciting.

Ankle Biter

2-4    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: This is a nice, large 18 hole course that uses a lot of the vegetation and walking path as part of the course. There is a good mix of short runs with tight OB lines and long bomb shots to really run it hard. Two holes are island shots that really challenge the player - with hole 15 your drive has to be spot on perfect as there is very little room for error. There is a public restroom right by hole #1, plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. All 18 holes have long launch pads and the park is very clean and well kept.
Cons: You need to watch your step as you walk as there are thousands of small mesquite bushes that will tear up your ankles as well as gopher holes everywhere that will twist you up. There isn't much in the way of shade of many of the holes. As it was said in other reviews, it is very windy on this course, and it is right next to a small runway and small airplanes flying overhead can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: This is great course. I played it twice in the last four months - once for a Vibram Birdie Bash and once for the Dynamic/Latitude 64/Westside Discs Trilogy Challenge. Both times it was a fun experience. It would be great to see some water fountains around the park, as well as a course map at the beginning of the course to help new players navigate. I would love to play this one again.

Great addition

2-4    3/6/2014   3/7/2014
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rest rooms on site
Many park benches throughout.
Several trashcans throughout.
Nice long concrete tees in place or being put in.
Enough vegitation to make it interesting.
Great Disc Nation baskets.
18 holes (A great addition for Midland)
There is black tape on each of the baskets pointing you to the next tee.
I good mixture of short and really long shots.
Cons: It is in the same area as a walking path.
Not much elevation change. (Although I must admit they did a fantastic job with what they have.)
Some of the tees didnt have any sign posts telling you what tee you are on.
Other Thoughts: I am glad Midland finially got an 18 hole course. They did a really great job of laying it out.They did a good job of using the trees there to keep it interesting.. (It gives you some low celing shots, corrador shots, You have to think of the best approach on some of the shots.)
In my oppinion this is the best course around.
Once they get it totally finished it will be as good as most of the courses I have played in Missouri or Colorado.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid addition to WT Disc Golf!

5+    11/16/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very unique. It is mostly open with a few good sized trees, mostly shrubs and brush under 10' tall. What makes it unique is that it is built on a walking trail that intersects itself tons of time. This creates individual island holes that really stretch your finesse game. There are also a couple of monster bomb holes to just grip and rip. This course is also a great compliment to Cowden park as it doesn't flood when it rains. The course is well designed and has a good flow. Way to go Midessa DGC!
Cons: There are way more pro's then con's, but a few things to note would be, first, that it is built on a walking path. If we hit too many walkers (mostly old people), this course could do bye-bye. Secondly, while it doesn't flood like Cowden, it is on top of a high point in midland which causes it to live up to its name, Windlands. It stays pretty gusty up there. The only other thing would be that there aren't teepads or signs, but I know for a fact that teepads are in the works and should be in soon. Not sure about signs, but they would make navigation infinitely easier.
Other Thoughts: All together a really quality course that should bring some great disc golf action out to West Texas!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.