Conroe, TX 
McDade Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Basket is behind the group of trees and to the left

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 #1 on my List

5+    4/24/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: grrlDGr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty clean. Never crowded. Only one water hazard, a variety of throwing difficulties. Oh, and it's free.
Cons: Floods after a good/moderate rain.
Other Thoughts: New #2 and #3. Old #3 #18 were removed to install a new playground. Whatever... the old playground was removed from a different location and they put the new one in the way of the course. Anyways, the course still rocks otherwise.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Played new tee/pin positions

1    3/26/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varied course with a few wide open holes so I was able to get some power training. Great set up overall and wooden walkways over the ditches/creeks. You can tell the course is well taken care of.
Cons: Had to pause for some joggers, but no big deal. First hole is set alongside the San Jac River, it's intimidating for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I never played the old tee/pin postitions, so I have no basis for comparison. Long walk throughout the 18, but we caught a beautiful day, so no complaints.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Watch out for #10

5+    2/27/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: melissa197724
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice location, pretty area, restrooms available. Everyone we ran into was really nice. Nice practice/warm-up area.
Cons: #10 is on the edge of the San Jacinto river. We just lost a disk there. Watch out for the little kids running around picking up discs. We had a little boy come up and try to take one of ours we were playing with.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A visitor's take on McDade

1    2/1/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 419  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The best place to start with the pros is the parking lot...ample parking, with a nice park board, a park guy pulled up right behind us with the map for the redesign. Behind that is a beautiful practice pit complete with a 10m? ring and several blocks at different distances to practice putting.
-The teepads were also really nice, big trapezoidal tees with a landscaped dedication at the first hole.
-Nice bridges by holes 6 and 17.
-Many good holes here. 1 is a great starting hole, nice and long with OB on either side. 2 and 3 were the best holes on the course in my opinion, both longish, heavily wooded and fairly tight, the kind of holes that you want to throw hard and go for the shot, but that you should layup on and play for placement. Other notable holes were 17, which has a tight hyzer line on the right side of the fairway to take and if you don't make it you are behind a wall of trees. Hole 13 is a nice placement type (risk/reward) hole with some nasty rough on the right side.
-Good variety here, some nice anhyzers and hyzers, but alot of the hole had both lines available which was nice.
-The rough was nice and punishing, if you got in you had to make a nice shot out to save par. It really forced you to play the smart shot rather than going for it full speed all the time.
Cons: -Tee signs were a lackluster and had wrong hole numbers on them according to the layout sheet.
-As with almost all the courses down here, the land was flat as a board.
-Navigation was a bit tricky and the layout is a little bit odd. For instance 5 (I think) plays into the woods then you walk back toward the tee and 50' over from it and even with it was the next tee pad. Also 18 ends a ways from the parking lot.
-My biggest beef with the course was that I felt there were a few holes that "got you to the next good one" and some of these holes 12 and 14 were these holes especially. These were pretty much holes to throw a putter straight with no real danger on them and 12 seemed like a major segway hole to 13 which was a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought the course offered some nice holes with some decent variety. For the out-of-towner or the day tripping Houstonian it's a good place for a warm up round for Shawshank.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs in Houston area

5+    7/22/2009   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course with lots of great holes! It doesnt look like the Houston area when you get here because of the big trees and just the feel. The grass is something that I always think of when I tell people about this course for some reason. Like said before the upkeep is nice and there is plenty of amenities throughout the park. The technical aspect of this course always has me singing high praise because if you dont throw good shots your score will skyrocket quickly! There is no elevation here but the quality of the shots in and out of the woods make up for it. Most of the shots make you think about the placement because the greens are protected just enough that if your just off a bit and you could find something in your way on your putt.
Cons: Can be a little confusing for first timers and even for those that played the course before the redesign. I also agree with others that state that some of the "brush" could be cleaned a little. Other then that I didnt have any issues with the houses or anything else!
Other Thoughts: This is a great stop on your way to/from the Houston area and should be played if in the area for sure. Enjoy

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course & Great Shade in the Summer Sun!

2-4    6/19/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: McDade Park is beautifully maintained with bathroom facilities, a shaded playground area, pavilion, and trashcans located on most holes. The grass is well kept and there are quality bridges traversing any gully areas.

The park also has a lot of old growth throughout the course, so there is ample shade to keep cool under during the hot summer days. The abundant foliage also provides many challenging shots throughout the course. A great example is the redesigned holes #2, & #3. These two holes, although not officially marked yet, are at least 300'+ of multiple tight alleys reminiscent of River Grove DGC or Jack Brooks Course #2 that force a player to be very accurate or risk playing pinball in the woods. The two new holes are pound for pound probably the toughest holes on the course.

Overall, the course is one of the more difficult courses in the greater Houston area, but still plays fair to all skill levels. Even though there are no elevation changes to speak of, the large concrete tees (12' long by 7' in the back and 5' in the front) coupled with a good variety of distance, shot selection, and tree cover make this one of the best courses in the area.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #6
Cons: Due to the redesigned hole layouts, the beautifully done stone tee markers are now incorrect. This may be a good excuse to give these an update too, since idiots who have made aces have left their names and dates on the stones.

It could be argued that a few holes are too cluttered (i.e. #14, #16, & #17), and need to be trimmed back a little bit to make better windows on the fairways. However, these tight shots force players to be very accurate, which to many can be a positive.

The general course layout is also a bit confusing. Holes #1 and #18 are far apart from each other, and the redesign has only compounded the problem. Some of the course flow is also a bit weird around hole #6; so just remember to print off a map, since you can't rely on the tee markers being completely accurate. Also, due to the amount of construction still going on in the park, the parking lot by hole #1 was closed off to us, forcing everyone to park in the lot closer to #18.

Other Thoughts: McDade Park is simply beautiful and I enjoyed playing the newly redesigned course. I also like that the difficulty rating has increased with the new hole additions. McDade forced me to be on my game from the very start, and with frustration building at my inconsistencies, I know that making even an experienced player work for every shot is what any good course should do.

Being way up in Conroe, McDade feels like a good distance to drive, but it's certainly worth it to anyone in the Houston area. In addition, the course is only ten or fifteen minutes from Gwen Hruska Park, Bear Branch Park, and Terramont Park in the Woodlands area, so players also have the opportunity to play multiple decent disc golf courses in the same vicinity.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Conroe's cranky neighbors

5+    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Variety of shots. Big beautiful trees. Well maintained park with facilities. Quiet, shaded, tee signs with distances. Water barely comes into play on 2 holes.
Cons: There are houses which are pretty much ON the course. I had one errant throw that landed in their front yard on the edge of their flower bed. I quickly strolled over to retrieve it, and exited just as fast. This was not the fenced yard and there was no signs here. I still heard voices from INSIDE the house, discussing their disdain. It did not damage anything and I don't see the harm in this at all. If the people hate the sport so much, why don't they move. I would LOVE to have a disc golf course across the street from my house! Especially one of this caliber.
Other Thoughts: It has been 3 or 4 years since I played this, before the other day, so the new holes were a little more difficult than the rest of the course. I did get a little lost with the new configuration. I miss living close to this course. I'd play here everyday. I can't wait to go back.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem In Conroe

1    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 107  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful well maintained park housing excellent facilities for basketball, beach volleyball, baseball.... and let us not forget a great disc golf course as well. Full of large mature trees providing excellent shade and ascetics, this is one of the prettier parks in the Houston area. The course offers a wide variety of holes ranging from hole #1 a wide open 400+ footer along the San Jacinto river to hole #5 a 153 foot precision shot through dense trees, this course has just about everything. As mentioned before the concrete tee boxes are great and the stone tee markers are quite nice (since the course re-design some of these signs seem to have been misplaced). The community of Conroe has really embraced disc golf and it shows in the way they maintain and have updated this course. The course was just updated recently and the three new holes are excellent.
Cons: As some other reviewers have already mentioned, it is imperative to be wary of the disc golf hating neighbor who resides along what is now hole 4 and I believe 10. Other than that I really don't have much else to gripe about when it comes to this course. I will agree that 17 (used to be 14) can be a crap shoot but other than that I think every hole is fair and fun.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the three best courses in the Houston area IMHO and with its recent update it has gotten even better. If I have one thing I can say I truly dislike about this course it is that I didn't find out about it earlier. It is a gem.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: nibowl
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lush green vegitation
- Cement tee pads
- Well marked
- Solid variation of distance and technical challenges
Cons: - Long drive from Houston
- Park is under some construction
- Residences within reach of throwing errors
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was really quite unexpected in how fun it was to play. The amenities are numerous from the cement tee pads to the stone hole numbers. The park itself has a good amount of trees and I would suspect it is one of the shadier courses during a hot Texas summer. Many of the holes are birdie capable for those with big drives. However, most of those opportunities come with having to negotiate trees. They recently revamped the course and added in two holes to make up for some of their space being taken by park expansion. The two new holes are excellent in my opinion and add a bit of technicality to an otherwise straightforward course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great North Houston Course

1    2/28/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An easy to follow layout with large concrete tee pads and excellent signage gives this course a truely professional feel. From long holes of 400' or more, to tight finesse shots as short as 158' this course will proivde challenges for everyone.

Unique basket placements add to challenge, and there is minimal opportunity for pedestrian or general park use to interfere with a round.

Course begins and ends very near the the parking lot. There are ample garbage cans, and the restrooms are located right near the first tee.
Cons: There has been significant growth on a couple of holes since they were first installed. Some of the shots seem significantly tighter than they were initially intended to be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.