Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A visitor's take on McDade

1    2/1/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The best place to start with the pros is the parking lot...ample parking, with a nice park board, a park guy pulled up right behind us with the map for the redesign. Behind that is a beautiful practice pit complete with a 10m? ring and several blocks at different distances to practice putting.
-The teepads were also really nice, big trapezoidal tees with a landscaped dedication at the first hole.
-Nice bridges by holes 6 and 17.
-Many good holes here. 1 is a great starting hole, nice and long with OB on either side. 2 and 3 were the best holes on the course in my opinion, both longish, heavily wooded and fairly tight, the kind of holes that you want to throw hard and go for the shot, but that you should layup on and play for placement. Other notable holes were 17, which has a tight hyzer line on the right side of the fairway to take and if you don't make it you are behind a wall of trees. Hole 13 is a nice placement type (risk/reward) hole with some nasty rough on the right side.
-Good variety here, some nice anhyzers and hyzers, but alot of the hole had both lines available which was nice.
-The rough was nice and punishing, if you got in you had to make a nice shot out to save par. It really forced you to play the smart shot rather than going for it full speed all the time.
Cons: -Tee signs were a lackluster and had wrong hole numbers on them according to the layout sheet.
-As with almost all the courses down here, the land was flat as a board.
-Navigation was a bit tricky and the layout is a little bit odd. For instance 5 (I think) plays into the woods then you walk back toward the tee and 50' over from it and even with it was the next tee pad. Also 18 ends a ways from the parking lot.
-My biggest beef with the course was that I felt there were a few holes that "got you to the next good one" and some of these holes 12 and 14 were these holes especially. These were pretty much holes to throw a putter straight with no real danger on them and 12 seemed like a major segway hole to 13 which was a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought the course offered some nice holes with some decent variety. For the out-of-towner or the day tripping Houstonian it's a good place for a warm up round for Shawshank.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs in Houston area

5+    7/22/2009   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course with lots of great holes! It doesnt look like the Houston area when you get here because of the big trees and just the feel. The grass is something that I always think of when I tell people about this course for some reason. Like said before the upkeep is nice and there is plenty of amenities throughout the park. The technical aspect of this course always has me singing high praise because if you dont throw good shots your score will skyrocket quickly! There is no elevation here but the quality of the shots in and out of the woods make up for it. Most of the shots make you think about the placement because the greens are protected just enough that if your just off a bit and you could find something in your way on your putt.
Cons: Can be a little confusing for first timers and even for those that played the course before the redesign. I also agree with others that state that some of the "brush" could be cleaned a little. Other then that I didnt have any issues with the houses or anything else!
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop on your way to/from the Houston area and should be played if in the area for sure. Enjoy

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course & Great Shade in the Summer Sun!

2-4    6/19/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: McDade Park is beautifully maintained with bathroom facilities, a shaded playground area, pavilion, and trashcans located on most holes. The grass is well kept and there are quality bridges traversing any gully areas.

The park also has a lot of old growth throughout the course, so there is ample shade to keep cool under during the hot summer days. The abundant foliage also provides many challenging shots throughout the course. A great example is the redesigned holes #2, & #3. These two holes, although not officially marked yet, are at least 300'+ of multiple tight alleys reminiscent of River Grove DGC or Jack Brooks Course #2 that force a player to be very accurate or risk playing pinball in the woods. The two new holes are pound for pound probably the toughest holes on the course.

Overall, the course is one of the more difficult courses in the greater Houston area, but still plays fair to all skill levels. Even though there are no elevation changes to speak of, the large concrete tees (12' long by 7' in the back and 5' in the front) coupled with a good variety of distance, shot selection, and tree cover make this one of the best courses in the area.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #6
Cons: Due to the redesigned hole layouts, the beautifully done stone tee markers are now incorrect. This may be a good excuse to give these an update too, since idiots who have made aces have left their names and dates on the stones.

It could be argued that a few holes are too cluttered (i.e. #14, #16, & #17), and need to be trimmed back a little bit to make better windows on the fairways. However, these tight shots force players to be very accurate, which to many can be a positive.

The general course layout is also a bit confusing. Holes #1 and #18 are far apart from each other, and the redesign has only compounded the problem. Some of the course flow is also a bit weird around hole #6; so just remember to print off a map, since you can't rely on the tee markers being completely accurate. Also, due to the amount of construction still going on in the park, the parking lot by hole #1 was closed off to us, forcing everyone to park in the lot closer to #18.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: McDade Park is simply beautiful and I enjoyed playing the newly redesigned course. I also like that the difficulty rating has increased with the new hole additions. McDade forced me to be on my game from the very start, and with frustration building at my inconsistencies, I know that making even an experienced player work for every shot is what any good course should do.

Being way up in Conroe, McDade feels like a good distance to drive, but it's certainly worth it to anyone in the Houston area. In addition, the course is only ten or fifteen minutes from Gwen Hruska Park, Bear Branch Park, and Terramont Park in the Woodlands area, so players also have the opportunity to play multiple decent disc golf courses in the same vicinity.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Conroe's cranky neighbors

5+    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Variety of shots. Big beautiful trees. Well maintained park with facilities. Quiet, shaded, tee signs with distances. Water barely comes into play on 2 holes.
Cons: There are houses which are pretty much ON the course. I had one errant throw that landed in their front yard on the edge of their flower bed. I quickly strolled over to retrieve it, and exited just as fast. This was not the fenced yard and there was no signs here. I still heard voices from INSIDE the house, discussing their disdain. It did not damage anything and I don't see the harm in this at all. If the people hate the sport so much, why don't they move. I would LOVE to have a disc golf course across the street from my house! Especially one of this caliber.
Other Thoughts: It has been 3 or 4 years since I played this, before the other day, so the new holes were a little more difficult than the rest of the course. I did get a little lost with the new configuration. I miss living close to this course. I'd play here everyday. I can't wait to go back.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem In Conroe

1    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful well maintained park housing excellent facilities for basketball, beach volleyball, baseball.... and let us not forget a great disc golf course as well. Full of large mature trees providing excellent shade and ascetics, this is one of the prettier parks in the Houston area. The course offers a wide variety of holes ranging from hole #1 a wide open 400+ footer along the San Jacinto river to hole #5 a 153 foot precision shot through dense trees, this course has just about everything. As mentioned before the concrete tee boxes are great and the stone tee markers are quite nice (since the course re-design some of these signs seem to have been misplaced). The community of Conroe has really embraced disc golf and it shows in the way they maintain and have updated this course. The course was just updated recently and the three new holes are excellent.
Cons: As some other reviewers have already mentioned, it is imperative to be wary of the disc golf hating neighbor who resides along what is now hole 4 and I believe 10. Other than that I really don't have much else to gripe about when it comes to this course. I will agree that 17 (used to be 14) can be a crap shoot but other than that I think every hole is fair and fun.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the three best courses in the Houston area IMHO and with its recent update it has gotten even better. If I have one thing I can say I truly dislike about this course it is that I didn't find out about it earlier. It is a gem.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  WBDGW

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: nibowl
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lush green vegitation
- Cement tee pads
- Well marked
- Solid variation of distance and technical challenges
Cons: - Long drive from Houston
- Park is under some construction
- Residences within reach of throwing errors
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was really quite unexpected in how fun it was to play. The amenities are numerous from the cement tee pads to the stone hole numbers. The park itself has a good amount of trees and I would suspect it is one of the shadier courses during a hot Texas summer. Many of the holes are birdie capable for those with big drives. However, most of those opportunities come with having to negotiate trees. They recently revamped the course and added in two holes to make up for some of their space being taken by park expansion. The two new holes are excellent in my opinion and add a bit of technicality to an otherwise straightforward course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great North Houston Course

1    2/28/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An easy to follow layout with large concrete tee pads and excellent signage gives this course a truely professional feel. From long holes of 400' or more, to tight finesse shots as short as 158' this course will proivde challenges for everyone.

Unique basket placements add to challenge, and there is minimal opportunity for pedestrian or general park use to interfere with a round.

Course begins and ends very near the the parking lot. There are ample garbage cans, and the restrooms are located right near the first tee.
Cons: There has been significant growth on a couple of holes since they were first installed. Some of the shots seem significantly tighter than they were initially intended to be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    3/9/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Lots of trees, and scenery makes this one of the nicest course in the Houston area. Great mix of short and long holes. A few tight fairways, as well as several holes that are nice and wide open. Several ace runs on this course, as well as lots of holes where you can just "rip it" and let it fly. Also a nice mix of terminal holes thrown in as well. River comes into play in #1 making this hole more of a challenge. New holes #2 and #3 add a new challenge to this already great course.
Cons: A little hard to navigate for first timers. Can get a little crowded at times. Watch out for the house near hole number # 12. The guy in the house hates disc golf, so make sure you keep your disc off his property.
Other Thoughts: This course is a ways from Houston, but worth the drive. One of my favorite courses to play. I don't get to play it that often, but when I do, I have a great time. If you are going to play this course , make sure you skip the park entrance, and take a right at the next street. Use that parking lot. The #18 basket is right there, so if you park there, and walk to hole #1, when you are done playing, you don't have to walk that far back to the car.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees everywhere

5+    8/30/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete tee pads. Baskets in good shape. Decent signage and worn-in paths for navigating course makes it easy for first timers. Lots of trees necessitating accuracy. Ample parking. Minimal pedestrian interference. Occasional trash cans. Good mix of hyzer & anhyzer shots. A couple short holes offer ace runs for almost anybody. For a pro player with a great drive it's possible to birdie every hole out here.
Cons:
Cranky neighbor. Some distances unreadable on tee signs. Hole #17 (old #14) is more luck than skill. The trees have grown up into a wall that takes random luck to get through.
Other Thoughts:
This is a really nice course with a lot of technical holes, mostly because of trees and street OB's. Personally I would trade a couple of the overly-tree-filled holes for some longer holes where you can air it out. The longest hole is just over 400'.

The course is located on a flood plain from which previously flooded houses have been removed. Almost no evidence of this exists and the park is in good shape. There is some current construction on new facilities like a pavilion and restrooms that will make it even nicer.

The tournament I played there was "chaperoned" by a Parks & Rec employee to make sure the players respected the "No Trespassing" signs posted by a neighbor who is not a fan of disc golfers. Please make a good impression and respect his wishes.

UPDATE: this course was redesigned in May 2009. Old #2 changed baskets. Old #17 and #18 are gone. Two new holes were added and all holes with the exception of #1 were renumbered.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 McDade

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun wooded course. The challenge out here is technical as opposed to distance related. With tall trees in this pretty city park there are plenty of tight lines and small holes. There are plenty of trashcans and facilities available so packing trash isn't something you have to worry about. Hole distance goes from as low as 150 feet to as long as 400, but the 400 footers definitely play long with all of the obstacles. Most of the holes are realistic and the lines that you should aim for are clearly defined, but there are a few exceptions. Lefties and righties should both be equally challenged as the course is well balanced. Bring your backhands, forehands, tomahawks, thumbers, pancakes, rollers, and a perfect putter and you will have no problem :).
Cons: As mentioned earlier, there are some holes that are nearly non-existent where you just throw and pray. A couple holes have some water which can eat discs if you shank a shot, but it isn't much of a problem. Although the course is well marked, there are a few places that can be a little tricky to find the next hole on your first time out. I also wished there were a few more chances to reach back and throw your hardest. The only other negative I can think of is that one of the course's neighbors (near hole 2 and 8) is very anti disc golfer and has supposedly threatened to shoot at golfers on his property.
Other Thoughts: To balance the angry disc golf hater man, the city is very pro-DG. It is an active park with a lot of casual players. There are even signs on the roads pointing out which exit to take to get to the disc golf course!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.