Panama City, FL 
Florida State University Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #8 (Taken 11/2014)
2 / 118ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
A short ace run course

1    11/20/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 81  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.133 Rating) A super short 18 hole course.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are aceable, You will have great opportunities on the pars 2s. You are probably 5 time more likely to ace here than at a normal course. Great place for a junior player to get a first ace.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 18 in under 45 minutes. groups of 4 will probably finish in under two hours, perhaps even an hour and a half.
- NAVIGATION - super easy to navigate. There's a course map at hole one. In addition, Hole signage has next tee indications on them. Perfect for the disc golf bag stroller as well.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low. There is the bay but it really only comes into play for seasoned players on hole 9. If the tide is up and you grip lock one, I guess it would be possible to leave a souvenir.
- MAINTENANCE - The course appears to be constantly trimmed and manicured. There was very little trash spotted despite a lack of trash cans.
- TEE PADS - They are all concrete and are generously long for what one will need. Well above average in my opinion.
Cons: The course is a tight fit for 18.
- UNIQUENESS - - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. The course is extremely short, shorter than nearby Ferry in Fort Walton, Florida. Other than hole 9, many players will just need a putter. hole 9 is the only hole over 300 feet. There really aren't any true doglegs. no hole twists even a little bit, perhaps one is 10 degrees. there are no blind baskets. There are a few windows to hit. and a few holes that are guarded by trees. There is the bay that plays along the edge of the course. But as a 900 rated player I only felt tested by the water on hole 9.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPERATION - There are numerous occurrences where the basket and next tee are perilously close. Several times they are separated by less than 30 feet.
- SPACING - Well below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs will constantly end in other fairways. Black aces probably happen a lot comparatively. In addition, if the course were full of players, you would be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
- DIFFICULTY - Too short and not a challenge to advanced/pro level players. Advanced players should have no problem being well under course par. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish below par.
- CHARACTER - The FSU course is probably about slightly below average in terms of character. There is a nice course map at hole 1, there is good hole signage, a few of the tees are well shaded. Probably the biggest thing that's missing is seating and trash cans. There is also no practice area, multiple pin placements or bag holders that you'd see at your older established courses.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees and location on the bay edge, wind will be an issue. I was greeted with 30 mph gusts. I played another panama city course right after this one and the wind speed seemed cut in half.
- LOCATION - Course is a trek to get to from the interstate highway system. A good 45 minutes from I10
Other Thoughts: An adequate course for those living within 5-10 miles. A great Beginner Course due to the low amount of hazards and overgrowth. Probably worth a look see if you've vacationing in panama city, have access to a car and are looking for a laid back round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short18

2-4    11/2/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: 999Jimbo999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very short course. Perfectly maintained. Easy to follow lay out. Great for the new players.
Cons: Overall course is too short.
Other Thoughts: Would score this course as "perfect" if there were a couple of longer par 4's. Overall, a great experience.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice little sleepy course by the ocean

1    7/10/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ocean view
well maintained
easy access
easy to follow layout with great signs
par 2 holes a one throw challenge...all or nothing
Cons: college campus...students or functions may get in the way.
short layout...space seem crammed into small area
par 2 98 foot hole one a bad start to a course for many players
not a course for advanced players
Other Thoughts: nice little course with par 2 challenges I have never played anywhere else...great course for beginners to learn the game.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/1/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: Bandit 01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: WELL MAINTAINED. NICE FACILITES. WELL MARKED WITH SIGNS. WIDE RANGE OF EASY AND DIFFICULT HOLES FOR PEOPLE THAT ARE NOT AS WELL CONTROLLED WITH SHOTS.
Cons: THE ONLY PROBLEM I CAN FIND IS ON DAYS WHEN WIND IS BLOWING FROM THE SOUTH TO THE NORTH AKA FROM PARKING LOTS TOWARD BAY. YOU HAVE A VERY GOOD CHANCE OF LOOSING DISCS IN THE WATER. OR AS WE SAY YOUR DISC WILL BE SLEEPING WITH THE FISHES.
Other Thoughts: WORKING ON AN ALTERNATE COURSE SETTING FOR THE COURSE TO GIVE IT SOME CHALLENGE.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick 18

5+    1/17/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: G8rman78
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept course along the bay. There are some beautiful sunsets to enjoy while playing in the evening. It's fun, but not overly difficult. It can be easily played in Under an hour and if you have not time you can get more rounds. Nice layout that good through parts of the campus.
Cons: There aren't too many opportunities to throw long drives. There are several par 2 holes. Make a mistake here and you will pay. If you aren't careful you will be wading in the bay to retrieve your discs. I know...I've done it plenty. The wind can be vicious at times. The last 3 can be be looked at as negatives, but I consrist then more as challenges.
Other Thoughts: If your staying at the beach and need a fix this is the closest course. With playing for sure!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun

2-4    7/3/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful views and a scenic layout. Plays very quickly and very clean. Well organized and some really friendly folks.
Cons: Plays like the equivalent of a normal golf par 3 course. Very fun for beginners or to try for aces.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course with kids in a heartbeat. Really cool place.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Shots rewarded!

1    3/9/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: KC4KAA
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good scenery well kept , well marked tee pads course was easy to find, good for beginners some seasoned players might find it too easy... Then the wind kicks up!!!
Cons: Very short extremely windy
Other Thoughts: Most holes have ace potential

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/28/2014   12/28/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 139  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is set right on the bay and has probably the best setting for playing disc golf. Clear water, spanish moss, palm trees, and white sand.
-The course plays in a figure-8 with holes 9 and 18 playing finishing near the parking lot.
-The baskets were great and the signs were excellent. All signs contained informative maps and distances.
-Water comes into play on 17 holes (the exception being hole 12). Unfortunately most of it is incidental as it either lines the side of the fairway or is a trap for the shot that goes long. I wish there were more water carries than the small drainage pond on 11 and 18. With some clearing a shot over the cause way behind 4's basket would add some intrigue.
Cons: -Easy, easy, easy. The perfect course if you are new to the game and it will boost the confidence of the more experienced disc golfer.
-We played on a Sunday during winter break and there were no bathrooms or a water source.
-Close quarters. We had discs flying by us from other groups and had to wait several times for groups that were not even on our hole. You can literally stand by hole 9's basket and see all baskets from the front 9.
Other Thoughts: I really wish that I could rate this course higher, unfortunately it just left me wanting. You see the potential in this course on holes 4, 9, and 18 and even a 12 hole course like that would be better than all the ace runs here. For what it lacks in difficulty, you will be hard pressed to find a prettier course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the most scenic courses in Florida

2-4    12/1/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: domromer
Played: 80  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, scenic course, that's worth checking out if you are in the area.
Cons: Must be crazy on a busy days. Many pads and baskets are very close.
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course. I'd try to play it during a time when school is on break.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bayside Campus Course, sans AC and Zach

1    11/8/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 103  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 4.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting for Florida State University Panama City's DGC is a unique combination: it plays through and alongside a small college campus that sits directly on a sliver of beach on a picturesque bay. This brings both campus structures and water hazards into play, an interesting amalgamation of man-made and natural obstacles. Trees are in abundance too, and while the course is far from wooded, there's more than enough of them to direct your shots and force some modest line shaping.

The best holes here combine low ceilings, tighter windows, and incidental water hazards (4,9), more direct water carry and guarded pins (17), multiple small sprawling oaks to navigate under or around (11), or a big shot over trees to reach a pin that is dramatically located in the campus center (18). The focus beyond that is on challenging ace runs and birdie tries at shorter distances; most of the holes are well under 200 ft.

Navigation is easy and the course plays quickly. Concrete tees are nicely done, and the course is well-signed. Parking is ample. There are a few decks overlooking the bay that provide some nice views. Grooming seems great.
Cons: This course is one of those instances where I don't understand why the designers would feel the need to put in 18 holes. There's some real potential in the combination of buildings, trees, and water hazards here - in addition to the bay there's a small pond at one end of the course and an avoid-at-all-costs drainage ditch at the other - that could make for a very fine 9 or even 12 holes. But putting in 18 required some shoehorning, leading to a majority of holes that are short, sometimes awkwardly so, and with little to offer beyond the prospect of an ace. Holes like 9, which is imposing up the gut and to the water-bordered left but has an enjoyably-challenging RHBH hyzer route if you can stay low to the ground, demonstrate the potential here, but unfortunately that potential is largely unfulfilled due to the choice to fit in 18 holes. The result severely limits the course's appeal: at present it strikes me as a strickly beginner course with a few longer holes that are suited for experienced players. In an area with few disc golf options, a course with wider appeal to players seems like it would have been the better choice.

This course has significant potential to conflict with non-disc golfers. Much of the back 9 crosses through campus, weaving around buildings and alongside walkways. I imagine it'd be hard to comfortably play the full course on days when class is in session, although perhaps this is not the case given the very small nature of the school. On the overcast Saturday I played my round not a student was in sight, unless that student was playing disc golf.
Other Thoughts: FSU's course has some nice holes, but so many short ones got repetitive for me. If I was to play here regularly I'd probably camp out at the few holes that I enjoyed the most, such as 4, 9, and 18. The course is worth a visit if you're in the area - it's a well-maintained course in a pretty setting, and it plays quickly if you're time-crunched - but I don't see it as a course I would play on a regular basis.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.