Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket is slightly off to the left in distance past the trees



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    12/27/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course surprised me in a number of good ways. For one the course is nestled in a very gorgeous park that is very fun to walk around.
-The concrete tee pads are HUGE and perfect. The course signs are all great and has exactly what you would need in a course sign. The baskets are also in great shape.
-There are a good number of longer open shots to short technical shots. The course does not favor right or left, I found it a great mix of both type of holes.
-This course is challenging enough for an intermediate player to have his struggles but it is a good course to bring a new person as there is very little water hazards and very little chance to lose a disc.
-For the bigger arms, most of the holes at McDade are birdieable. It is not necessarily easy to get 18 birdies but it is possible with a good drive.
Cons: The biggest con I have more McDade is park is that there are no "signature holes". I have played this course now a few times and there is not one hole that strikes me as THE hole of McDade as you would expect at other highly rater 18 hole courses. Probably the ones that stick at to me are the first hole with the San Jacinto River to the right and holes 17 and 18 that are a tight straight shot through some woods.
-Most holes are repetitive and a few seem like they were just thrown into the middle to try and get to 18 holes.
-There is literally no elevation even by Houston standards. This is not something that can be dealt with just a little nitpick.
Other Thoughts: The Conroe/Woodlands area has some great courses and McDade Park is definitely no exception. The park is clean and has a pleasant feeling to it.
Combining this course with Terramont Park and the River Plantation Course and a good day of disc golf could be had.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Micky Dís! You Want Fries With That?

1    7/25/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety and has some nice vegetation. This course has open holes, wooded holes, good pin placements, and has a great maintained setting. This place was really nice. I liked the variety of hole lengths. There is nothing real long, but they mixed it up pretty well. The equipment is in great shape. There are concrete tee pads, the baskets are nice, and they have new tee pads have what you need. This place has a huge parking lot, a good message board, and they flowered up the first hole (See the media tab for picture of hole 1). For the most part, the navigation is pretty easy.
Cons: There isn't much as far as elevation is concerned. Like other have said, there are a few holes that feel like they put them there just to connect the better holes. It was dry the day I was there, but you could tell this place will hold some water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I really enjoyed playing here and I would easily play this again. I can't mention enough how well maintained this park is and how beautiful the entire park is Thanks Conroe!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Here!!!!

5+    8/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a very great practice course. Has a few difficult shots blocked by trees, bushes etc.
Cons: It can get crowded sometimes. Also, there is a playground off of the edge of hole 16 where kids have the tendency to roam over to and snag a disc occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Great layout!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Clean!!

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park is very clean and well maintained. 18 holes with different variety of challenges. Tee pads are nice and course is clearly marked.
Cons: Not much room for power. Mostly short shots but still lots of fun.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -variety of shot types, good mix of open and wooded shots
-excellent new tee signs
-big concrete tee pads
-baskets in good condition
-nice, large park; looks well maintained
-practice basket with distance markers
-a few very good bridges over creek/wet areas (5-6, 15)
-lots of mature trees make for a well-shaded round in the summer
-begins and ends near parking lot (plenty of parking), course flows pretty well but a few tricky spots
Cons: -mostly shorter holes, only 2 over 400'
-very flat, a few very minor elevation changes
-located on a floodplain, rain can be an issue
-many holes seem like filler holes (2, 7-10, 12, 14)
-a few awkward spots in the flow and navigation, especially right at the beginning/end, presumably some of this is from the redesign (1-3, 16-17)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 18 hole course in a nice looking park that is well maintained. The park is beautiful and well shaded but is not secluded, lots of houses and streets nearby.

The parking lot is large and right near the park entrance and the practice basket area is great, with brick distance markers. Very nice, well-sized concrete tee pads and the baskets are in great condition.

The first hole looks really great when you first walk up. I was impressed with the big tee and landscaping around the tee area. This hole is a fun open hyzer with the basket just out of sight and a river on the left. I had high hopes after this hole and while it didn't go downhill after that necessarily, the rest of the course didn't quite live up to my expectations. Don't get me wrong: the course is fun, well maintained, relatively easy to navigate and has a lot of cool shots but it didn't live up to my expectation of a "great" (4 disc) course.

The area around holes 2-3 and 15-18 is a little bit awkward. There is a walk from 1 to 2 and then hole 2 throws across a field with pedestrian walkways. From the tee for 2, you might be looking at basket 16; the basket for 2 is straight ahead, to the right of basket 16. Then walk across the road to 3 and eventually come back out at 15 in the same area. Hole 16 is a really cool open shot into a wooded area with the basket behind a couple rows of trees. Then there is a walk into another wooded area to get to 17 (in other words, there is no sign to the next tee and it's inside the woods so you can't see it from 16). A few "next tee" signs around here and also at the intersection of 6-7 and 10-11 would shape things up a bit for newcomers. If I remember correctly, there are next tee arrows on the new signs though.

There are lots of trees so many holes have well defined open fairways lined with trees and there are also holes that are fairly wooded, especially 17 & 18. The lines aren't too difficult but there are enough trees to ensure a wide score spread.

There are a handful of uninspiring holes that seem to just fill the space in the layout to get to 18 holes. 7-10 immediately come to mind; they are a short loop in a small area off to the side between holes 6 and 11. Seems like an afterthought added to the main front-to-back flow of the course.

Overall, a really fun course with a decent bit of variety. A better option than all the other 9 holers around the area and less of a homeboy course than Bear Branch. Course rating seems a little inflated to me but maybe it's a matter of relativity to the surrounding courses. I bet it gets an extra star from many reviewers just for the concrete tee pads.

Definitely worth playing if you live in the Houston area. If you're passing through and are looking for the top 1 or 2 places to play, go to Shawshank or Spring Valley.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Conroe's finest

5+    4/8/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Out in the sticks. Plenty of foliage, trees. Good variety of holes. You can tell this was all peoples backyards in the past. Little rosebushes and nicely landscaped trees highlight the course throughout
Cons: Out in the sticks. Have heard bad things about the dude in the house on hole # 3. Stay away. 1 particular hole on the backside has a row of trees you have to throw through in order to reach the basket - that needs to be changed
Other Thoughts: I like McDade. had my 3rd ace there on the old # 18. Guess noone will be able to again say they aced that hole!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course of North Houston

5+    6/6/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of holes, They did the best they could with the relatively flat terrain. Good mixture of lengths, and a lot of different shots will occur. I also like concrete tees. It's an enjoyable course to walk through as well, very nice and well shaded most of the time. You deffinitely get a chance to air your discs out every now and then. Also, I love the practice put backet before #1. There also is not many water hazards, so leave the snorkel and fins at home. Flow of the course makes a lot of sense after you've played it once.
Cons: it is flat. can be crowded. first time I played got a little confused on hole order.Deffinitely needs some new signage all around the course.
Other Thoughts: holes #2 and #3 through the woods kinda leave you catching up on your score the rest of the game.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  #1 on my List

5+    4/24/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: grrlDGr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty clean. Never crowded. Only one water hazard, a variety of throwing difficulties. Oh, and it's free.
Cons: Floods after a good/moderate rain.
Other Thoughts: New #2 and #3. Old #3 #18 were removed to install a new playground. Whatever... the old playground was removed from a different location and they put the new one in the way of the course. Anyways, the course still rocks otherwise.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Played new tee/pin positions

1    3/26/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varied course with a few wide open holes so I was able to get some power training. Great set up overall and wooden walkways over the ditches/creeks. You can tell the course is well taken care of.
Cons: Had to pause for some joggers, but no big deal. First hole is set alongside the San Jac River, it's intimidating for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I never played the old tee/pin postitions, so I have no basis for comparison. Long walk throughout the 18, but we caught a beautiful day, so no complaints.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Watch out for #10

5+    2/27/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: melissa197724
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice location, pretty area, restrooms available. Everyone we ran into was really nice. Nice practice/warm-up area.
Cons: #10 is on the edge of the San Jacinto river. We just lost a disk there. Watch out for the little kids running around picking up discs. We had a little boy come up and try to take one of ours we were playing with.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.