Niles, MI 
Madeline Bertrand Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChick Hole #5 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket is around to the right. Many players try to throw through the V shaped tree. If you get into the trees straight ahead you run the risk of rolling down a hill.



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Old School (Updated 2013)

5+    7/5/2013   9/2/2012
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout - while it might be short it is a ton of fun.
- Some holes are very ace-able but because of pin and tee-pad layout many are not.
- Benches and trash cans at most tees. Didn't really keep track of exactly how many there were but it certainly seemed like more than enough.
- Unique holes (like 12) that play off of an elevated tee and throw over a small ravine which make play fun.
- Staff I encountered were pleasant and professional.
- This is set in a nice park which has oodles of walking trails.
- The baskets, while a little old are in great shape.
- Nice little pro-shop. Not something you see everyday. Too bad they only carry Innova discs but the prices seemed very reasonable.
- Fairly clean when I have played here. Seems that trash is picked up and taken care of for the most part.
- New in 2013 are all sorts of steps and erosion control measures in place all over the course. This is a much needed improvement. Very nicely done and kudos to the staff for getting it put into place.
- Tournaments...These are unsanctioned and there is no payout but they are a lot of fun. All sorts of door prizes handed out, lunch included and trophies for the top in each division.
Cons: - Pay to play - While this isn't really much of a con they do charge for parking AND for disc golf. If you come, bring a big carload and keep the cost per player down.
- If pay to play weren't annoying enough there is the wristband thing the park is doing. Every player is required to don a wristband and it has to go ON YOUR wrist. Completely unneeded IMHO and extraordinarily irritating. Two words Berrien County...BAG TAGS.
- Short. Very Very short. No place to really open up and rip it. Even with my noodle-arm that can only manage 300 to 320 there really aren't very many decent spots to let one go. Hole #1 is almost a joke with a dead-straight wide open shot at 180'. Yawn.
- Huge numbers of people play here. Not a big deal but some lessons in etiquette would be a big plus. Groups as large as 10
Other Thoughts: This is a very old course in terms of disc golf. While it is a fantastic layout it is an out-dated design. Even so, it is in many ways rather timeless since it is still challenging and fun to play.

if you are in the area hit this course up. It is worth the time and money IMHO. While it may not be an Idlewilde or a Flip City by any stretch it is truly unique disc golf experience. Try to avoid weekends and holidays and the crowds should be manageable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better

1    3/26/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through nice woods with enough trees and underbrush to punish errant shots, but not so much that you'll leave discs or blood behind. The course is mostly flat, with a couple holes using small elevation changes pretty well to add interest. Most holes call for accurate line shaping to stay out of the rough, it's a great place to work on short but accurate drives.

The baskets are in decent shape, and catch fine. The tees are nice concrete pads that are poured well and in good shape. I didn't see any trash, which is nice on a secluded wooded course like this. The course has the area to itself, with no interference from other park activities.
Cons: I'm usually the last person to complain about pay to play, I don't mind contributing a few bucks to play especially when it goes toward the course. I found it a little much here though, with a fee just to get into the park, and then another separate fee to play the course, it adds up to quite a bit. It doesn't seem like that money goes into the course, as 16 of the signs are missing leaving the course not numbered and a little hard to follow.

There's some nice land here, and I didn't feel like the design made the most of it. It gets really repetitive with lots of fairly short holes and similar lines, especially with how little elevation change there is. With this much money charged for each player, you'd expect a little more challenging and fun layout. On the holes that do have some elevation changes there are some major erosion issues, a wet day would be pretty slick out here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a really good time here. It will be challenging, but not overly so, with reasonable lengths and chances to recover from the rough. More experienced players won't find it terribly challenging, and won't find enough variety to keep it interesting for more than one round. Don't go out of your way to play this one, it's just not nearly exciting enough to justify both a park fee and the fee to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Not Great

2-4    9/7/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a heavily wooded course, but overtime it shows a lot of wear. a few fun holes, but many seem to be the same thing over and over. lots of locals come here, it is certainly the best in the area.
Cons: Several blind shots, directions are not always clear,but a shot off can easily be made up. lots of birdies.
Other Thoughts: locals were friendly and helpful and good players. the park office has many discs to buy...Innova surprizingly - I though Michign was Discraft country?

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lovely piece of land. It calls for a variety of shots. Left and right bends. Some simple and straight. Blind shots over trees with no view of the basket. Ravine shots. There were a couple of holes that were purty decent to look at. Twelve and thirteen come to mind. Elevation changes. Some nice shots down groves. Birdies all over. Ace runs all over. A nice walk through nature.
Cons: I was a bit taken aback by this place. Just seemed like some major wasted potential with such a great piece of property. This place plays terribly short for the majority of the holes. Having to tee off with a putter is generally not a good thing. And where are the course fees going? I was really surprised to see that there was no signage on the majority of the holes. I think I only saw a couple on the whole 18. Maybe due to the short nature of the holes, the designer didn't feel they needed sign posts with footage and a general notion of pin placement. There is just no length here. Claustrophobia.
Other Thoughts: Okay. I had fun here. I enjoy the game. Nearly anywhere. It is just that I feel that paying to play better be a pretty sweet experience. This place was beautiful for a walk in the woods, but the disc golf course was not very inspiring. I think this course may have been designed back in 1985 when players were using big red wham-o frisbees or something. I wonder if they can utilize more of the land at this park for a more modern, longer, and more challenging course. Not bad, just a touch disappointing.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bertrand

5+    12/16/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Awesome wooded course, with many strategically placed trees waiting to ruin your day.
-A variety of holes, many having a unique feel.
-Great use of available elevation.
-Good pro shop with a wide selection of discs. Usually friendly people working there.
-Course demands a reasonable amount of accuracy, hyzer/anhyzer shots. Several ace runs.
-Amenities are top-notch: super-awesome putting practice area; good-sized cement tees in outstanding condition; well-maintained/clean restrooms; drinks and snacks on sale; recycling/trash cans throughout course; score-card/pencils available in pro-shop.
Cons: -Pay-to-play: $4. Parking: county residents pay $3, out-of-county $5! Very steep prices, although yearly passes minimize the hit on your pocketbook if you play somewhat regularly.
-Missing tee signs on several holes seems inexcusable given the high costs.
-Closed in winter for x-country skiing.
-Course flow for the most part is outstanding, although it can be tricky in one or two places if you are unfamiliar with the course. Missing signs exacerbate this problem, but it isn't too bad: just be sure to pick up a score-card at the shop, if only for the map.
- A few of the shorter holes seem repetitive. 200' hyzers to the basket get old after a while.
-The course can become pretty crowded.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, for the price you pay to get in and park, this course does not deliver. Definitely a fun course, but not having the missing signs replaced after a year really makes you wonder where your fees are going. Most of the people in the pro shop are okay, but occasionally you'll run into someone who is downright rude.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 compared to local courses

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun, works on your accuracy more than anything
a mid/putter type of course, in hindsight i kinda like the blind holes, but its tough when you dont know where they're at
best "shop' around, and its nothing to brag about
Cons: hard to navigate, almost have to see the "local homeboy route"
lots of repeat holes - rhbh hyzers
rather short
Other Thoughts: i'd like it more if it was closer, seems those that play there only play there...
least played course for me locally, many reasons

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.