Homer, LA 
Lake Claiborne SP - Whitetail Share
Uploaded By: teamudgp Hole #18 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 273ft.   4 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Championship Caliber Course

2-4    11/8/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: Urngegoat
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course that rewards shots that stay in the fairway and punishes those that don't. The course is well-maintained, so the rough is "clean" and you won't have a problem finding your disc, but you probably won't have much more than a pitch out if you stray off the fairways.

You'll need every shot in your bag as the course mixes left/right, short/long, and up/down. Many holes offer multiple routes with risk/reward considerations in play.

Excellent signage with detailed tee signs and additional navigational signs as needed.
Cons: There is a bit of a walk from hole 3 to hole 4.

Limited cell service.

Seriously, that's about all I could come up with for negatives.
Other Thoughts: Whitetail is the original course and the longer of the two. If you're only playing one, I'd recommend Whitetail just because there are more "signature" type holes (1, 10, 16), but both are worth the trip.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the drive!

1    9/24/2015   9/25/2015
Review By: rod251
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful property
Good mix of distance and elevation
Good signage
Challenging but fair
Cons: Needs more trashcans and benches
Dirt teeboxes

Other Thoughts: I loved this course. Very challenging and very well designed. Absolutely beautiful woods. This is located in the most hilly part of Louisiana, a bit different than our flat swamps and bayous. I would like to see some gravel on the tee pads, and maybe a few more trash cans. I hope to do a disc golf camping trip here soon. As others said, better be in shape, because this one's long and hilly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Scenery

1    8/14/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: Ground Control
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The terrain is very unusual for Louisiana. The scenery is awesome. The course is shady and very relaxing. There are two courses at the park. You can play and stay too. You can't find a better spot.
Cons: The course is new and needs playing. There are a few things they are working on but the guys are adding new stuff all the time. With a little more work this course can be a premier course!
Other Thoughts: Better be in shape. It's not your mommas DG course. It's bad a$$. It will really work you.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Glad I stopped by

1    7/2/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: MountainValleyDG
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a chance to visit this course on business last July and was surprised of the caliber of course that was in a state park. IT had very nice full color tees on the Blue tees on every hole with shorter red tees with just wooden posts and number plates. Course has a cool entrance with a heavy metal signed hanging over as you walk through.

Hole 1 starts off like a roller coaster and drops you into a fun filled round including a scenic hole 10 (or 11) that looks over the lake. The last bit of holes will test you on all levels. the last 5 or 6 holes changes dramatically into par 4's and 5's finishing on a large uphill par 4 back to parking.
Cons: Bring water! I'm not used to the heat down in Louisiana. Not any on course that I saw.
Other Thoughts: There is a $2.00 fee to play, but well worth it. I was told there was another course be install on the property.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Perfection

5+    8/9/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: dsteele
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course that plays on beautiful land. You'll throw every shot there is, and you better throw it well because this course will punish a bad shot as much as it rewards a good one. Holes 1-12 are birdie-able for most players but once you cross the road to 13, it's long, technical golf at its finest for pros and ams alike.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of water and bugspray, you'll be taking a hike while playing your round.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 White Tail

5+    8/2/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: deneumann
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has many different elevation holes on it. Very scenic and requires many different types of shots to score well on the course. The first twelve holes are definitely birdie able. You'll need them for the last 6 holes. Holes 13-18 are the longest part of the course and require the utmost accuracy to score well. My favorite course in North Louisiana!!!
Cons: No Cons in my opinion,
Other Thoughts: This is disc golf at it's finest. It is not a course for whiners who do not like to walk between holes or go up and down hills. This course will challenge you and definitely make you a better golfer.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

This place is a gem

5+    7/29/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: Zagonage
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 11/11/2015
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tons of elevation. A wide range of shots required. Beautiful fairways, surrounded by wildlife and nature. The lake is enormous and well taken care of. The Ranger is supportive of the sport and very friendly. Cabins available and fun is welcomed!
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: This course has been recently updated. You guys should go check it out if you haven't been out there in a month or so!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Course in the Woods

1    12/16/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 132  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 3.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is fantastic to see a course of this quality in a State Park. For the princely sum of $2 you can play this course all day long, if your legs hold up. Be sure to ask for the excellent map/scorecard when you check in.

Easy parking right right at the Headquarters Building, with a beautiful cut-out steel sign marking the entrance to the course. Restrooms in a couple of places on the course, with benches, trash cans, etc. all available as well.

This is an outstanding piece of land for a course. Plenty of elevation with rolling hills and creeks cutting through the area, and a healthy forest of mixed hardwoods and evergreens. The ground is mostly clear, so locating discs isn't much of an issue,even if your drive kicks hard off of a tree.

Very nice tee signs at the Blue Tees, with a simple distance sign marking the Red Tees. Two basket positions for most holes, which are clearly shown on the tee sign. However, there is no marker to show which position the basket is in. Baskets were Innova double-chain models that looked brand new.

Navigation was easy, with "Next Hole" signs where necessary and dozens of arrows on trees.

Every hole requires lacing your drive through the trees, with many requiring significant shaping of your shot. Hole 17 is a great example, requiring a sweeping right-hand turn to a landing area, followed by a second shot that turns left toward the pin.

There is a lot of up-and-down on the course, with many baskets placed on hills so you have to consider the risk/reward of running your putt. I had an outstanding approach on hole 4 get up on an edge and roll about 75' down the hill.

Only Hole 10 brings the lake into play, but it is a scenic hole with the lake directly behind the basket to discourage a too-long drive.

Hole 16 is an arrow-straight 1054 foot hole down a pipeline right-of-way. While not really creative, it will test your ability to throw long, straight drives.
Cons: My only real con is that there was no indicator for which position the basket was in at each hole. Several holes required a walk up the fairway to make that determination.

While I usually consider "natural" teepads to be a con, in this setting they fit very well, and all were flat and smooth. I don't know if they stay in this shape all year but they were perfect the day I played.

Much of the length on this course is on the back 9 with 50% of the total course length on the final 6 holes. It would have been nice to have distributed that length a little more evenly.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course out in the pristine woods. We had the entire thing to ourselves on the Tuesday afternoon that we played.

The addition of the adjacent Dogwood Course effectively turns this into a 27 hole monster.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/9/2015 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review. Glad you liked it. Tee post will have basket indicators this spring. The Dogwood course will be complete this spring as well. It will be completely different and I'll add it to DGCR when it's done.

Disc'in with Deer

1    11/2/2014   11/3/2014
Review By: Sequoia
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We really enjoyed this course. It is very well laid out, and the signage is great. With this being our first time on this course, we had no problems knowing where the pins where, or where the next tee box was located. The location is picturesque, with great views of the lake, and plenty of wild life. Although we didn't see any deer, there were plenty of tracks. Some of the fairways were narrow, but that is what makes it more challenging. Even when the discs DID go in the woods, they were easy to located, due to the low amount of undergrowth.
Cons: The only thing I can think of that was confusing to us, we didn't know if the pin was going to be in the "A" position, or the "B" position, until we got close enough in range, on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is just my opinion, but I think the natural tee boxes are just right for this course. Concrete is fine for city courses, but when you are dealing with a natural area, you want to leave as little behind as possible.

We played this from the Blues, which I guess is good for experienced players. We have only been playing about 5 months, and were REALLY wishing that we started from the Reds.

That being said, I can't wait to come out and play this course again. It is fun, and challenging.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great map/scorecard.
Well marked entrance to the course.
Tee signs (short 4x4 posts with a red or blue number plate) are easily recognized, along with directional (arrow) signs.
Good flow in general.
Only $2 to get in the park and play all day.
Good mix of different length holes.
Great scenery throughout the course.
Fairways seemed perfectly cleared out to me, especially for a new course. The paths have already been worn in as well.
Cons: Natural Tees. I think concrete tees are on the way, and as soon as they come, I will update this review.
There is no way to tell which location the pin is in. The map would say the holes bent one way, but if the location is changed, the line changes. This caused us to throw in the wrong direction, but only on one or two holes. I suggest having a bolt on the tee sign that can be switched out showing if the pin is in the short or long.
I think I saw somewhere that there are real tee signs being made, and I hope they include both pin locations.
A tee sign that shows the lines, pin locations, and the current pin location, combined with concrete tees and this is easily a 4.5 and the best course in the state.
Other Thoughts: The rough isn't all that thick, but it will definitely add an extra stroke if you miss the fairway by too much. There is a lot of elevation change, and the course design complements that very well.

There are no bathrooms, water, or benches around. This didn't bother me, but it would be something to consider for new-comers. I wish the park could just put one water cooler on the course, even if it's just on the road where the trail crosses. That would be a great little bonus for this course.

I had a great time playing this course. It is definitely going to become the top in the state. I hope to see more from Mike in the future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.