Disc Golf Store
Kokomo, IN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #9
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Uh-oh water!!

1    5/7/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets (spider-webs/chainstars I believe) fairly easy to navigate throughout the course with the course maps. Most of the shots will keep you accurate while a few holes will let you "open up"
Cons: Gets muddy, if you tend to not do well around water a few holes might make you rethink what you want to throw. Puddles were in quite a few of the paths/approaches (nothing like throwing a great drive and hoping on the skip only to find it SPLASH in a puddle in front of the basket)
Other Thoughts: They have a temp course set up on the north end of the park for the tournament, both courses were AWESOME! and quite a few birdie opportunities. The creek has no problems swallowing your discs and with it being quite murky, hard to see. I lost 3 discs that day, 2 putters and a brand new eagle. It is a very large park with baseball diamonds and a nature building which was closed when I was there. Over-all I would enjoy playing this course again!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you are scared of water. . .

2-4    4/18/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Preacher Johnson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On most holes the course will make you be acurate without having to thread a needle. If you have never played around water hole #2 will either give you confidence or destroy your desire.
Cons: On a nice day there will be a lot of nondiscgolfers roaming around in the way. If it's baseball season you may have to play around a team warming up for the next game.
Other Thoughts: The "brook" is about waist deep (some teens were wading in it when we played) so loosing a disc on #2 and #4 is a possibility. They do have alternate tees on those two holes if you don't want to throw over the water.

The park is nice but maybe a sign or two around the playground and the ball diamonds letting people know that there may be flying saucers going by would be nice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mix and Match

1    3/13/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, very nice baskets, variety of holes, great for beginners (not too technical) yet offers some challenges for advanced players, great integration of river/creek on the few holes it is in play.
Cons: Dirt tees are very difficult to find, no practice basket, you have to cross the road several times between holes to go to the next group of holes, I don't recall any trashcans, hole 1 tee and 18 basket are far from parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a little bit of variety with most holes playing through/around mature growth. It is forgiving for those errant throws as you will still have a look at the basket. The course design took advantage of all the park has to offer; a few elevation changes, the river, and the low ceiling tunnel shots.

One thing that annoyed me was the fact that I had to cross the road several times to go to the next set of holes, however, I believe this was necessary in course design to allow room for all 18 holes.

The signage on the teeboxes was nice for the ? holes that had it (maybe half), but the other half of the holes only had wooden plates level with the ground designating where the tee is for those dirt tees, They were very difficult to find and easy to overlook. It definitlely helps to print out a map before playing.

I found the course to be somewhat easy, but I had a great time playing it and would make the trip to play again (1 hour drive). Concrete tees to replace dirt tees would be an excellent addition.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: kaufmanlawn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is newer. There are alternate tees on a few holes and the concrete tees have nice signs showing where the baskets are. Nice Baskets.
Cons: Several holes run next to a creek that you can easily lose a disc in. (I did!) Several holes run parallel to each other could be easy to hit someone. Dirt tees can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Print off the map!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.