Lake Jackson, TX 
Cornerstone Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: jimirev Hole #4
3 / 176ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    9/8/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 83  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cornerstone lives up to its name! It is the Cornerstone of Lake Jackson. After driving through the front gates you can instantly see that you are in a for a great time. This is lost on many courses in the Houston area. There is ample parking spots, and the course begins and finishes around the main parking lot.

Course begins to the left of the main parking lot next to the tennis courts. Temp tee signs give ample info on distance and suggested flight path. There is a wire basket hanging on the fence next to tee #1 with loaner discs and course maps. However if you have played and understand the flow of a good course.. you wont need a map. At each basket there is a wooden block on the ground with an arrow pointing to the next tee.

Conerstone has duel tee pads. BLUE are the long, and RED are the shorts. Blues offer realistic lines with RISK and REWARDS.. With the course being very well maintained you will have no problem seeing the basket. RED tees offer beginers a real chance to learn and not be overwhelmed. RED tees are truly for beginers. Now the tees are NATURAL.Most people might take points away for this since most players love concrete tee. This course could easily put in concrete tees, but some courses just look better with natural tees. Cornerstone is a semi technical semi straight forward course. You will have to hit your lines off the tee. Upshots and putts should be easy enough as long as you stay on the fairway.

The course is perfectly riddled with old trees that seem to drap over the grounds with history and feelings. The grass is well kept. The bayou and ponds are gorgeous. WARNING signs are posted to watch for ALLIGATORS and SNAKES. Benches are scattered and are in good shape. This is a church course so there are scripture posts throughout the course....they are not in the way or push themselves on you...

The Baskets are new MACH 5 W/ NUMBER PLATES. They have the rubber coating around them. They catch your disc better than than the coveted MACH 3 baskets. The baskets are securely anchored in the ground.

Cons: Cornerstone is GREAT! There is very few things that could be, or need be done to improve the course. The course is not PERFECT. Heavy rain as with most courses in the South Coastal Texas area.. will reatin water. Drainage could use some work.

I would like to see some sort of restroom area if the church's facilities are not open to the public. Next issue would be the lack of trash cans. In my opinion...trash cans are a must. Furthermore the cart path that runs throughout the property comes into direct play with a few holes. Unless the church has an event going on or someone is just joy riding the porperty the path really isnt an issue. IT can make for challenging O.B.
Other Thoughts: If you want that WOW factor..look no further. Cornerstone Church of Nazarine did a fantastic job. I surely cant wait to host a tournament or attend one... which ever one comes first. I cant thank the Church enough for buliding this course. I had this course on my wishlist.. And this course pulled through big time! I am eager to return and volunteer time to help in any way that I can. Make sure to bring the gang.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, quite course

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots.
Well maintained with nice Tee posts
Lots of shade for our hot Houston summer days
Good mix of short/ holes
Cons: No public restrooms
A bit of a drive for most of us.
Other Thoughts: This is clearly one of the most beautiful course in the Greater Houston Area as it was built on an old ball golf course and incorporates a large natural lake on a few holes and old, majestic trees on almost every hole. It is well worth the trip down to Lake Jackson however and I highly recommend playing this beauty.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Old ball golf course converted

1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 154  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At first thought, another course in the Lake Jackson area immediately seems like it will be another mediocre course. Cornerstone is far from mediocre, and it definitely is the new must play course in the area.

The course has rolling fairways from its previous life as a ball golf course. The old cart paths are still present and add a little bit of character.The course has photo tee signs, something I have only seen at one other course. There are super short red tees that can be used to practice upshots or for the average kid to play. Gold tees are to come, which would make the course a huge, tough monster of a course. I cannot wait!

The baskets are new and in great condition and there are wooden markings in the ground showing where the next hole is, which I think is the best amenity of the course.

Each hole is fair, in regards to the shot off of the tee. The course has a good mixture of holes, from left to right and right to left. The course features a few low ceiling shots that demands a low, accurate shot.

A river and a lake are present on the course to add a little bit of a pucker effect. The water also adds scenic views of the farm land around the church.
Cons: One con is the little bit of a repetition feeling on a few of the holes. Holes are not really sticking in my mind except for a few holes.

A few holes play with the golf cart path literally going straight through the center of the fairway. If that is played at OB, many of the holes would be very tough to score well.

Holes do criss-cross each other and some lines to the basket have other hole's tees in the way. It could become a huge safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: When it comes to fun, this course really is up there on my all-time fun list. This converted ball golf course has a lot to offer, and I hope it can grow into a "must play" course in Southeast Texas. This is a much needed addition to the Lake Jackson area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Most challenging course in the area.

5+    12/31/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: DG Trucker
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/7/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grass is regularly mowed.
Plenty of parking.
There are course maps and scorecards available at the first tee box.
There are 4x4 wooden blocks under each basket with an arrow pointing to the next tee making for easy navigation.
There are about a dozen benches to take a rest on. These benches are not at the tee pads but are in your route of play.
Baskets are fairly new and in great shape.
Cons: No public restrooms. Although, if there's someone working in one of the buildings, they will let you use the bathroom if you ask. But, there are no signs indicating facilities.
No trash bins.
No concrete tee pads.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.