Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX 
Circle R - Rolling Meadow DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 379ft.   4 / 403ft.   4 / 482ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/10/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting that is a good bit different from the course next door on the Hill.

Hole one is another technical par 4 like on the Hill with distance not being key but instead proper placement being the way to get a birdie.

Hole 2 is a 275ft anhyzer through a pretty tough little gap.which is a good compliment to hole 1.

Hole 3 plays 230ft to a 35ft gap which you will hopefully hit leaving yourself another 300ft to the pin on the right.

Hole 4 plays as a low hyzer skip or high spike hyzer at 350ft with a group of low hanging trees protecting the basket and a large group to the left just off the tee.

hole 5-6-7 like on the hill are short technical holes with 5 being 250ft straight with a few tough trees and cacti to miss, 6 being 245ft anhyzer out of a gap with a few trees guarding the pin, and 7 being the signature "waterfall hole" at 180ft perched 10-15ft away from the creek on three sides.

8 is a par 4 where you throw an anhyzer off the tee avoiding the creek on the left with the approach being 250ft across the creek to the basket on a slight uphill slope.

Hole 9 is 270ft straight and a good bit uphill which finishes the front side of the course.

Hole 10 is a beautiful par 5 that plays 800ft+ with the fairway playing 480ft slightly downhill to a slight turn with the left side being protected by a heavy grove of trees.

Hole 11-13 are a few more linked birdie holes with 11 being a 270ft tight hyzer that is one of the easier holes on the course.

12 is a very tough 280ft anhyzer which is tight for the 1st 3/4 of the hole with the basket being tucked in to the right.

13 is a 240ft low hyzer with the basket on the crest of a rightward sloping hillside.

14 and 15 are tough par 4s with 14 playing as a tight hyxer to a landing area leaving a 350ft hyzer to the lightly guarded baskets.

15 plays as a compliment to 14 with the teeshot playing down a gradual opening fairway with rough on both sides. The approach leads to a basket on the right with trees short-right which force many to throw a sidearm.

16 is a 370ft hole with a tree halway down the fairway forcing an anhyser ling to the pin which resides under a large oak. Oh yeah OB creek on the left.

17 is a short 250ft LOW hyzer out of a gap and over the pond to a basket 40ft past the pond and 10ft uphill.

18 is another great finishing par 5 with the choice of playing safe on the 1st shot or going for a big anhyzer with trees if you come in short or early and a pond if you tail left. The 2nd shot is made with the hopes of being in the middle so you can play the next shot up the hill to the basket on the left.
Cons: Not too many cons about this event besides the fact we have rattlesnakes and cacti.
Other Thoughts: Still one of the coolest 2 courses I have played after 150+

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Super fun course with lots of shots that really reward you for good shots. This is the easier of the 2 courses in my book at least for a RHBH player because there are alot of hyzers and straight midrange shots. You are rewarded very nicely for a good accurate shot here. There are some boomers here but not as many as the hill. No places to lose plastic. Shoot well here to help out the score if playing both courses. Pro shop there but I heard they are closing it as of yesterday? Camping is fun and the tourneys when its open is well worth it.
Cons: Some pads are too worn but not as bad as the hill. Hot just like the hill. Doesnt seem very lefty friendly but that might be because I saw easy hyzers all weekend.
Other Thoughts: Bring everything you need because its to far from the parking lot.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Put on your must visit list

1    2/2/2003   8/2/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
15 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This facility is on my short list of the best of the best. It's a beautiful drive out from Austin to the ranch, John and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful, stocked pro-shop, camping on-site and two sweet courses make for a great day or two away from it all.

Of the two courses, I prefer the Meadows course to the Hill due to it's gentler look and easier hiking. The difficulty level for each set of tees is right on the money. John is among just a handful of designers who really get this concept.

Some may feel that the course is extremely long and difficult, but only if they've been indoctrinated by the all par 3's, pitch and putt mentality that is preached in many of the parks.

There are many outstanding holes on this course and some decent ones, but none that are bad.

The holes that stand out in my mind as exemplary are hole 1, 8, 12, 15, 17, and 18.

This course tests a lot of disc golf skills. Getting to play real golf on a exclusive use property is a wonderful thing.

Courses like this should be the starting point from which future disc golf courses evolve into even better facilities.
Cons: Some of the tees aren't the best. Some of the white and red tees are a bit difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, not great

1    7/31/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2008
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course to play. There are some pretty holes that are pretty challenging. The baskets are in good shape and the signs are good about giving you the par, the distance, and the pin location. There is a practice basket, pro shop, and even practice discs that you can use. I guess that you can even check them out to play your round with. I didn't get to see the pro shop or the practice discs because no one was there running the place. They just leave the gate open when they are not there I guess. There are alternate pin positions. Most of the tee pads are rubber, although some were missing and/or in bad shape. The rubber isn't bad, but concrete tee pads would make the course much more enjoyable.
Cons: A little tough to navigate, but not too bad as long as you have a map with you. All of the water was dried up at the end of July when I was there...not a drop. Those "pretty" holes aren't so pretty when it is just dirt with red flags to show you where the edge of the water is supposed to be. No waterfall either. You have to pay to play. Pretty far out of the way. I played this course just yesterday morning and as I think back on some of the holes, only a few stand out in my mind as being good holes. The rest are just too repetitive. I don't think that I'll make the trip out there to play again...unless I happen to be in Wimberley, TX for some reason.
Other Thoughts: If you make a long trip to go play here, go with a group and maybe camp out. If you make an event out of it, then it might be more fun. I played on a Thursday morning around 9 am and there was no one in the whole place...not even someone to run the pro shop. Another disc golfer finally arrived as I was getting ready to leave and he said that it is never busy in the daytime on weekdays. I guess that weekends are the busy times. I had built this course up in my mind to be something really great and it didn't quite meet my expectations for a course that you have to pay $10 to play and drive a long ways out of the way to get too.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.