Disc Golf Store
Kokomo, IN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #3
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    9/21/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: BloatedLlama
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park. The holes are laid out fairly close together, making navigation for the most part simple.
Cons: A couple of the tees were hard to find, and I believe number 8 may cause problems for some people, due to the fact that it runs real close to a busy street.
Other Thoughts: The two holes that played over the water were a nice change, this was the first time I had ever thrown over water. Not a long course, nor to short something nice to play if you are in the area and have about an hour to kill.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'm hooked...

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: hoosierfanatic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well-maintained baskets. Great layout. beautiful setting.
Cons: Need concrete tee pads on all holes. Signage would be helpful to direct new players from hole to hole. The Highland Park geese have left a lot of "gifts" throughout the course- watch your step.
Other Thoughts: I should start by saying that I am a disc golf beginner. I always thought this game was played by middle-aged, overweight men who needed an excuse to get out of the house but were incapable of playing any real sports. Maybe it's just because I now fit most of those descriptions, but whatever the case, I love this game (I probably owe the NBA some money for that one).

The Higland Park Couse is great. It was easy enough that I didn't get overly frustrated as a beginner... but it seems to offer challenges for long-time players.

The course is beautiful. It truly does make use of most of the park's features (water and elevation changes). Holes 2 & 4 offer an opportunity for the brave to play over the water and also offer alternate tees for the less brave. My only complaint is that the course could be marked a little better. The course crosses the road and the creek on a couple of occasions, and if you're not familiar with the layout, you'll spend some time trying to figure out where some of the tees are located.

Anyway, grab a couple of discs and an old pair of shoes (it can get kind of soggy and the goose poop is really pretty bad) and check-out Highland Park. It's a lot of fun, and it's free!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Multiple Choice!

1    5/26/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: drock2k1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple hole types including wooded, open, over water, uphill and downhill. You should have plenty of chances to use all the shots you have in your bag. Nice baskets and tee pads for the holes that have them. Alternate tee locations for those who don't want to throw over water. A good mix of challenging holes with short birdie/eagle holes mixed in. Lots of trees will force you to be precise and also make for fun shot selections.
Cons: Can get muddy. It's a park so you can expect to have people in your way. Although there are nice hole signs on the tee pads you don't have a clue where the next hole is and it can be diffucult to find where you need to go next.
Other Thoughts: If you don't like water, this course can give you problems. Water is in play on many more holes than the description says. The brook isn't increadibly deep so if you loose your favorite disc, there is a possibility of retrieving it. You can easily send a roller on most of the front 9 holes into the water as well. I love having to throw over water, it forces you to make a good throw so I honestly see this as a plus. You can always tee off at the secondary tee boxes if you want to avoid it. I didn't see any trash cans but I am sure they are there, somewhere. Take the advice from other reviewers and print off a map, I didn't and I wish I did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Uh-oh water!!

1    5/7/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets (spider-webs/chainstars I believe) fairly easy to navigate throughout the course with the course maps. Most of the shots will keep you accurate while a few holes will let you "open up"
Cons: Gets muddy, if you tend to not do well around water a few holes might make you rethink what you want to throw. Puddles were in quite a few of the paths/approaches (nothing like throwing a great drive and hoping on the skip only to find it SPLASH in a puddle in front of the basket)
Other Thoughts: They have a temp course set up on the north end of the park for the tournament, both courses were AWESOME! and quite a few birdie opportunities. The creek has no problems swallowing your discs and with it being quite murky, hard to see. I lost 3 discs that day, 2 putters and a brand new eagle. It is a very large park with baseball diamonds and a nature building which was closed when I was there. Over-all I would enjoy playing this course again!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you are scared of water. . .

2-4    4/18/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Preacher Johnson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On most holes the course will make you be acurate without having to thread a needle. If you have never played around water hole #2 will either give you confidence or destroy your desire.
Cons: On a nice day there will be a lot of nondiscgolfers roaming around in the way. If it's baseball season you may have to play around a team warming up for the next game.
Other Thoughts: The "brook" is about waist deep (some teens were wading in it when we played) so loosing a disc on #2 and #4 is a possibility. They do have alternate tees on those two holes if you don't want to throw over the water.

The park is nice but maybe a sign or two around the playground and the ball diamonds letting people know that there may be flying saucers going by would be nice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mix and Match

1    3/13/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, very nice baskets, variety of holes, great for beginners (not too technical) yet offers some challenges for advanced players, great integration of river/creek on the few holes it is in play.
Cons: Dirt tees are very difficult to find, no practice basket, you have to cross the road several times between holes to go to the next group of holes, I don't recall any trashcans, hole 1 tee and 18 basket are far from parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a little bit of variety with most holes playing through/around mature growth. It is forgiving for those errant throws as you will still have a look at the basket. The course design took advantage of all the park has to offer; a few elevation changes, the river, and the low ceiling tunnel shots.

One thing that annoyed me was the fact that I had to cross the road several times to go to the next set of holes, however, I believe this was necessary in course design to allow room for all 18 holes.

The signage on the teeboxes was nice for the ? holes that had it (maybe half), but the other half of the holes only had wooden plates level with the ground designating where the tee is for those dirt tees, They were very difficult to find and easy to overlook. It definitlely helps to print out a map before playing.

I found the course to be somewhat easy, but I had a great time playing it and would make the trip to play again (1 hour drive). Concrete tees to replace dirt tees would be an excellent addition.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: kaufmanlawn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is newer. There are alternate tees on a few holes and the concrete tees have nice signs showing where the baskets are. Nice Baskets.
Cons: Several holes run next to a creek that you can easily lose a disc in. (I did!) Several holes run parallel to each other could be easy to hit someone. Dirt tees can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Print off the map!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.