Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee: Short hole, basket on the right of the two trees in distance



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Micky Dís! You Want Fries With That?

1    7/25/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety and has some nice vegetation. This course has open holes, wooded holes, good pin placements, and has a great maintained setting. This place was really nice. I liked the variety of hole lengths. There is nothing real long, but they mixed it up pretty well. The equipment is in great shape. There are concrete tee pads, the baskets are nice, and they have new tee pads have what you need. This place has a huge parking lot, a good message board, and they flowered up the first hole (See the media tab for picture of hole 1). For the most part, the navigation is pretty easy.
Cons: There isn't much as far as elevation is concerned. Like other have said, there are a few holes that feel like they put them there just to connect the better holes. It was dry the day I was there, but you could tell this place will hold some water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I really enjoyed playing here and I would easily play this again. I can't mention enough how well maintained this park is and how beautiful the entire park is Thanks Conroe!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Conroe's finest

5+    4/8/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Out in the sticks. Plenty of foliage, trees. Good variety of holes. You can tell this was all peoples backyards in the past. Little rosebushes and nicely landscaped trees highlight the course throughout
Cons: Out in the sticks. Have heard bad things about the dude in the house on hole # 3. Stay away. 1 particular hole on the backside has a row of trees you have to throw through in order to reach the basket - that needs to be changed
Other Thoughts: I like McDade. had my 3rd ace there on the old # 18. Guess noone will be able to again say they aced that hole!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course of North Houston

5+    6/6/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of holes, They did the best they could with the relatively flat terrain. Good mixture of lengths, and a lot of different shots will occur. I also like concrete tees. It's an enjoyable course to walk through as well, very nice and well shaded most of the time. You deffinitely get a chance to air your discs out every now and then. Also, I love the practice put backet before #1. There also is not many water hazards, so leave the snorkel and fins at home. Flow of the course makes a lot of sense after you've played it once.
Cons: it is flat. can be crowded. first time I played got a little confused on hole order.Deffinitely needs some new signage all around the course.
Other Thoughts: holes #2 and #3 through the woods kinda leave you catching up on your score the rest of the game.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  #1 on my List

5+    4/24/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: grrlDGr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty clean. Never crowded. Only one water hazard, a variety of throwing difficulties. Oh, and it's free.
Cons: Floods after a good/moderate rain.
Other Thoughts: New #2 and #3. Old #3 #18 were removed to install a new playground. Whatever... the old playground was removed from a different location and they put the new one in the way of the course. Anyways, the course still rocks otherwise.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Played new tee/pin positions

1    3/26/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varied course with a few wide open holes so I was able to get some power training. Great set up overall and wooden walkways over the ditches/creeks. You can tell the course is well taken care of.
Cons: Had to pause for some joggers, but no big deal. First hole is set alongside the San Jac River, it's intimidating for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I never played the old tee/pin postitions, so I have no basis for comparison. Long walk throughout the 18, but we caught a beautiful day, so no complaints.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs in Houston area

5+    7/22/2009   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course with lots of great holes! It doesnt look like the Houston area when you get here because of the big trees and just the feel. The grass is something that I always think of when I tell people about this course for some reason. Like said before the upkeep is nice and there is plenty of amenities throughout the park. The technical aspect of this course always has me singing high praise because if you dont throw good shots your score will skyrocket quickly! There is no elevation here but the quality of the shots in and out of the woods make up for it. Most of the shots make you think about the placement because the greens are protected just enough that if your just off a bit and you could find something in your way on your putt.
Cons: Can be a little confusing for first timers and even for those that played the course before the redesign. I also agree with others that state that some of the "brush" could be cleaned a little. Other then that I didnt have any issues with the houses or anything else!
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop on your way to/from the Houston area and should be played if in the area for sure. Enjoy

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course & Great Shade in the Summer Sun!

2-4    6/19/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: McDade Park is beautifully maintained with bathroom facilities, a shaded playground area, pavilion, and trashcans located on most holes. The grass is well kept and there are quality bridges traversing any gully areas.

The park also has a lot of old growth throughout the course, so there is ample shade to keep cool under during the hot summer days. The abundant foliage also provides many challenging shots throughout the course. A great example is the redesigned holes #2, & #3. These two holes, although not officially marked yet, are at least 300'+ of multiple tight alleys reminiscent of River Grove DGC or Jack Brooks Course #2 that force a player to be very accurate or risk playing pinball in the woods. The two new holes are pound for pound probably the toughest holes on the course.

Overall, the course is one of the more difficult courses in the greater Houston area, but still plays fair to all skill levels. Even though there are no elevation changes to speak of, the large concrete tees (12' long by 7' in the back and 5' in the front) coupled with a good variety of distance, shot selection, and tree cover make this one of the best courses in the area.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #6
Cons: Due to the redesigned hole layouts, the beautifully done stone tee markers are now incorrect. This may be a good excuse to give these an update too, since idiots who have made aces have left their names and dates on the stones.

It could be argued that a few holes are too cluttered (i.e. #14, #16, & #17), and need to be trimmed back a little bit to make better windows on the fairways. However, these tight shots force players to be very accurate, which to many can be a positive.

The general course layout is also a bit confusing. Holes #1 and #18 are far apart from each other, and the redesign has only compounded the problem. Some of the course flow is also a bit weird around hole #6; so just remember to print off a map, since you can't rely on the tee markers being completely accurate. Also, due to the amount of construction still going on in the park, the parking lot by hole #1 was closed off to us, forcing everyone to park in the lot closer to #18.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: McDade Park is simply beautiful and I enjoyed playing the newly redesigned course. I also like that the difficulty rating has increased with the new hole additions. McDade forced me to be on my game from the very start, and with frustration building at my inconsistencies, I know that making even an experienced player work for every shot is what any good course should do.

Being way up in Conroe, McDade feels like a good distance to drive, but it's certainly worth it to anyone in the Houston area. In addition, the course is only ten or fifteen minutes from Gwen Hruska Park, Bear Branch Park, and Terramont Park in the Woodlands area, so players also have the opportunity to play multiple decent disc golf courses in the same vicinity.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem In Conroe

1    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful well maintained park housing excellent facilities for basketball, beach volleyball, baseball.... and let us not forget a great disc golf course as well. Full of large mature trees providing excellent shade and ascetics, this is one of the prettier parks in the Houston area. The course offers a wide variety of holes ranging from hole #1 a wide open 400+ footer along the San Jacinto river to hole #5 a 153 foot precision shot through dense trees, this course has just about everything. As mentioned before the concrete tee boxes are great and the stone tee markers are quite nice (since the course re-design some of these signs seem to have been misplaced). The community of Conroe has really embraced disc golf and it shows in the way they maintain and have updated this course. The course was just updated recently and the three new holes are excellent.
Cons: As some other reviewers have already mentioned, it is imperative to be wary of the disc golf hating neighbor who resides along what is now hole 4 and I believe 10. Other than that I really don't have much else to gripe about when it comes to this course. I will agree that 17 (used to be 14) can be a crap shoot but other than that I think every hole is fair and fun.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the three best courses in the Houston area IMHO and with its recent update it has gotten even better. If I have one thing I can say I truly dislike about this course it is that I didn't find out about it earlier. It is a gem.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  WBDGW

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: nibowl
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lush green vegitation
- Cement tee pads
- Well marked
- Solid variation of distance and technical challenges
Cons: - Long drive from Houston
- Park is under some construction
- Residences within reach of throwing errors
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was really quite unexpected in how fun it was to play. The amenities are numerous from the cement tee pads to the stone hole numbers. The park itself has a good amount of trees and I would suspect it is one of the shadier courses during a hot Texas summer. Many of the holes are birdie capable for those with big drives. However, most of those opportunities come with having to negotiate trees. They recently revamped the course and added in two holes to make up for some of their space being taken by park expansion. The two new holes are excellent in my opinion and add a bit of technicality to an otherwise straightforward course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great North Houston Course

1    2/28/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An easy to follow layout with large concrete tee pads and excellent signage gives this course a truely professional feel. From long holes of 400' or more, to tight finesse shots as short as 158' this course will proivde challenges for everyone.

Unique basket placements add to challenge, and there is minimal opportunity for pedestrian or general park use to interfere with a round.

Course begins and ends very near the the parking lot. There are ample garbage cans, and the restrooms are located right near the first tee.
Cons: There has been significant growth on a couple of holes since they were first installed. Some of the shots seem significantly tighter than they were initially intended to be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.