Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX
Circle R - Rolling Meadow DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 161ft.   3 / 161ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Best Course in Texas Part II

5+    8/31/2006   8/31/2008
Review By: modestmusic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course, good equipment, nice staff, beautiful spring on a par 3 with cold, fresh water
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Amazing course...this, along with the Circ Hill course makeup the best place for disc that i have come to...we have been playing for 7 years and have never been somewhere better...

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Put on your must visit list

1    2/2/2003   8/2/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
15 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This facility is on my short list of the best of the best. It's a beautiful drive out from Austin to the ranch, John and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful, stocked pro-shop, camping on-site and two sweet courses make for a great day or two away from it all.

Of the two courses, I prefer the Meadows course to the Hill due to it's gentler look and easier hiking. The difficulty level for each set of tees is right on the money. John is among just a handful of designers who really get this concept.

Some may feel that the course is extremely long and difficult, but only if they've been indoctrinated by the all par 3's, pitch and putt mentality that is preached in many of the parks.

There are many outstanding holes on this course and some decent ones, but none that are bad.

The holes that stand out in my mind as exemplary are hole 1, 8, 12, 15, 17, and 18.

This course tests a lot of disc golf skills. Getting to play real golf on a exclusive use property is a wonderful thing.

Courses like this should be the starting point from which future disc golf courses evolve into even better facilities.
Cons: Some of the tees aren't the best. Some of the white and red tees are a bit difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, not great

1    7/31/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2008
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course to play. There are some pretty holes that are pretty challenging. The baskets are in good shape and the signs are good about giving you the par, the distance, and the pin location. There is a practice basket, pro shop, and even practice discs that you can use. I guess that you can even check them out to play your round with. I didn't get to see the pro shop or the practice discs because no one was there running the place. They just leave the gate open when they are not there I guess. There are alternate pin positions. Most of the tee pads are rubber, although some were missing and/or in bad shape. The rubber isn't bad, but concrete tee pads would make the course much more enjoyable.
Cons: A little tough to navigate, but not too bad as long as you have a map with you. All of the water was dried up at the end of July when I was there...not a drop. Those "pretty" holes aren't so pretty when it is just dirt with red flags to show you where the edge of the water is supposed to be. No waterfall either. You have to pay to play. Pretty far out of the way. I played this course just yesterday morning and as I think back on some of the holes, only a few stand out in my mind as being good holes. The rest are just too repetitive. I don't think that I'll make the trip out there to play again...unless I happen to be in Wimberley, TX for some reason.
Other Thoughts: If you make a long trip to go play here, go with a group and maybe camp out. If you make an event out of it, then it might be more fun. I played on a Thursday morning around 9 am and there was no one in the whole place...not even someone to run the pro shop. Another disc golfer finally arrived as I was getting ready to leave and he said that it is never busy in the daytime on weekdays. I guess that weekends are the busy times. I had built this course up in my mind to be something really great and it didn't quite meet my expectations for a course that you have to pay $10 to play and drive a long ways out of the way to get too.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great TX Disc Golf at Circle R

5+    5/11/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Awesome tee signs. Great course design making use of trees, mild hills, creeks and ponds. Apparently the creek and ponds are dry most of the time so the OB areas are strung with visible string and flags. Although the trees are plentiful there always seems to be a fair shot at the fairway for a well thrown disc. Long holes with realistic pars. The trees keep the course reasonably shaded which is a big "pro" in Texas heat. Good flow to the course. Nice markers indicating which direction to the next tee for each of the three tee types. Friendly staff working the on site Pro Shop. The blue (long) tees have great signage, a rubberized tee pad (all in good shape), and typically small flags.
Cons:
Couldn't find a couple red tees. Most tee pads need a better defined foot fault line. At one time there were ropes stretched across for that, but wear and tear has taken its toll on them. Poison ivy in lots of places. The white (mid) and red (short) tees sometimes lacked signage or flags marking their locations but were usually easy to find based on the main sign at the blue tee.
Other Thoughts:
We played the red tees on this course and thus were very conscious of looking for the red and white tees. We spent 10 minutes looking in vain for the red tee on #10. After playing a few holes I gave up throwing my driver and concentrated on mostly using a mid-range (Coyote) off the tee. I liked this course but did get a bit frustrated by the trees. That came to a head on #13 where I took a '5' on a 186ft hole after hitting trees on my first two shots! This course is obviously well played as the paths from one basket to the next tee are well worn leaving little doubt where to go next. Hole #7 would be really cool looking if there were water running over the little falls like the pictures on the website, but it was dry when we played.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 5 Star Course In The Texas Hill Country!

1    7/15/2004   3/10/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2009
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They say everything is bigger in Texas and this private course and it's sister course, the Circle R Circ Hill course, are certainly Texas sized. Bring your A game, a big arm and some liniment for your arm after playing both in the same day. Holes 1 and 18 are both 700-800 foot monster par 5's and there are five par fours on the course. There is a well equipped pro shop there ran by the disc golf loving owners with food for purchase.

Hole # 7 is my choice for the prettiest disc golf hole I've seen on any of the 120+ courses I've played. A 225 foot par three dogleg right with the basket sitting under some trees. What makes this so hole special is you have to throw over the cleanest, most crystal clear little stream I've ever seen, with a small waterfall and pool guarding the basket. The day I played, there was a group of five people soaking by the falls after playing on a hot July day.
Cons: It can be hot! It's rugged! Us weinies with below average arms are at a huge disadvantage. Dirt tee pads. It's Texas so lovely creeks can sometime dry up. There's a small fee to pay but it's well worth it and finally, it's a long wagon ride out into the Texas countryside to get here.
Other Thoughts: By all means, play both these courses. They're a lot like the Paw Paw courses in West Virginia. Privately owned, quite a distance from anywhere, designed by madmen and must plays for serious disc golfers.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.