Lebanon, PA 
Lenni Lenape Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #5 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Welcome to the Island

1    4/18/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice signage. Easy to navigate. The Island hole (#2) is pretty neat and is better than trying to throw over a big water hazard and losing your discs. Some open holes and some through the woods.
Cons: The open holes are really wide open. A little hilly at some spots.
Other Thoughts: A really nice course I hope to get back and play again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bipolar

1    7/4/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lenni Lenape offers a unique experience with some really interesting holes, some you may love and some you probably could skip. That was the case for me, as some holes felt liked they belonged on a 4.0-4.5-rated course and others on a 2.0-rated course. Given the small piece of land that the course is on, I feel that the designers did a tremendous job maximizing the property's potential to create some awesome holes and giving the course a nice balance of holes types. Despite being in a small park, it offers nice bathrooms, plenty of parking, a playground, and is very clean throughout.

All of the equipment is in great shape with new/informing tee signs, very comfortable concrete tees, and DISCatchers easy to spot in the thick woods.

Holes 7-14 offer a fun mix of shots in the woods, some being ace runs that require extreme accuracy, some that give you more room to work with and offer multiple lines, as well as a few multi-stage holes with specific landing zones. I couldn't shake the feeling that some of the holes in this stretch of the course displayed John Houck-esque landing zones, which is a genuine compliment. I was pleasantly surprised at how good these middle holes were.

There is a good balance of wooded and open holes here. I did appreciate the O.B. penalties on holes 1 and 2, giving these plain holes a little more character - hole 2 has an island-hole quality to it.

The design does a great job of using the elevation changes and only one or two holes are completely flat. Some of the open holes utilize rolling hills to make them slightly more interesting and the elevation used throughout the round provides some really unique holes. For example, hole 5 plays downhill, but there is a plateau that you need to land on or over to have a shot at birdie. The elevation also gives a risk/reward factor on a few holes. Hole 7 is initially a straight uphill shot that turns into a downward sloping dogleg right. The pin is set on the slope with a drop-off behind it.

Navigation is intuitive and there is very little walking in between holes.
Cons: -The main detractor of this course is the lesser holes at the beginning and end of the round. Holes 1,2, and 15-18 pretty much play wide open and having 1/3 of the course being completely open is hurtful to its rating IMO. It's especially a letdown to end with four boring holes after a stretch of great holes. Hole 15 is really bad with mounds of dirt and mulch being the main obstacle. However, that part may not be the designers' doing.
-I probably caught the course at one of the worst times of the year in terms of rough, but it was really bad in some parts. The extreme angles on some of the holes combined with thick rough definitely encourages spotting. I do want to thank Michael though for calling me right away when he found one of my lost discs.
-Holes 5 and 8 would be better if just a little more clearing was done in the fairway.
-There is not much variety in terms of pars and hole lengths.
-Navigating the course is not for the faint of heart with some steep hill climbs and tight paths in the woods. I could see navigation being an even greater problem after the rain.
Other Thoughts: These guys know how to design a course and courses seem to be regularly popping up in the area with their stamp on them. I would recommend stopping here if you are in the area playing South Hills as it is a great compliment to that course. Despite only being a few miles from each other, the courses offer a diverse mix of rolling hills and tight woods.

This is a hard course for me to rate. It has a bipolar quality to it with some wonderfully designed wooded holes, multiple wide open holes, and a few decent holes that have awful rough to make them less enjoyable. With a park this small, the designers appear to have been limited on what they could do for 18 holes so I think they did the best they could. Being only a few months old, I imagine that the course will only get better from here on out in terms of clearing fairways and rough. I am going with a 3.0, though I feel that the course is on the high end of this rating. I definitely encourage you to play this course, even at least just to check out the wooded holes if that fits your taste.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Open then Shut then Open Again

1    6/14/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Quality 4'x10' level, concrete tees, tall teesigns, and quality baskets,

Combination of open/wooded, elevation changes, shot-shaping, distances.
Cons: A few of the holes have dense collection of random trees ~2/3rds of the way down the fairway, making luck a major factor.

A few tees are too close to previous baskets/other fairways - for example, tee-10 is in danger of too-wide-a-turning drive from tee-9, and also from a too-early-a-turn drive from tee-16.

Some of the ascents/descents to tees/baskets are a bit steep, and could be slippery when wet, Thick undergrowth along the early wooded holes could cause some long searches,

Other Thoughts: Course dominates a new park set behind a neighbourhood bordering former farmland, with 1/3rd of the course starting/ending in open space, and the bulk of the course playing up, down, and atop a wooded plateau.

The open holes (1-2, 15-18) are, as expected, where most of the longer holes are found, some with out-of-bounds (left or "island"), treelines (along right side), and/or elevation loss. Holes 3-9 (and start of 10) are on the shorter side, and play up, down, and along the wooded slope, with an emphasis on tunneling fairways, right-turns, and good control. Holes 10-14 are set atop the wooded plateau, where the trees are taller/denser, underbrush is less prevalent, holes lengthen, and where most of the left-turning shots will be found.

Favourite hole: #11 - a long, "double-jointed" left-turner, with many-a-tree to cast aside a wayward disc.

Navigation: Even w/o a map, following the course was fairly straightforward, with the next-tee arrows at the bottom of the baskets. Only a bit of backtracking occurs from bakset-1 to tee-2, basket-5 to tee-6, and basket-12 to tee-13.

A decent course, offering good variety, which should improve as it breaks in over time.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great variety

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: kyledstauffer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Course makes great use of elevation. There are some downhill bombers, ravines and uphill shots to traverse. Really good job of making some unique holes that you won't see every day. In particular one hole is guarded by two large rock piles after a tight lined downhill bomb. The last hole is also pretty cool - parked on top of a retention basement that requires good placement. On the whole it has a good mix of open and wooded holes which is difficult for many courses to achieve. Mostly wooded holes that really require you to hit your lines. Difficult but not absurdly so - I would not recommend for beginners. Fairly easy to navigate as well with good tee signs, next tee signs and quality concrete pads. Dunkle did a nice job with this one.
Cons: This course is a jungle. If you're not prepared it will take your lunch money and more than likely one or two of your soldiers as well. Be prepared to spend some time hiking in the brush. Could use a little more maintenance though that's really no fault of the designer.
Other Thoughts: Bring your A game. This course requires an awesome variety of throws to succeed. You're going to need to bring your best backhand, forehand, tomahawks etc. the whole gambit of throws is required which is what I liked best about it.

Very nice

1    5/30/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality design in a small park.
Bathrooms were new and clean.
Nice use of the elevation changes.
Putting may be a challenge due to the fast greens on the existing pin postions.
Course has new baskets and concrete tees throughout.

Cons: I thought some of the wooded holes were routed a little close together, as the course develops this may become an issue.

Other Thoughts: Nice use of the elevation changes. Worth the hour+ drive.
Fun to play and looking forward to going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great new course

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good use of OB to make the shorter holes interesting.
- Some real signature short holes that require precision turns through elevation changes.
- Most of the wooded holes had a fairly wide path but lots of bends.
- Good mix of open, wooded, and altitude holes.
- Nice full size concrete pads
- Good signage.
- Pretty park.
Cons: - a couple holes in the woods were spray and pray.
- could do with a couple long holes.
- no water. I like water.
Other Thoughts: Was an hour drive for me, but I'll be back soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice but a bit strenuous

1    4/14/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: superk1035
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newer course, no trash, freshly cleaned fairways so no brush or weeds (it was early spring though), new grippy teepads, easy to read not missing tee signs.
Cons: Steep! Hills abound in the first 9 (all I made it through due to flying in that day). I am sure that #6 is 189 long and 189 up!
Other Thoughts: I think this is going to be a phenomenal course once all the grass grows in, and the wind isn't blowing 30 mph like the day I played. Don't miss this one if you are nearby!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lenape is a must see!

2-4    4/9/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: Peanut74
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This picturesque course has a great layout featuring the perfect mix of long and short holes, wooded and non-wooded holes, and an interesting use of elevations. You never know who will win it on any given day. Tee pads and baskets are great, signage is attractive and easy to read (making it easy to navigate) The park is dog friendly.
Cons: Very few: the course fits well into a tight space and, the designers made the most of it but, the wooded holes are a bit close together. The contrasting elevations make for interesting holes but, there are a few steep inclines to negotiate.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful course filled with interesting holes that is sure to produce a different winner every time. Enjoy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.