Stockton, CA
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 345ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Just added an additional 18 to the course.

2-4    4/9/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Discarus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Surprised on my second visit that they added an additional 18 holes very recently. Got to play 36 holes in a reasonable amount of time. There are some easy to tricky holes. Good mix on additon of holes.
Cons: Since the additional holes were so new, there were no teeboxes for scattered new 18. Tricky to locate new teeboxes and baskets. Also unsure if neww 18 is permanant or just for upcoming tournament. Unmowed areas have you walking through nettles (Wear pants/jeans).
Other Thoughts: I would play again.

Quality Course

1    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nicely maintained park and grounds
+No rif raf
+Mulitiple pin locations
+Pleanty of parking very close to hole 1
+Other park goers stayed out of the disk golf area
+Some holes with challenging distances
Cons: -Although the t-pads are concrete, many are too small for my taste. Some too short, others too narrow.
-Front 9 is very simplistic
-Park entry fee of $6
-Very, very flat
-Misleading signage
-Didn't find a practace basket(s) area
Other Thoughts: Overall I thouroghly enjoyed my day at Oak Grove Regonal. After the front 9 the holes became more challenging. It is a grassy course with scattered trees(mostley oaks). The last 7 or so holes play toward the main road and an open field. This open field allows the wind to gain momentum and did affect play. I didn't list it as a negetive because I feel thats just all part of the game. I will defenetly play here again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Main course

5+    3/13/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: BossRoss
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2-3 Rotating pins per hole
-Beautiful Valley Oaks that do add some difficulty
-Never really busy during the week
-Water hazard on two holes 6 and 7 minimal though
-Front nine is a awesome warm up section
-Constantly mowed grass for the most part of the course!
-Concrete Tees but not multiply

Cons: -Flat
-Back nine is right next to a busy street
-Goose Poo!!!
-p2p but it overruled by shear beauty of the park
-No holes are longer then 450 at any given time
-Water hazard on two holes 6 and 7 minimal though (nice dredging spot but ask the main office first!!)
Other Thoughts: The park it self is beautiful would be a nice place to take the family it does have restrooms and a jungle gym. Fishing is allowed with a permit and I have caught a couple of big mouth bass next to the amphitheater. There are nature trails that are pretty nice and pretty nice, the local crowd don't mind if you ask to play through, most are pretty friendly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in Stockton

5+    11/1/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 106  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most under rated courses in the Sacramento Valley. There are cement tee pads with DGA baskets that are in good condition. There are signs at every hole that has a map with pin location distances. There are multiple pin locations for every hole and they can greatly change the hole play depending on the pins location. The course is well maintained by the city parks grounds keepers and there are trash cans at almost every hole. Course maps can be obtained when you first enter and pay your access fee. Never that crowded.
Cons: Pay to play (5$). Some tee pads are pretty small or in blocks that are not that even. Goose poo everywhere. Wind in this area can be killer and will ruin your round (their club is called the windjammers).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play if you are driving through or are relatively close to the area. I find that it is one of the more under rated courses around but this is probably due to the fact that most people don't go to Stockton. This course really can be broken down as two courses because they are very different. The front nine is more of a warm up with a lot more birdie opportunities than the back nine. The tee pads are not as uniform on the front nine than the back nine. The back section will have you throwing much further and will leave you much more exposed to the wind. This can make your seemingly great round turn into a nightmare. So bring wind tolerant discs and prepare to play a great course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Grove May 2010

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice cut grass for the most part. Mostly flat course, hard to loose a disc except maybe on a bad shot near the water. Easy to find your way around. We walked the course with our baby in his jogger stroller with no issues. Bathroom, Water, tables, shade, playground for the kids and more.
Cons: some tall grass with stickers that could use a cutting
Other Thoughts: Nice course, as someone else said, park, cross the bridge and start at 2. NOTE: The sign for 3 is missing but the tee pad close to the 2 basket is it. It plays the same direction 2 did. I think it was 15 maybe (by the entrance) has a number 1 on the basket. Fun course, will return

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    2/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Decent use of land
-Love playing on grass
-Nice amenities

Cons: -None worth mentioning
-Not a very technical course
Other Thoughts: Played here one afternoon thinking it was the original...Found out I was on the wrong course!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Green Grass = Summer Course

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Natedog565
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the bonus features of a disc-course such as -
Green and cut grass!
Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, interstate access, beautiful valley oaks, NO poison oak
Cons: Variety of shots required

Several wide open drives

Few technical baskets

The non-golfers and wind are really not that bad, but check the weather or go in the morning; delta winds are strongest in the evening.

I despise the geese droppings, although I hear it's good for grip (use at your own risk)... And they were not here first, they're suppose to migrate, they're Canadian geese!
Other Thoughts: Ask for a map when entering, albeit you don't really need it.

This is my local course. I like Hogan better, but it's frustrating to play in the summer/fall with all the stickers and tall dead grass. I think this is a good course, the extra .5 is for all the bonus amenities of this course minus the 5$ fee. If your passing through on I-5 I would recommend playing it, especially in the summer. The back 9 is far from the front 9.



3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small Tees but Big Fun

2-4    3/6/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: Peterb
Played: 68  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is really nice: Mature Oak trees on a flat as a pancake plain. The grass is mowed, there are water hazards, and great facilities that make playing here a joy. The shots are pretty straightforward but still can be challenging. Hole 12 was the hardest to birdie in my opinion, since you'd need to crush a RHBH anhyzer over everything to get near the well placed pin. I got it within 45 both times during last weekend's tourney but missed both putts. Easy access off I-5, plenty of parking, $5 fee keeps the riff-raff out.
Cons: They could use a tee and signage upgrade here. Some tees are fine but others, especially for tourney play, are too short, with muddy run ups this time of year (late winter/early spring), or are sloped downward, making it difficult to calibrate your shot. The signs are pretty old and could be updated, but for the most part the course is straightforward.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners or pros, Oak Grove has great valley scenery and is an easy walk for players of all abilities. It's convenient location off the freeway makes it a must play for anyone on the I-5 corridor in the Sacto to Modesto area. Not too far from the bay to hit up either

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    11/29/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: ChillyWilly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hard to lose your discs. Scenic. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: No elevation
Other Thoughts: Good place to just let 'er rip. Overall, there aren't too many obstacles, for better or worse. If you can drive 300 feet and put with some accuracy, you will have a lot of birdy opportunities. I felt like it would be easier for RHBH dominant players. I throw RHBH and could throw this way for almost every drive. There were a couple where I went for turnover shots. Went on a Saturday and it wasn't very crowded, but seemed to have a few regulars. Also, it is very convenient from I5, which means a lot of people from around the state could hit it in a few hours. Could be a good place to take inexperienced players because they won't be frustrated by a ton of elevation/obstacles.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Golf

1    11/26/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: imdigginthis
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Tees well marked
Nice Location
Course map at entrance gate.
Cons: Location of Tee 4. Tee 7 shoots back on 4 and I was almost hit it the head when my back was turned away from 7. Just don't turn away from 7 when shooting 4.
Other Thoughts: Introduced my brother-in-law and nephews to DG here on Thanksgiving Day. Great course for beginners to start on. I was only going to give it a three but this course is well organized so I say 3.5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.