Niles, MI 
Madeline Bertrand Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChick Hole #7 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
View from the tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 My first and favorite

5+    8/25/2008   3/7/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent pro-shop. Large disc selection. Friendly people. Scorecards with course maps available. Drinks & snacks for sale. Bathrooms & water fountain. There's even a water bowl at the pro-shop for your dog.
Cement tees. Beautiful wooded area, so as the seasons change it feels like the course does too. Recycle bins on the course (trash cans too). Benches at at least 4 holes. Signs at most holes.
Cons: I play in shorts quite a bit, and though I've never had a problem here with poison oak or poison ivy, watch out for the pricker bushes.
Other Thoughts: Some may have issues with the pay to park and pay to play, but when I look at how well kept the park is I figure I get what I'm paying for. Also, season passes are available for parking and for playing. If you're going to play the course more than 6 or 7 times in the season buy the pass and you will soon be throwing for free on a really nice course.

It's a well planned course. The next tee is usually within sight of the last basket. No crossing fairways. Unless you count the elevated tee at 13 that has you throw over the tee for 7.

The people that throw here are genuinely friendly and often encouraging. Slow groups let faster ones play through. I've had strangers tromp through the woods with me trying to find an errant disc.

It was my first course and is still my favorite.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Wooded!

5+    11/24/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good pro shop, very friendly people! Well groomed course and taken care of. Short holes with trees all around except for a few that have some distance past 300'. Hole #16 has a fun tree obstacle right in front of the teepad that everyone hits at least once! :-) Also a nice place for biking, hiking, and having famly events due to a big outdoor shelter area.
Cons: I find it expensive to play here, 3 dollars to park, 4 to play I think it was? So pile in all of your discing buddies! In the discing season it tends to get kinda crowded with families and such trying to play so takes a little while to complete
Other Thoughts: First tournament was played here and I placed 6th and only had been playing for about 1 month :-). Was about 10 strokes behind someone that had been playing for years! Very good tournament around november I think it was if anyone around the area wants to check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 short and wooded

5+    10/16/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 297  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets and cement tees.Discs for sale in the park office. It's a typical Steady Ed course from the mid 80's.

Trash cans are located near almost every tee area. Very clean county park.

Very easy to follow, the next tee is fairly close to the previous basket. No map is needed.


Cons: Not worth the entrance fee, pay to play...
$3 to park, $2 for DG.

Very short and technical, plenty of holes under 200 feet. Beginner friendly if not for the tight shots required.

Tee signs need upgrading, most are missing. Years ago it was only 9 holes during winter since cross country skiing took priority.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course ever, 23 years and 228 courses later, it will always be special in my mind. Don't go out of your way for this one, go play Rum Village in SB or Wilson in Mishawaka instead.

More discs for sale can be found at the archery/billards store on hiway 31 and the Ind/Mich state line road.





0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    6/13/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: djext1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park makes excellent use of the small strip of land this course sits on. The course offers a variety of shots to let you play every shot in your bag, except maybe big arms. It's pretty much a bunny hop course for most seasoned players, yet it's still very fun.

The park staff are some of the best i have encountered, very friendly, very helpful. They truly seem to care about their course. It's not uncommon for staff to do quick walkthroughs of the course (check for non-payers, illegal activities, etc) and sweep off dirty tee's or clear stuff off fairways.

There is a pro shop filled with mostly Innova, but does have a variety of weights/colors to choose from.
Cons: No real open holes that can put a big arm to work. Everything here is 300' or less. Mind you, most holes are still technical and require at least some accuracy, but still 300' or less.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to take a trip out to. We get a season pass (which if you play just a few times a year is worth it) and play quite a bit at this course. We enjoy the staff, the park, and the course. I really wish they would consider putting in another 18 holes on the property, or at least adding a few more holes to give some open, big arm holes a shot.

I always recommend this course locally, as the staff of this park have my full respect. Be sure to check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/26/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Older course always in great condition. Concrete pads. Nice people in pro shop. Short holes but still challenging. Good course for any level.
Cons: Since it's older, just not enough length to justify a higher rating. Can get pretty busy, so a course that should take an hour at most, can take longer at times.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play, lots of deuces and ace runs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.