Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Stockton, CA 
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent Variety and Distance

5+    1/1/2014   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
Pros: *Well maintained
*Quiet
*Friendly Players
*Back nine has good variety
*A few VERY wide open holes to rip it
*Bathrooms and water fountains nearby
*Green grass
*Multiple pin positions
*Deccent variabliity in hole distance (150-450ft)
Cons: *Front half of course fairly bland, and holes are stacked on each other
*Pay $5 to park
*Pin positions are not that different from each other
*Sometimes muddy on front 9
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, well maintained course. I prefer 'fast grass,' so if you are used to straw, you wont be getting any extra distance when you touch down. There are some wide open holes on the back nine, the front nine except for hole one are all arranged closely and you will be throwing back toward the previous hole's pad a few times. My favorite part is the last 5-7 holes, some nice positioning and dense-ish, but well thought out designs. It has never been packed when I have played there, so you can play unabated. For first time players, request a map, as it can be tough to navigate, the front entrance gate has maps. The water features are really on the fringe, so no direct affect on play. This is a shared public park with playgrounds and paddleboat rentals, so keep an eye for pedestrians, but they wont really be in your direct path when you throw.

 Dead or alive, you're coming with me!

1    8/4/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful pay ($5 to get in to the park) to play. The course has sparse trees, water, OB, Mandos, and some open holes. The concrete tee pads are adequate, but the tee signs are excellent. They have all the right info on them. The pin placements are pretty good with a couple holes having manmade structures created for them. The park is big and has lots of great parking. They look as though they are constantly mowing this place. There are restrooms and drinking fountains at a few different points in the course and plenty of trash cans. When entering the park, let the guard know you are going to play and he will give you a map to use.
Cons: You will need that map. It is not that easy to find you way around even with it. I actually even had to ask someone form the grounds crew for help once (ahh the shame!) This is a flat course and the holes are not too difficult. The hole-length variety is not really there. Most of the holes are between 250 and 350 feet. You will likely use the same discs for many of the holes here.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was average. There were a few really fun holes, a few boring holes, and a bunch of average holes. I still felt it was worth the entry fee. I think this is a good course. It is a little better than the average course, because the terrain does seem to change and it is really well maintained.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Newby Con Builder!

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: tdonovanj
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great warm up holes on the front 9.
Almost impossible to lose a disc.
Nice green grass right now.
Friendly locals.
Clean restrooms and facilities.
Cons: Flat flat flat.
Other Thoughts: This course is just what the doctor ordered for me as a newcomer to the sport. It is very forgiving and I did not stress about losing a disc. The front 9 builds your confidence and skills with short holes that were within the par realm for me! The back 9 was long enough for me to practice with my driver and skip right to the putter! A very nicely maintained course with very helpful locals and the map given was great. Will be back for sure while my skillset improves!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/1/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Nice big oaks which add a sprinkling of technicality
-Nice fairways, loosing your disc isn't much of an issue on this course
-Nice course map when entering the park
-$ to play
-Well thought out holes considering the landscape
Cons: -Course get's a little monotinous. Needs more variety including more elevation change and technicality. Given what they were working with however, course designers did a very nice job.
Other Thoughts: -A must play if in the area. Not a destination course however.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two 9’s

2-4    12/31/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Very easy to find and navigate
• Beautiful park with additional activities (e.g. boat rentals, fishing, nature center, walking trails, picnic areas, etc….) and facilities (e.g. restrooms, water fountains, etc…)
• Warm-up areas everywhere
Cons:
• $5 is a bit much to park but you can see where the money's going
• Goose poop - Yea, what're going to do really? They were probably here first.
• Holes 2-8 are very congested so keep your head on a swivel
• People, roads, cars, and houses, can be in play on a couple holes.
• Tees are a little small
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• Hole 16's basket is marked "13" but it's not that big a deal as there's no other hole around to confuse you.
• There's a strip mall on the opposite side of I5 from the park that has food, gas, stores, etc…
• You can get a map from the ranger when you come in but it's almost unnecessary.
• I've read the tips that suggest parking near #10 and starting your round there for a shorter walk, but my opinion is that no matter where you park, the walk is not going to take long. I would actually advise starting on #1 because 1-9 are a nice warm-up to the shots needed on 10-18.
• The alternate pins were in place for 6 and 7 and that brings the water in play. I advise caution as I watched one guy put his disk in the lake and we almost did a few times.

Random Thoughts:
I call this a tale of two 9's because the front nine is considerably different than the back nine. I wonder if they were installed at different times. The front nine is in the main area of the park and basically criss-crosses an open field with a few trees here and there to make things interesting and have you try different shots, but the back nine is in the more woodsy area of the park and is far more spaced out and a bit more challenging. What's nice about this course is you can always see the basket and it's driveable but there are usually a couple shots you can use to get there. I would imagine that the more advanced golfer would do quite well here, and even I had a great first round (14 pars, 3 bogeys (2 inexcusable ones), and 1 birdie) but I enjoyed the course so much I ended up playing another 36 holes that day and 27 the next. Yes, my shoulder is really unhappy with me. I also almost got my first ace on two different occasions. Quite the confidence booster. Overall, I can comfortably say I parred every hole at some point and birdied about 5. For reference: I currently drive about 280-290 and primarily throw RHBH.


Bottom Line: While the advanced player may be bored here, I think this is a fun pitch/drive and putt course where you can work on various shots without too much fear of losing a disc. It's flat and the holes aren't real long so I would consider this a great place to improve your game, and also a fantastic place to introduce someone to the game without anyone getting too frustrated. The park itself is also surprisingly nice considering where it is so you can plan a nice day around it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The only true course in Stockton

2-4    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tees
- pretty good pin locations, dual pins (not sure how often they move them)
- okay signs
- you can get a course map at the booth you pay at when you drive in, this is very helpful for navigation if it's your first time here
- small small amounts of elevation and minor water hazards at least add to the course looking nice
- the only course in Stockton that's worth going to
Cons: - $5 park entrance fee is not worth it unless you're with a group of friends
- the layout is a little spotty. Hole 7 throws directly at where basket 3 and tee 4 are, so if you're on any of those three holes, watch for other golfers or someone could easily get hurt.
- there is a very long walk between hole 9 and hole 10 that can be confusing if you don't grab the course map
- the cement tees are very small so you can't take much run-up
Other Thoughts: There are essentially two separate loops that make up this course. Holes 2-9, and Holes 10-18 and Hole 1. When you park, head directly over the bridge across the street and start at Hole 2. Hole 1 tees off by 18's basket, so you can just play it at the end because the basket is right by the parking lot. It's just more efficient that way.

Oak Grove Regional Park is really the only true course in Stockton, so if you're passing through and want to get out of the car and play, this course is worth it. It's not too long, but just enough to provide a fun time and a challenge. I'd recommend it for beginners to the lower end of advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park setting

1    9/2/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: WilltheNurse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely taken care of park with green grass fairways. A mix of shots needed to do well on the course. A good mix of length on the holes. Alternate pin positions. Well marked course, And a course map at the entrance station.
Cons: I hate water hazards, I seem to always give a disc to the water gods, this time it was my DX Beast. The front nice is a little short, but made up for with the back nine which is much more technical.
Other Thoughts: The parking fees are now $5 dollars everyday.
An enjoyable course to play

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Country Club Feel

1    7/15/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice kept green lawn. Holes are more challenging than they look. 3-5 bucks for parking keeps the riff-raff out.
Nice open park lots of oaks and some small lakes/ponds.
Cons: A little soggy in the morning, a little duck poop. I really don't have any complaints here.
Other Thoughts: pay for parking veer to the left, park near bathroom start at 10 (to the left of entering parking lot), play throuh using 9 as 18, drops you right back to your car.
I have lost 2 discs in the water.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good

11/4/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Played through the trees. The course is mapped out. A little bit of skill req.
Cons: Flat area, not much of a hike.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.