Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX 
Circle R - Rolling Meadow DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #14 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 338ft.   4 / 403ft.   4 / 545ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #14 surrounded by trees, but sometimes you get lucky



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 I grew up in Rolling Meadows Subdi/ision. I wish this is where I grew up instead!

1    1/17/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Rubber mats are better than just grass on the white and the red tees. Blue tees are gra/el and are pretty consistent.

2) Picnic area located on this portion of the course where they also allow camping during tournaments.

3) A John Houck designed course on John Houcks personal property. How cool is that! I felt /ery fortunate to be allowed to play thanks to Dee . . . the course wasn't supposed to be open, but because she knew I was interested in course design and I would likely ne/er be back to Texas she still let my wife and I play!

4) /ery di/erse course with lots of different types of shots. This course is less about the hills like Circ Hill, and more about the ROlling Meadows. Rollers are a great thing to ha/e on this course as it can get you along way down some fairways that you might not get through an air shot. There are bombing hyzers, there are straight shots, some ha/e low ceilings, some are wide open bombers.

5) Pro shop (Home of Millenium Discs) in the shed up front. I paid my $10 to play for me and my wife,a nd then when Dee found out we were from WI she ga/e us each a disc too! That was just cool.

6) Seemed to be groomed better and more consistent fairways than Circ Hill which is totally understandable considering the rough terrain for mowing and grading on the hill course.

7) Nice discatchers with the /ibrant yellow band to shout throw here!!!!

8) Pay to Play keeps the riffraff out and I like it, well worth the $10.

9) A couple water features like #8 (although when I played it was dry) and also #17which was also dry unfortunately.

10) Great use of risk reward for the big arms. My noodle arm didn't really put me in a lot of positions to really risk that much, but I can imagine how fun it would be to play this course if I were a pro.

11) E/ery shot requires you to think which isa sign of great design! No boring wasted shots, sure you might be laying up here or there but it isn't just about pure distance or wide open throws.

12) Multiple tees allow all skill le/els to get out and see this course. I stuck with the whites because that is my skill le/el and it is simply too much for me to play the longer holes on a 40 course 3 week trip. I wore myself out before getting here.

13) Two looping 9's always a great idea!

14) Tee signs are Houck signatures . . . nice looking, all the pertinent information and just all around great signs.

15) Practice basket on the course is always welcomed.

16) The penultimate of multiple shot holes here. Long holes that require some accuracy too . . . great use of this design feature.
Cons: 1) Inconsistency in tee material and sometimes tough to find. Concrete would get this course another 1/4 disc and might just get it to a 5 disc course. Thats about the only big negati/e I had with the course.

2) Inconsistent tee sign placement.

3) Water features appear to be dry most of the year. Perhaps some liners should be considered to make the consitently in play, but then again, those might not work with the type of rocky soil they ha/e here.
Other Thoughts: All these negati/es cannot take away from the course itself. I would be back in a heartbeat despite these issues.Sometimes you just need to o/erlook some of these things when you realize what a great course you just played. It is on the designers property and while I am sure people think $10 is expensi/e I guarantee he puts more into the course than he recei/es in fees, so take that into consideration.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

5+    8/3/2010   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It doesn't get much better than this course. My favorite course in Texas to camp with friends and enjoy the game of disc golf. Scores are fun to keep but not really important when playing this course.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Houck courses never disappoint.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 They made me sign a waiver!

1    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. It was well worth the trip and the money.
-The pro shop is right there when you check in, it's a good time to check out new discs. The woman running the store even let one of the members in my party try out the disc for a round to see if he liked the disc
-Used just about every throw in my arsenal
-Some beautiful holes, Really captures the spirit of the hill country.
-The hazards can be truly hazardous ie. cactus in the middle of the fairway adds that extra challenge
-Hole #7 is a great signature hole, even when the water is low it's just beautiful
-I love the fact that there are not just 1 but 2 700+ foot holes, you really get to open up in the back nine
-The staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: -We had a difficult time finding the tees sometimes. A dirt patch with a piece of rope on the ground really wasn't what I was expecting when I was going to a pay to play course. All 3 tees per hole should be uniform for the course.
-The signage, while beautiful was inconsistence. Sometimes it was located on the blue tees sometimes on the white, and because the tees aren't defined it might take a few minutes to figure out at what tee you are at.
-The 18th hole is right between #4 and #16 it could be really easy to be targeting the wrong basket
-While playing hole #9 there where people warming up at the basket instead of at the designated practice basket
Other Thoughts: I call ahead of time and setup a tee time and even when I I had to move the time up the woman was very pleasant and accommodating.
It was helpful to have the course map on the back of the scorecard, because there were times we would have gotten lost without it.
I have also read reviews complaining about the cost to play the course. I find $10 reasonable, and if you don't want to pay it you don't have to play here, but it would be nice if they had season passes for something like $50

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Pro shop has an ok selection of discs, especially if you're looking for some Millennium plastic, what better place to buy than the headquarters.

Navigation. Using the map and next tee arrows I never had trouble finding my way through the course.

Variety of holes. A beautiful course direct from John Houck, a great variety winds its way very well through the terrain, requiring many shots out of the bag to score well. Several lines required, several wide open holes to rip it, and several birdie opportunities and ace runs.

Beauty. Fields of wildflowers, flowing streams, waterfalls, and attractive ponds make for a very picturesque experience.

Tees. Hole 4 offered the single concrete tee pad, the rest of the natural tees were fairly level and fit the course well, I never found myself overly frustrated with the condition of the tees.

Events. A variety of minis and some of the largest tournaments in the state have found a beautiful home.

Just Fun. When paired with its counterpart these 36 holes were some of the most enjoyable I've played, especially in a single setting.
Cons: Navigating hole 18. The pin is at the top of the hill just to the left of the pro shop. Not where I ended up - first at basket of 16 to the left, second at hole 4 on the right. Most likely just a user error.

Private. Only open on certain weekends, make sure to check the site. You have to schedule this course around it's schedule, not your own.

Not much elevation, especially if compared to its counterpart.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $10 to play 36 holes of some of the best the state has to offer, if you can fit it's schedule, make your way out here for a great day of disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Living up to the Reputation.

1    4/17/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The shot selection and hole layouts are about as diverse as you can have on this land. Each fairway has been painstakingly laid out to not focus on just one shot, but each continuous shot to the pin. The pin placements at first glance can seem easy, but are deceptively hard forcing you to think carefully before picking your line. With this, the trees may be the most impressive part of the course as they slope in odd directions truly defining fairways and making life extremely difficult for the errant shot.

Balance and design. I shouldn't be surprised playing the home courses of one the most prestigious course designers in the country. One can see the instant attraction Houck must have had to this piece of property with its winding trails, elevated slopes, and everything ultimately centered around one of the coolest rock waterfalls you will ever encounter on a disc golf course. It almost looks man made, but the signature hole #7 has 100' long hill country rock face eroding away from the natural spring water flowing over it. In Spring, when the property is lush, green, and running with water - there is a peaceful serenity and quietness that is unmatched.

Other amenities of the course include a pro shop, bathroom and shower facility, and two separate campgrounds. Combine this with 36 of some of the most challenging holes you'll play in Texas and basically you have a winner.

BEST HOLE/S: #7; #8 (When water is present)
Cons: The course is out of the way being about 25 miles from downtown Austin. The course is private and only open on a limited basis, so you need to pay attention to the Circular Productions website for dates to play. In addition, you'll have to pay to play, and at ten bucks for all day play and an additional ten for camping per person it can get pricey.

Given all of this though, my biggest gripe may be the tee box areas. You have pristine fairways, high quality signs, great DisCatcher baskets, and then loose packed gravel boxes. The alternate boxes have small rubber pads that are treacherous when wet. For some, this may not be a big deal, but play the majority of public Houck designed courses in Texas and you get used to playing on concrete pads. For me footing is as much a mental game as anything, and gravel just messes with me.

WORST HOLE/S: #14
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the Rolling Meadow course is superior to the drastically different Circ Hill course. The original course with its looping design, mix of distances, foliage levels, water features, and shot selections make it much more appealing than its brother. Granted, if you want elevation; Circ Hill has you covered, but if you want to enjoy the complete experience then look no further. The cons were just enough to doc it half a disc, but weigh them considerably to the much better pros. Once you've done that - and you live within 300 miles of here - get off your butt and make the pilgrimage. Get the camping gear and make a full weekend of it - it'll be worth your drive.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/10/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting that is a good bit different from the course next door on the Hill.

Hole one is another technical par 4 like on the Hill with distance not being key but instead proper placement being the way to get a birdie.

Hole 2 is a 275ft anhyzer through a pretty tough little gap.which is a good compliment to hole 1.

Hole 3 plays 230ft to a 35ft gap which you will hopefully hit leaving yourself another 300ft to the pin on the right.

Hole 4 plays as a low hyzer skip or high spike hyzer at 350ft with a group of low hanging trees protecting the basket and a large group to the left just off the tee.

hole 5-6-7 like on the hill are short technical holes with 5 being 250ft straight with a few tough trees and cacti to miss, 6 being 245ft anhyzer out of a gap with a few trees guarding the pin, and 7 being the signature "waterfall hole" at 180ft perched 10-15ft away from the creek on three sides.

8 is a par 4 where you throw an anhyzer off the tee avoiding the creek on the left with the approach being 250ft across the creek to the basket on a slight uphill slope.

Hole 9 is 270ft straight and a good bit uphill which finishes the front side of the course.

Hole 10 is a beautiful par 5 that plays 800ft+ with the fairway playing 480ft slightly downhill to a slight turn with the left side being protected by a heavy grove of trees.

Hole 11-13 are a few more linked birdie holes with 11 being a 270ft tight hyzer that is one of the easier holes on the course.

12 is a very tough 280ft anhyzer which is tight for the 1st 3/4 of the hole with the basket being tucked in to the right.

13 is a 240ft low hyzer with the basket on the crest of a rightward sloping hillside.

14 and 15 are tough par 4s with 14 playing as a tight hyxer to a landing area leaving a 350ft hyzer to the lightly guarded baskets.

15 plays as a compliment to 14 with the teeshot playing down a gradual opening fairway with rough on both sides. The approach leads to a basket on the right with trees short-right which force many to throw a sidearm.

16 is a 370ft hole with a tree halway down the fairway forcing an anhyser ling to the pin which resides under a large oak. Oh yeah OB creek on the left.

17 is a short 250ft LOW hyzer out of a gap and over the pond to a basket 40ft past the pond and 10ft uphill.

18 is another great finishing par 5 with the choice of playing safe on the 1st shot or going for a big anhyzer with trees if you come in short or early and a pond if you tail left. The 2nd shot is made with the hopes of being in the middle so you can play the next shot up the hill to the basket on the left.
Cons: Not too many cons about this event besides the fact we have rattlesnakes and cacti.
Other Thoughts: Still one of the coolest 2 courses I have played after 150+

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Super fun course with lots of shots that really reward you for good shots. This is the easier of the 2 courses in my book at least for a RHBH player because there are alot of hyzers and straight midrange shots. You are rewarded very nicely for a good accurate shot here. There are some boomers here but not as many as the hill. No places to lose plastic. Shoot well here to help out the score if playing both courses. Pro shop there but I heard they are closing it as of yesterday? Camping is fun and the tourneys when its open is well worth it.
Cons: Some pads are too worn but not as bad as the hill. Hot just like the hill. Doesnt seem very lefty friendly but that might be because I saw easy hyzers all weekend.
Other Thoughts: Bring everything you need because its to far from the parking lot.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best - Anywhere

5+    3/23/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The design of this course is what separates it from the rest. Every hole is well thought out, and will test your skill. A large number of 2-shot and 3-shot holes that are far more than just "long". The 1-shot holes are varied and well-conceived. Multiple tees are available on every hole, and they have been specially placed to meet various skill levels. This course is incredibly easy to walk around and is very relaxing. Looping nines allow a break at the clubhouse if you desire.

Edit: I wanted to add something that is often overlooked on courses. On this course, it is nearly impossible to lose a disc. This greatly adds to the "fun" side of the game, as you're dealing with mature trees and open space. No large patches of rough or evergreens. This is really an advantage of similarly "long" and "challenging" courses that have been carved out of dense schule, where you might spend half your time looking for discs.
Cons: Any cons are minor. There are few places to sit at the tees. No big deal for me, but might be for others. A couple creek crossings aren't quite suitable for ALL ages (or strollers), but aren't all that bad.
Other Thoughts: I haven't heard of a perfect course, so my 4.5 grade is as good as it gets. Certainly one of the top (if not THE top) courses out of the 100+ I have played.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Texas Jewel

5+    11/23/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: A beautiful place to beat friends. This course has a tremendous amount of character. Bring your A game or you will get beat down. It is joined with the CR Hill and Back 50 Courses. The property has camping, showers, and a club house.
Cons: Wish it was closer to my house

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the land

5+    3/15/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Full pro shop on site. Course flows well. Excellent balance of shot shape and distance. Multiple tees on most holes. Interesting terrain. Good signage. Good multi shot holes.
Cons: A 30 minute drive from Austin. Sometimes the water hazards don't have water in them.
Other Thoughts: It's the original home of "real" disc golf. That is, it's not just 18 par 3 holes. There are many multi-shot holes (par 4 or 5) and each one is different in its challenge. They aren't merely long holes for the sake of being long. This course requires you to think about each shot and how it will set up for the next shot. There are plenty of trees and interesting use of water on the course (when available).

A nice feature is that it's two loops of 9 holes. Like a ball gold course, you are brought back to the parking lot after the first 9 holes, which is nice if you need to restock your bag with discs, food or beverages.

The pro shop was remodeled in Spring 2008 as well as new signage installed.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.