Disc Golf Center
Lake Jackson, TX 
Cornerstone Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimirev Hole #14
3 / 195ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Loved this course!

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: Rossome
Played: 80  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Those who read my reviews know that I rate courses on the aesthetics as well as the disc golf. This was high on both!
- Great job by the church hosting this course and the planners for an entertaining and challenging layout!
- Beautiful southern park like grounds with water, old trees, spanish moss, and well kept St Augustine grass
- Fairly intuitive lay out
- Pretty good signs
- Blue tees are really for experienced players
- Red tees are really for new players
- Enough water, trees, and OB to have to shape some shots and make choices
- Nice length, but not a course to wear your arm out
- Plenty of Parking
- Gorgeous park like grounds, with birds and other animals
- Mosquitos were not overbearing
- Some wind protection amidst the large old oaks
Cons: Not many:
- No permanent tee pads. However, this course is played so little, that few tee "spots" are warn out and uneven
- No elevation
- Being a Pacific Northwest player, the trees weren't tight or technical enough to really bother me much
- No trash cans
- No rest rooms
Other Thoughts: This is one of my all time favorite courses in the south. Challenging, interesting golf holes, beautiful setting, and not crowded. If nice tee pads were installed, I would have rated it a 4.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The bomb . com

5+    3/15/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: Cwilcox25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/17/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So this is my home course. It is pretty challenging when it comes to some of the more distant holes. The huge oak trees make challenging pathways and sometimes even the Spanish moss will hurt you too if your throw goes high. There are two water holes back to back where if you are not careful you can lose a disc.( I have lost several) But all in all it just makes for a great time. They just put in a public restroom and water fountain right next to hole one. Also there is a course map they are about to hang on hole one and a loner basket for discs too. There is pretty good drainge too but if it gets too wet just don't forget your rubber boots!
Cons: The natural t pads are nice but when its wet they are very slippery so it would be nice to get cement pads put in. Also there are no trash cans so maybe putting one on 6 12 and 18 would be great. Also beware of the fire ants I have stepped on piles the last couple rounds.
Other Thoughts: There is pretty good bass fishing off the wood bridges . Bring spinnerbaits jig them slow and it should pay off. Catch and realese only. Everyone should make it to this course it is a true gem and you will not be let down. Also all the people that work and go to the church are super nice. They even work on the property I think every Saturday the course is constantly improving.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oaks with Spanish Moss

1    12/9/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: gouch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking at the Church.
Very good signage; appreciated the wood blocks with arrows pointing to the next tee.
Very nice setting; enjoyed throwing around and under the oaks.
With the map provided in the link, the course was easy to follow.
The course was nicely maintained - grass was cut and almost no litter.
Cons: Lack of barrels for trash; not an issue yet but will become one as more people discover the course.
17 of the 18 holes are par 3; would like to see a few more holes at par 4 or 5.
While the natural tee pads worked ok since the course was dry would prefer concrete pads; would be tough to play in wet conditions.
While signs warn of snakes and alligators beware of fire ants; there were quite a few mounds.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing among the oak trees draped in Spanish Moss over most of the course. I was expecting a very flat course after driving nearly an hour from Houston through increasingly flat terrain but was pleasantly surprised that the course contained many small hills; evidence that this had been a traditional golf course. The scenery was very nice with one side of the course hugging the Brazos River. I did manage to throw my driver into the Brazos a few feet from the bank on one of the holes but the algae was so dense that the disk was easy to retrieve. The liberally sprinkled benches provided seating to enjoy the setting. Cows grazed across the Brazos from the course connected by a bridge allowing catch and release fishing. Definitely worth the drive from Houston.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

CORNERSTONE

1    9/8/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 84  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cornerstone lives up to its name! It is the Cornerstone of Lake Jackson. After driving through the front gates you can instantly see that you are in a for a great time. This is lost on many courses in the Houston area. There is ample parking spots, and the course begins and finishes around the main parking lot.

Course begins to the left of the main parking lot next to the tennis courts. Temp tee signs give ample info on distance and suggested flight path. There is a wire basket hanging on the fence next to tee #1 with loaner discs and course maps. However if you have played and understand the flow of a good course.. you wont need a map. At each basket there is a wooden block on the ground with an arrow pointing to the next tee.

Conerstone has duel tee pads. BLUE are the long, and RED are the shorts. Blues offer realistic lines with RISK and REWARDS.. With the course being very well maintained you will have no problem seeing the basket. RED tees offer beginers a real chance to learn and not be overwhelmed. RED tees are truly for beginers. Now the tees are NATURAL.Most people might take points away for this since most players love concrete tee. This course could easily put in concrete tees, but some courses just look better with natural tees. Cornerstone is a semi technical semi straight forward course. You will have to hit your lines off the tee. Upshots and putts should be easy enough as long as you stay on the fairway.

The course is perfectly riddled with old trees that seem to drap over the grounds with history and feelings. The grass is well kept. The bayou and ponds are gorgeous. WARNING signs are posted to watch for ALLIGATORS and SNAKES. Benches are scattered and are in good shape. This is a church course so there are scripture posts throughout the course....they are not in the way or push themselves on you...

The Baskets are new MACH 5 W/ NUMBER PLATES. They have the rubber coating around them. They catch your disc better than than the coveted MACH 3 baskets. The baskets are securely anchored in the ground.

Cons: Cornerstone is GREAT! There is very few things that could be, or need be done to improve the course. The course is not PERFECT. Heavy rain as with most courses in the South Coastal Texas area.. will reatin water. Drainage could use some work.

I would like to see some sort of restroom area if the church's facilities are not open to the public. Next issue would be the lack of trash cans. In my opinion...trash cans are a must. Furthermore the cart path that runs throughout the property comes into direct play with a few holes. Unless the church has an event going on or someone is just joy riding the porperty the path really isnt an issue. IT can make for challenging O.B.
Other Thoughts: If you want that WOW factor..look no further. Cornerstone Church of Nazarine did a fantastic job. I surely cant wait to host a tournament or attend one... which ever one comes first. I cant thank the Church enough for buliding this course. I had this course on my wishlist.. And this course pulled through big time! I am eager to return and volunteer time to help in any way that I can. Make sure to bring the gang.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, quite course

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots.
Well maintained with nice Tee posts
Lots of shade for our hot Houston summer days
Good mix of short/long....open/tight holes
Cons: No public restrooms
A bit of a drive for most of us.
Other Thoughts: This is clearly one of the most beautiful course in the Greater Houston Area as it was built on an old ball golf course and incorporates a large natural lake on a few holes and old, majestic trees on almost every hole. It is well worth the trip down to Lake Jackson however and I highly recommend playing this beauty.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old ball golf course converted

1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 166  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At first thought, another course in the Lake Jackson area immediately seems like it will be another mediocre course. Cornerstone is far from mediocre, and it definitely is the new must play course in the area.

The course has rolling fairways from its previous life as a ball golf course. The old cart paths are still present and add a little bit of character.The course has photo tee signs, something I have only seen at one other course. There are super short red tees that can be used to practice upshots or for the average kid to play. Gold tees are to come, which would make the course a huge, tough monster of a course. I cannot wait!

The baskets are new and in great condition and there are wooden markings in the ground showing where the next hole is, which I think is the best amenity of the course.

Each hole is fair, in regards to the shot off of the tee. The course has a good mixture of holes, from left to right and right to left. The course features a few low ceiling shots that demands a low, accurate shot.

A river and a lake are present on the course to add a little bit of a pucker effect. The water also adds scenic views of the farm land around the church.
Cons: One con is the little bit of a repetition feeling on a few of the holes. Holes are not really sticking in my mind except for a few holes.

A few holes play with the golf cart path literally going straight through the center of the fairway. If that is played at OB, many of the holes would be very tough to score well.

Holes do criss-cross each other and some lines to the basket have other hole's tees in the way. It could become a huge safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: When it comes to fun, this course really is up there on my all-time fun list. This converted ball golf course has a lot to offer, and I hope it can grow into a "must play" course in Southeast Texas. This is a much needed addition to the Lake Jackson area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging course in the area.

5+    12/31/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: DG Trucker
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/7/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grass is regularly mowed.
Plenty of parking.
There are course maps and scorecards available at the first tee box.
There are 4x4 wooden blocks under each basket with an arrow pointing to the next tee making for easy navigation.
There are about a dozen benches to take a rest on. These benches are not at the tee pads but are in your route of play.
Baskets are fairly new and in great shape.
Cons: No public restrooms. Although, if there's someone working in one of the buildings, they will let you use the bathroom if you ask. But, there are no signs indicating facilities.
No trash bins.
No concrete tee pads.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.