Kokomo, IN
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #17
3 / 217ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Nicer Parks Not Far Away

1    1/8/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: Corack
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only course in Kokomo
Cons: Much better courses nearby.
Very Muddy, Seems to be an afterthought for the park.
Baskets were not put up right after taking down Christmas Displays.
Signs are missing or in need of repair on the first 9
Blocks are ok on the holes 11 thru 18 but hard to find and no distance information.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 Nice throw to the right blocked by a few trees. Missing Basket

Hole 2 Medium throw across the River, Missing signage. Basket is a Broom.

Hole 3 Short throw across walkway.

Hole 4 Throw across edge of water or alternate tee pad to avoid water throw.

Hole 5 Basket blocked by a tree, so some minor challenge around it.

Hole 6 Very Short straight throw to the basket.

Hole 7 A little confusing throw up behind a screen of trees to the left.

Hole 8 No tee marker and basket tucked in tight to the trees.

Hole 9 Best I can tell hole 8 tee pad has been reassigned for hole 9. Simple Downhill throw

Hole 10 Nice long drive with basket behind the hill to the left. Basket missing and very muddy.

Hole 11 Back across the Stream. Dirt tee pads with concrete markers. Straight throw.

Hole 12 Longer throw thru the trees past a telephone guide wire to another missing Basket.

Hole 13 Across the street, basket backs up to the river, watch for throwing too far. Most technical of the holes here.

Hole 14 Back alongside hole 13 to an orange street cone which works to replace another missing basket.

Hole 15 Good hole to the right around an evergreen.

Hole 16 Simple throw past some trees at the midway part.

Hole 17 Basket along the tree line requiring a good anhyzer throw if RHBH.

Hole 18 Final short throw ducking under a leaning tree.

Might play again in the summer to see if conditions are better. However there are too many courses
nearby that seem to actually care for the game and maintain the courses year round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Try it once

5+    3/12/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Pro Destroyer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots
-The distances vary from hole to hole, ranges from 200ft to 530ft.
-Park is well-maintained.
-Baskets are in good shape.
-Some elevation changes.
Cons: -You are playing in goose/duck poop, they are everywhere.
-Water runs along 3 holes, if you lose a disc in it, do not go in the water, a friend of mine got staph from the water, it is nasty, you'll probably die from it.
-The park is congested, heavily, in the summertime.
-The layout is confusing and doesn't make any sense so bring a map.
-The back 9 is not easy to find, tee-pads are dirt and are only marked by orange posts sticking out of the ground by about 3 inches.
Other Thoughts: -I live here in Kokomo and to be honest, I'm disappointed with this course, It could be a lot better but the city only gave up half the park.
-If you want to see a good public park course, go to Marion, it's only about 40 minutes east of Kokomo is infinitely better.
-Apparently the trustees board is not happy with this course, the reason the back 9 is dirt is because Kokomo won't allow concrete ones, also there is talk of Kokomo removing this course all together because they are unhappy with traffic its brought in.
-This course could be so much better but Kokomo's trustees board won't allow it to be anything but an afterthought.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK park course

1    1/15/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park with almost no underbrush and nice mature trees. Nearly all holes play among the mature trees with multiple lines to the hole, with a couple pretty open holes. Two holes bring the creek into play, one playing directly across, the other playing along a bend in the creek so there is a route over the water and a safe route out and around. The water holes add a nice little bit of risk/reward.

Half of the course has nice concrete pads with bolted down tee signs. The tees and signage are in good shape. The baskets are all also in pretty good shape and catch well. A few holes use a nice little hill in the back of the park to add a little elevation to the course. There are a few longer holes to add some challenge and variety.
Cons: Half of the tees are natural with no tee signs. They aren't well marked, and it makes navigation pretty difficult, as well as not offering as good of footing. Navigation is tricky at times, I recommend printing the map available here or pulling it up on your phone, otherwise you'll do some wandering. The park road comes into play at times, and you have to cross it several times between sections of the course.

The course is a little lacking in variety, both in length and hole shape. I felt like I was throwing the same types of shots a lot off the tees here, so it got a little repetitive by the end of the course. It's tough to make a course all that interesting in a flat park, but the trees could have been used a little better to create some different lines.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad place to get a round in. The park is nicely maintained, and there are a few nice holes. It's pretty beginner friendly, with no underbrush and alternate tees on the water carry holes. More experienced players won't find too much challenge or variety here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average City Park

2-4    9/13/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 168  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Picnic table with trash cans and a Bulletin board with up-dated information. •A full 18 target course,not just 9 targets with two tee pads per hole.•Concrete tee pads on #1,#2-pro,3,4-pro,5,6,7,8,9,10. I believe they are in the area that floods.•Good use of creek and hills.....#2 Pro tee; throw OVER the creek,#2 Am tee; the creek will be on your left. #4 Pro tee; Throw over a bend in the creek. #7 Tee; Throw to a mild grassy incline to the left. #8 Tee; Throw over a access road to the other hill,then downhill behind mature growth with underbrush for a roll-a-way green.#9 a short downhill ace run! •Little under brush to punish a bad drive or approach.• Mature trees gives alot of shade,wind will still be a factor. •Mando Dogleg #15.
Cons: •Mostly flat.•No "Tech" holes •No directional signs •Tee signs are on holes only with concrete tees (bolted on) •Navigation Issues; crosses the One-Way park road FOUR times!? •Holes #5,#6,#11,#12,#13,#14,#16,#17,#18. are all pretty much the same....O.K. They are different distances.
Other Thoughts: Come in the Park on the Northside use Deffenbaugh St. Turn left (south) onto the One-Way Street. Course Starts south of the Baseball Fields. I parked on the grass on the right,between the road and creek. Layout is both a Pro & Con. It uses all of the available land to it's fullest. But it does have repetitive holes and crosses,to those holes, a park road. That's used by not only cars but runners, walkers and joggers.As far as the repetitive holes (I believe #6,#11,#12,#13,#14,#17,#18) maybe a few moved to the wooded area after #10 on the west side of the creek? After looking at Google maps there is a nice Island Shot that's possible? Have clean fill dirt on others for elevated tees and/or pin placements?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

2-4    7/24/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Alot of mid-range shots-200-300ft.
- A cool downhill shot on hole #9.
-Holes #2 and #4 are around water with alternate tee pads so you don't have to throw over water.
- Some baskets seem strategically placed to make play more challenging.
- Hole #8 is an uphill shot with a hard right curve.
- The cement tee pads have signs on them with distance, par and basket location.
Cons: - Only about half the holes have cement tee pads, the rest are dirt tee with no signs.
- Dirt tee's are marked with two yellow squares on the ground, some were hard to find.
- You had to have a map or have played there before. To navigate through course.
Other Thoughts: Free course with benches and trash cans through out. I like how the course uses all the park. It had a nice flow with a good range of shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun course for a change

2-4    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: rnehrig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i'm new to disc golfing 2 months ago. have only played 2 other courses. this offered a lot of opportunities to try different shots. all the mature tree will teach you real quick how to keep a shot lower to the ground
Cons: found course on this website, didn't print map, i guess i am used to having at least a main map at the park. although couldn't find my way around a very gracious local was our "tour guide" for the course. thanks to jesse!
Other Thoughts: had a lot of fun with all the different layouts that took a buddy to play 2 days later. he had a blast.
signs would be nice but now 2 times in, finding my way aorund no problem.
maybe they could print course layout from here and put it on their golf info sign.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wish there was somewhere else...

5+    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Scrubgolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its near me. There are a few fun holes but issues in the CONS section hurt the course over all.
Cons: Geese poop, geese poop and more geese poop. They should change the name of the course to Geese Poop. Bring a towel. Many of the holes play too close to the water and that's some nasty, stinky, geese poop filled water that I will not go into to get a disc. I think we are up to at least six water lost discs.

Do not bother trying to play several of the original holes after it rains, they have no drainage on much of the course and its a soggy mire.

The new holes, while high and dry, have dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: If I had somewhere else to play I would not play here.

Right now we skip all the holes near the water and the swampy holes.

I get tired of stepping in geese poop and cleaning it off my discs. All that geese poop cannot be healthy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: BloatedLlama
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park. The holes are laid out fairly close together, making navigation for the most part simple.
Cons: A couple of the tees were hard to find, and I believe number 8 may cause problems for some people, due to the fact that it runs real close to a busy street.
Other Thoughts: The two holes that played over the water were a nice change, this was the first time I had ever thrown over water. Not a long course, nor to short something nice to play if you are in the area and have about an hour to kill.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'm hooked...

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: hoosierfanatic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well-maintained baskets. Great layout. beautiful setting.
Cons: Need concrete tee pads on all holes. Signage would be helpful to direct new players from hole to hole. The Highland Park geese have left a lot of "gifts" throughout the course- watch your step.
Other Thoughts: I should start by saying that I am a disc golf beginner. I always thought this game was played by middle-aged, overweight men who needed an excuse to get out of the house but were incapable of playing any real sports. Maybe it's just because I now fit most of those descriptions, but whatever the case, I love this game (I probably owe the NBA some money for that one).

The Higland Park Couse is great. It was easy enough that I didn't get overly frustrated as a beginner... but it seems to offer challenges for long-time players.

The course is beautiful. It truly does make use of most of the park's features (water and elevation changes). Holes 2 & 4 offer an opportunity for the brave to play over the water and also offer alternate tees for the less brave. My only complaint is that the course could be marked a little better. The course crosses the road and the creek on a couple of occasions, and if you're not familiar with the layout, you'll spend some time trying to figure out where some of the tees are located.

Anyway, grab a couple of discs and an old pair of shoes (it can get kind of soggy and the goose poop is really pretty bad) and check-out Highland Park. It's a lot of fun, and it's free!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Multiple Choice!

1    5/26/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: drock2k1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple hole types including wooded, open, over water, uphill and downhill. You should have plenty of chances to use all the shots you have in your bag. Nice baskets and tee pads for the holes that have them. Alternate tee locations for those who don't want to throw over water. A good mix of challenging holes with short birdie/eagle holes mixed in. Lots of trees will force you to be precise and also make for fun shot selections.
Cons: Can get muddy. It's a park so you can expect to have people in your way. Although there are nice hole signs on the tee pads you don't have a clue where the next hole is and it can be diffucult to find where you need to go next.
Other Thoughts: If you don't like water, this course can give you problems. Water is in play on many more holes than the description says. The brook isn't increadibly deep so if you loose your favorite disc, there is a possibility of retrieving it. You can easily send a roller on most of the front 9 holes into the water as well. I love having to throw over water, it forces you to make a good throw so I honestly see this as a plus. You can always tee off at the secondary tee boxes if you want to avoid it. I didn't see any trash cans but I am sure they are there, somewhere. Take the advice from other reviewers and print off a map, I didn't and I wish I did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.