Layout Extinct

Stockton, CA 
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 333ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Just added an additional 18 to the course.

2-4    4/9/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Discarus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: Surprised on my second visit that they added an additional 18 holes very recently. Got to play 36 holes in a reasonable amount of time. There are some easy to tricky holes. Good mix on additon of holes.
Cons: Since the additional holes were so new, there were no teeboxes for scattered new 18. Tricky to locate new teeboxes and baskets. Also unsure if neww 18 is permanant or just for upcoming tournament. Unmowed areas have you walking through nettles (Wear pants/jeans).
Other Thoughts: I would play again.

Decent Variety and Distance

5+    1/1/2014   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: *Well maintained
*Quiet
*Friendly Players
*Back nine has good variety
*A few VERY wide open holes to rip it
*Bathrooms and water fountains nearby
*Green grass
*Multiple pin positions
*Deccent variabliity in hole distance (150-450ft)
Cons: *Front half of course fairly bland, and holes are stacked on each other
*Pay $5 to park
*Pin positions are not that different from each other
*Sometimes muddy on front 9
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, well maintained course. I prefer 'fast grass,' so if you are used to straw, you wont be getting any extra distance when you touch down. There are some wide open holes on the back nine, the front nine except for hole one are all arranged closely and you will be throwing back toward the previous hole's pad a few times. My favorite part is the last 5-7 holes, some nice positioning and dense-ish, but well thought out designs. It has never been packed when I have played there, so you can play unabated. For first time players, request a map, as it can be tough to navigate, the front entrance gate has maps. The water features are really on the fringe, so no direct affect on play. This is a shared public park with playgrounds and paddleboat rentals, so keep an eye for pedestrians, but they wont really be in your direct path when you throw.

Maintenance and Signage

1    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 95  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Decent tee signs
- Concrete Tees for every hole
- Baskets seem to be in decent shape
- Most of the area was well kept and mowed
- Minimal blinds
- Begin/end at same location
Cons: First time players should expect the following:
- No overall map
- Pay station is cash only and makes limited change (seriously, cash only?!?!)
- Unclear starting point (first time)
- Unclear Tee signs/maps
- Little to no visibility to most baskets
- Visible baskets have unclear markers at range
- No flags or wind indicators
- No consistent indication of next tee
- Some fairway/basket overlap
- Unaware non-golfing bystanders
- Possibly aggressive geese
- Massive, unclear gap between front and back 9
- Unclear/disconnected first tee from second tee area (closer to pin 18 for some reason)
- Dangerous proximity to major road on back 9 (pin locations)
- Unclear pay station/entry fee (may not even have to pay sometimes)
- Short, narrow tees
Other Thoughts: In general this course wasn't "bad" and I found the wind and proximity to the main road and water hazards challenging but also unnecessarily hazardous. Sings upon entry were non-existent for disc golf and nothing was posted on the main boards. There is a sign board near the #9 pin that has DG info on it but also no indication of where to go to play the back 9. I just happen to see Tee #10 when I was driving around trying to figure out where Tee #1 was. Basically wasting a bunch of time getting out of the car and checking out each visible tee until I found Tee #1 and then more time wasted figuring out that Tee #2 was across the road from Pin #1. It just didn't need to be so unclear. The designer should have kept the front and back 9 close to each other and, if separating them, kept the beginning and end of each 9 together (if possible). Though someone said the parking was close to #1 tee, I disagree. It wasn't far but not clearly close like most other, well thought out courses. The Course layout could use improvement and a link between the front and back 9. It would be great to utilize the park space between the two with more holes or a better layout in general. I recommend a refresh of the course design. I don't think most general players would be disappointed by playing this course. First timers might find the layout confusing. I find the cost (had I had to pay it when I played) to be very high for what you get if you're just going for the disc golf course. I probably won't return if I have to pay to play this course. Please add more holes and a layout refresh and it might be worth paying for.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

stocton

5+    4/21/2011   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big, well maintained park. It does have baskets, so i guess thats a plus in stocton. does have t-pads, i guess. Easy to park near hole 1
Cons: t-pads, are weird, only aquatic park have i seen anything simular to some. Local non-discgolfers, do not seem to care that this is also a discgolf park. They picnic in front of the baskets, on fairways, and sometimes on the teepads. The local people who fish the lake, sometimes use baskets as BBQ grills.
Other Thoughts: $5 parking fee, to have people picnic in the fairways, not worth it. have been there 4 times, and everytime, multiple non-discgolfers camped on holes, twice had local fishermen using baskets near lake for BBQ, coals on aluminum foil, and fish on wires hanging from chains. Course I have refused to return to

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality Course

1    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nicely maintained park and grounds
+No rif raf
+Mulitiple pin locations
+Pleanty of parking very close to hole 1
+Other park goers stayed out of the disk golf area
+Some holes with challenging distances
Cons: -Although the t-pads are concrete, many are too small for my taste. Some too short, others too narrow.
-Front 9 is very simplistic
-Park entry fee of $6
-Very, very flat
-Misleading signage
-Didn't find a practace basket(s) area
Other Thoughts: Overall I thouroghly enjoyed my day at Oak Grove Regonal. After the front 9 the holes became more challenging. It is a grassy course with scattered trees(mostley oaks). The last 7 or so holes play toward the main road and an open field. This open field allows the wind to gain momentum and did affect play. I didn't list it as a negetive because I feel thats just all part of the game. I will defenetly play here again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Main course

5+    3/13/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: BossRoss
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2-3 Rotating pins per hole
-Beautiful Valley Oaks that do add some difficulty
-Never really busy during the week
-Water hazard on two holes 6 and 7 minimal though
-Front nine is a awesome warm up section
-Constantly mowed grass for the most part of the course!
-Concrete Tees but not multiply

Cons: -Flat
-Back nine is right next to a busy street
-Goose Poo!!!
-p2p but it overruled by shear beauty of the park
-No holes are longer then 450 at any given time
-Water hazard on two holes 6 and 7 minimal though (nice dredging spot but ask the main office first!!)
Other Thoughts: The park it self is beautiful would be a nice place to take the family it does have restrooms and a jungle gym. Fishing is allowed with a permit and I have caught a couple of big mouth bass next to the amphitheater. There are nature trails that are pretty nice and pretty nice, the local crowd don't mind if you ask to play through, most are pretty friendly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in Stockton

5+    11/1/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most under rated courses in the Sacramento Valley. There are cement tee pads with DGA baskets that are in good condition. There are signs at every hole that has a map with pin location distances. There are multiple pin locations for every hole and they can greatly change the hole play depending on the pins location. The course is well maintained by the city parks grounds keepers and there are trash cans at almost every hole. Course maps can be obtained when you first enter and pay your access fee. Never that crowded.
Cons: Pay to play (5$). Some tee pads are pretty small or in blocks that are not that even. Goose poo everywhere. Wind in this area can be killer and will ruin your round (their club is called the windjammers).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play if you are driving through or are relatively close to the area. I find that it is one of the more under rated courses around but this is probably due to the fact that most people don't go to Stockton. This course really can be broken down as two courses because they are very different. The front nine is more of a warm up with a lot more birdie opportunities than the back nine. The tee pads are not as uniform on the front nine than the back nine. The back section will have you throwing much further and will leave you much more exposed to the wind. This can make your seemingly great round turn into a nightmare. So bring wind tolerant discs and prepare to play a great course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet DG in the OG

1    10/21/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Country club disc golfing in a serene grove of mature oak trees. Superclean course with nicely mowed fairways. Many mature trees forcing hyser/anhyser drives. Options to go over the top with tomohawks too. Trees were big, but not too grabby, which was nice. I really appreciated the perks of it being a paid course with the upkeep and solitude without unwanted scragglers. The flow of the course is very intuitive, and the tee pads are nice.
Cons: Flat. Constant whizzing of traffic on Eight Mile Rd adjacent to the park entrance. Pretty wide open, so not too many burn spots.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of Sunset in Las Vegas, only WAY better. I was very pleasantly surprised and impressed with just how pretty and well taken care of this entire park is, let alone this sweet DG course.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (Very nice setting; best signs ever)
Difficulty: B+ (flat; just the right amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A- (appropriate length holes; myriad of shots)
Aesthetics: A (manicured; great DG setting)
---------------------
Overall: A-

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dead or alive, you're coming with me!

1    8/4/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful pay ($5 to get in to the park) to play. The course has sparse trees, water, OB, Mandos, and some open holes. The concrete tee pads are adequate, but the tee signs are excellent. They have all the right info on them. The pin placements are pretty good with a couple holes having manmade structures created for them. The park is big and has lots of great parking. They look as though they are constantly mowing this place. There are restrooms and drinking fountains at a few different points in the course and plenty of trash cans. When entering the park, let the guard know you are going to play and he will give you a map to use.
Cons: You will need that map. It is not that easy to find you way around even with it. I actually even had to ask someone form the grounds crew for help once (ahh the shame!) This is a flat course and the holes are not too difficult. The hole-length variety is not really there. Most of the holes are between 250 and 350 feet. You will likely use the same discs for many of the holes here.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was average. There were a few really fun holes, a few boring holes, and a bunch of average holes. I still felt it was worth the entry fee. I think this is a good course. It is a little better than the average course, because the terrain does seem to change and it is really well maintained.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Newby Con Builder!

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: tdonovanj
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great warm up holes on the front 9.
Almost impossible to lose a disc.
Nice green grass right now.
Friendly locals.
Clean restrooms and facilities.
Cons: Flat flat flat.
Other Thoughts: This course is just what the doctor ordered for me as a newcomer to the sport. It is very forgiving and I did not stress about losing a disc. The front 9 builds your confidence and skills with short holes that were within the par realm for me! The back 9 was long enough for me to practice with my driver and skip right to the putter! A very nicely maintained course with very helpful locals and the map given was great. Will be back for sure while my skillset improves!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.