Midland, TX 
Windlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: Geddy Lee Hole #15 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Real West Texas Course

2-4    3/19/2016   4/5/2016
Review By: docnakona
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Captures everything true about West Texas: Great vistas, challenging elements (wind, heat, cold, sun).

2. Individual holes are oustanding, greens are challenging and well protected by creative use of trees, shrubs.

3. Good balance of Left/Right, Short/Long (and Very long).

4. Nice concrete pads on tees
18 holes!

5. Not crowded (with golfers at least, walkers different story)
Cons: 1. FLOW (lack thereof). 18 great individual holes, but not much sense of flow from one hole to next. Would benefit from e.g. arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee.

2. Wind (see above), but that's part of the fun out here.
Reminds me of the opening scenes of Tin Cup and Kevin Costner.

3. All of the holes are simplistically rated par 3. This is closer to a Par 70 than a Par 54 IMO.

Other Thoughts: Played 3-4 rounds here in March 2016 with different groups. Very fun course, moves fast once you know where the holes are but this place is huge (4 miles for 18 holes). With improved signage this could be a 4.5.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Average, but Dangerous, Course

1    3/5/2016   3/21/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 166  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This really is the only course available in Midland, if you really want to get any kind of challenge out of playing. The course is situated in a easily accessible multi-use park and offers quite a bit of variety for the area, which lacks the tree density that a lot of other courses have. There are concrete tees with tee signs and ok Disc Nation baskets. There is also a course map at the beginning of the course, which is needed because of the tricky navigation of the course.

The variety of holes is really what gives this course a passing grade. There are big 600'+ wide open holes to short island holes. Many holes also let the player either go over the top or down the middle depending on their play style.

A good player can shoot fairly well here. The course is short and easy enough to be a good introduction to players who have never played before
Cons: Sadly, I feel that this course has more bad than good. It intertwines with the walking path several times creating a risk for unsuspecting walkers.

As many have mentioned, the ground is littered with stickers and thorns that could really hurt if you are not careful. Just beware.

The navigation of the course is very tricky. I was fortunate to play with someone who was from Midland, and I was always a bit surprised when we would walk in an opposite direction that I initially had thought.
Other Thoughts: Being the only 18 hole course in Midland, it is definitely the best course in the City. If you are playing alone from out of town, I would recommend using the map located on the Links/Files tab of this page; it will really help with navigation and make the course enjoyable and not frustrating when trying to find the next tee.

Be very aware of the walkers on the course. I would hate to see the course get removed because of a walker getting hit by a disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

5+    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: rickbergman10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course that offers a little of everything. It's very challenging and requires an accurate drive on most holes. Best course in Midland
Cons: Fairly wide open however it it not flip flop friendly. You MUST wear shoes or you're going to have a bad time. I've been poked countless times by thorns and I've been bit by ants 3 or 4 times so mind where you set your bag and step. The city seems to not want to cut the grass so it can get annoyingly tall.
Other Thoughts: #16 is a 600 ft par 3 and demands a deep drive. The back is harder than the front mostly because of OB. Lots of OB. #10, #14 and #15 require some serious accuracy. No tunnel shots really. #10 might be the closest thing to a tunnel. Just noticed they put down some alternate pin locations so that's exciting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ankle Biter

2-4    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice, large 18 hole course that uses a lot of the vegetation and walking path as part of the course. There is a good mix of short runs with tight OB lines and long bomb shots to really run it hard. Two holes are island shots that really challenge the player - with hole 15 your drive has to be spot on perfect as there is very little room for error. There is a public restroom right by hole #1, plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. All 18 holes have long launch pads and the park is very clean and well kept.
Cons: You need to watch your step as you walk as there are thousands of small mesquite bushes that will tear up your ankles as well as gopher holes everywhere that will twist you up. There isn't much in the way of shade of many of the holes. As it was said in other reviews, it is very windy on this course, and it is right next to a small runway and small airplanes flying overhead can be a distraction.
Other Thoughts: This is great course. I played it twice in the last four months - once for a Vibram Birdie Bash and once for the Dynamic/Latitude 64/Westside Discs Trilogy Challenge. Both times it was a fun experience. It would be great to see some water fountains around the park, as well as a course map at the beginning of the course to help new players navigate. I would love to play this one again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great addition

5+    3/6/2014   3/7/2014
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have decided to update my review since they have made changes that have not been addressed by any of the reviews here.
First of all they have updated the signage so that there is a nice map of the whole course at the first hole.
Nice signs at each of the tees showing hole information.
Alternate baskets on each hole. (They change the basket placement often so you have to look to see where the current position is.)
Nice long concrete tees on each hole
Rest rooms on site
Many park benches throughout.
Several trashcans throughout.
Enough vegitation to make it interesting.
Great Disc Nation baskets.
18 holes (A great addition for Midland)
I good mixture of short and really long shots.
Cons: It is in the same area as a walking path.
Not much elevation change. (Although I must admit they did a fantastic job with what they have.)
There are lots of Mesquite in the park so you have to watch where you walk, especially after they have mowed. Lots of 3 inch thorns around.
DON'T WEAR FLIP FLOPS.
Other Thoughts: I am glad Midland finially got an 18 hole course. They did a really great job of laying it out.They did a good job of using the trees there to keep it interesting
In my opinion this is the best course around. In flat dry West Texas nature does not give you a lot to work with, so they did a good job with this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid addition to WT Disc Golf!

5+    11/16/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very unique. It is mostly open with a few good sized trees, mostly shrubs and brush under 10' tall. What makes it unique is that it is built on a walking trail that intersects itself tons of time. This creates individual island holes that really stretch your finesse game. There are also a couple of monster bomb holes to just grip and rip. This course is also a great compliment to Cowden park as it doesn't flood when it rains. The course is well designed and has a good flow. Way to go Midessa DGC!
Cons: There are way more pro's then con's, but a few things to note would be, first, that it is built on a walking path. If we hit too many walkers (mostly old people), this course could do bye-bye. Secondly, while it doesn't flood like Cowden, it is on top of a high point in midland which causes it to live up to its name, Windlands. It stays pretty gusty up there. The only other thing would be that there aren't teepads or signs, but I know for a fact that teepads are in the works and should be in soon. Not sure about signs, but they would make navigation infinitely easier.
Other Thoughts: All together a really quality course that should bring some great disc golf action out to West Texas!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.