Midland, TX 
Windlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: Geddy Lee Hole #15 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Solid Course

5+    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: rickbergman10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2015
Pros: Great course that offers a little of everything. It's very challenging and requires an accurate drive on most holes. Best course in Midland
Cons: Fairly wide open however it it not flip flop friendly. You MUST wear shoes or you're going to have a bad time. I've been poked countless times by thorns and I've been bit by ants 3 or 4 times so mind where you set your bag and step. The city seems to not want to cut the grass so it can get annoyingly tall.
Other Thoughts: #16 is a 600 ft par 3 and demands a deep drive. The back is harder than the front mostly because of OB. Lots of OB. #10, #14 and #15 require some serious accuracy. No tunnel shots really. #10 might be the closest thing to a tunnel. Just noticed they put down some alternate pin locations so that's exciting.

Ankle Biter

2-4    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: This is a nice, large 18 hole course that uses a lot of the vegetation and walking path as part of the course. There is a good mix of short runs with tight OB lines and long bomb shots to really run it hard. Two holes are island shots that really challenge the player - with hole 15 your drive has to be spot on perfect as there is very little room for error. There is a public restroom right by hole #1, plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. All 18 holes have long launch pads and the park is very clean and well kept.
Cons: You need to watch your step as you walk as there are thousands of small mesquite bushes that will tear up your ankles as well as gopher holes everywhere that will twist you up. There isn't much in the way of shade of many of the holes. As it was said in other reviews, it is very windy on this course, and it is right next to a small runway and small airplanes flying overhead can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: This is great course. I played it twice in the last four months - once for a Vibram Birdie Bash and once for the Dynamic/Latitude 64/Westside Discs Trilogy Challenge. Both times it was a fun experience. It would be great to see some water fountains around the park, as well as a course map at the beginning of the course to help new players navigate. I would love to play this one again.

Great addition

5+    3/6/2014   3/7/2014
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have decided to update my review since they have made changes that have not been addressed by any of the reviews here.
First of all they have updated the signage so that there is a nice map of the whole course at the first hole.
Nice signs at each of the tees showing hole information.
Alternate baskets on each hole. (They change the basket placement often so you have to look to see where the current position is.)
Nice long concrete tees on each hole
Rest rooms on site
Many park benches throughout.
Several trashcans throughout.
Enough vegitation to make it interesting.
Great Disc Nation baskets.
18 holes (A great addition for Midland)
I good mixture of short and really long shots.
Cons: It is in the same area as a walking path.
Not much elevation change. (Although I must admit they did a fantastic job with what they have.)
There are lots of Mesquite in the park so you have to watch where you walk, especially after they have mowed. Lots of 3 inch thorns around.
Other Thoughts: I am glad Midland finially got an 18 hole course. They did a really great job of laying it out.They did a good job of using the trees there to keep it interesting
In my opinion this is the best course around. In flat dry West Texas nature does not give you a lot to work with, so they did a good job with this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.