Layout Extinct

Stockton, CA 
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 350ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sweet DG in the OG

1    10/21/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Country club disc golfing in a serene grove of mature oak trees. Superclean course with nicely mowed fairways. Many mature trees forcing hyser/anhyser drives. Options to go over the top with tomohawks too. Trees were big, but not too grabby, which was nice. I really appreciated the perks of it being a paid course with the upkeep and solitude without unwanted scragglers. The flow of the course is very intuitive, and the tee pads are nice.
Cons: Flat. Constant whizzing of traffic on Eight Mile Rd adjacent to the park entrance. Pretty wide open, so not too many burn spots.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of Sunset in Las Vegas, only WAY better. I was very pleasantly surprised and impressed with just how pretty and well taken care of this entire park is, let alone this sweet DG course.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (Very nice setting; best signs ever)
Difficulty: B+ (flat; just the right amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A- (appropriate length holes; myriad of shots)
Aesthetics: A (manicured; great DG setting)
---------------------
Overall: A-

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fall Trip to Stockton

1    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured park setting; easy Freeway access; Nice mix of short and Long shots; Local players friendly to outsiders; Easy to navigate. Water hazards minimal. More challenging than it looks. Not too crowded on a Saturday morning with perfect weather.
Cons: Some of the holes seem to be in close proximity to picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive from the Bay Area to check it out. Keep going when you're done and check out New Hogan Dam.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Green fairways, no elevation nor thick brush - Are you sure this ain't a ball golf course?

5+    2/3/2008   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a nice open course. Not many tree obstacles. The "luck factor" of avoiding trees on heavily wooded holes does not exist on this course, which is nice.
Cons: It can be very very hot, especially in Summer.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    2/14/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: J.Kasm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was pretty good! You have to pay a $5 entry fee to get into the park, but then you can play all the DG you want. The #10 basket is across the park, but the course loops around and takes you back to the #1 basket. There were a lot of different shots in this course and some were pretty difficult, but made for a good game. The first few baskets are lined up to each other in a staggered formation almost sharing greens with each other, but are spaced out enough to where you aren't playing over other golfers and vice-versa. There are several hyzer shots, a couple of dog-ears and several long-shots. This course is great fun and I think, being a beginner, good for beginners--on the front 9. I think the back 9 cause a player to be on their "A" game. It is possible to shoot this course under pair for more experienced players though. There were a lot of golfers on the course, but people were friendly and helpful when we got lost on the back 9. Overall, this course is an excellent course for beginners and the experienced golfers. Also, all of the tees are well marked with with helpful suggestions on driving around the obstacles. I wish I could have played this course one more time before I left California.
Cons: This is a public park and there were a lot of people fishing in the pond. Hole #9 tees off right next to the water, so be careful because we actually had to throw our discs about ten feet from some people fishing. This could make really inexperienced players very nervous. We had to tee-off to the far right and landed in the tall grass. Another con, but not too bad, is that it was crazy-windy! The winds were helpful at time, but really made the game tough.
Other Thoughts: When paying to get into the park, make sure to ask for a map of the course. It came in handy with the top 9 holes. Just remember to have a good time despite the non-golfers.

I'm sorry that the pictures are all jumbled, but I hope they give you an idea of the baskets and shows how nice this course is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.