Layout Extinct

Stockton, CA 
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 318ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/1/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Nice big oaks which add a sprinkling of technicality
-Nice fairways, loosing your disc isn't much of an issue on this course
-Nice course map when entering the park
-$ to play
-Well thought out holes considering the landscape
Cons: -Course get's a little monotinous. Needs more variety including more elevation change and technicality. Given what they were working with however, course designers did a very nice job.
Other Thoughts: -A must play if in the area. Not a destination course however.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Grove May 2010

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice cut grass for the most part. Mostly flat course, hard to loose a disc except maybe on a bad shot near the water. Easy to find your way around. We walked the course with our baby in his jogger stroller with no issues. Bathroom, Water, tables, shade, playground for the kids and more.
Cons: some tall grass with stickers that could use a cutting
Other Thoughts: Nice course, as someone else said, park, cross the bridge and start at 2. NOTE: The sign for 3 is missing but the tee pad close to the 2 basket is it. It plays the same direction 2 did. I think it was 15 maybe (by the entrance) has a number 1 on the basket. Fun course, will return

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    2/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Decent use of land
-Love playing on grass
-Nice amenities

Cons: -None worth mentioning
-Not a very technical course
Other Thoughts: Played here one afternoon thinking it was the original...Found out I was on the wrong course!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Green Grass = Summer Course

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Natedog565
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the bonus features of a disc-course such as -
Green and cut grass!
Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, interstate access, beautiful valley oaks, NO poison oak
Cons: Variety of shots required

Several wide open drives

Few technical baskets

The non-golfers and wind are really not that bad, but check the weather or go in the morning; delta winds are strongest in the evening.

I despise the geese droppings, although I hear it's good for grip (use at your own risk)... And they were not here first, they're suppose to migrate, they're Canadian geese!
Other Thoughts: Ask for a map when entering, albeit you don't really need it.

This is my local course. I like Hogan better, but it's frustrating to play in the summer/fall with all the stickers and tall dead grass. I think this is a good course, the extra .5 is for all the bonus amenities of this course minus the 5$ fee. If your passing through on I-5 I would recommend playing it, especially in the summer. The back 9 is far from the front 9.



3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small Tees but Big Fun

2-4    3/6/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The setting is really nice: Mature Oak trees on a flat as a pancake plain. The grass is mowed, there are water hazards, and great facilities that make playing here a joy. The shots are pretty straightforward but still can be challenging. Hole 12 was the hardest to birdie in my opinion, since you'd need to crush a RHBH anhyzer over everything to get near the well placed pin. I got it within 45 both times during last weekend's tourney but missed both putts. Easy access off I-5, plenty of parking, $5 fee keeps the riff-raff out.
Cons: They could use a tee and signage upgrade here. Some tees are fine but others, especially for tourney play, are too short, with muddy run ups this time of year (late winter/early spring), or are sloped downward, making it difficult to calibrate your shot. The signs are pretty old and could be updated, but for the most part the course is straightforward.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners or pros, Oak Grove has great valley scenery and is an easy walk for players of all abilities. It's convenient location off the freeway makes it a must play for anyone on the I-5 corridor in the Sacto to Modesto area. Not too far from the bay to hit up either

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two 9’s

2-4    12/31/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Very easy to find and navigate
• Beautiful park with additional activities (e.g. boat rentals, fishing, nature center, walking trails, picnic areas, etc….) and facilities (e.g. restrooms, water fountains, etc…)
• Warm-up areas everywhere
Cons:
• $5 is a bit much to park but you can see where the money's going
• Goose poop - Yea, what're going to do really? They were probably here first.
• Holes 2-8 are very congested so keep your head on a swivel
• People, roads, cars, and houses, can be in play on a couple holes.
• Tees are a little small
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• Hole 16's basket is marked "13" but it's not that big a deal as there's no other hole around to confuse you.
• There's a strip mall on the opposite side of I5 from the park that has food, gas, stores, etc…
• You can get a map from the ranger when you come in but it's almost unnecessary.
• I've read the tips that suggest parking near #10 and starting your round there for a shorter walk, but my opinion is that no matter where you park, the walk is not going to take long. I would actually advise starting on #1 because 1-9 are a nice warm-up to the shots needed on 10-18.
• The alternate pins were in place for 6 and 7 and that brings the water in play. I advise caution as I watched one guy put his disk in the lake and we almost did a few times.

Random Thoughts:
I call this a tale of two 9's because the front nine is considerably different than the back nine. I wonder if they were installed at different times. The front nine is in the main area of the park and basically criss-crosses an open field with a few trees here and there to make things interesting and have you try different shots, but the back nine is in the more woodsy area of the park and is far more spaced out and a bit more challenging. What's nice about this course is you can always see the basket and it's driveable but there are usually a couple shots you can use to get there. I would imagine that the more advanced golfer would do quite well here, and even I had a great first round (14 pars, 3 bogeys (2 inexcusable ones), and 1 birdie) but I enjoyed the course so much I ended up playing another 36 holes that day and 27 the next. Yes, my shoulder is really unhappy with me. I also almost got my first ace on two different occasions. Quite the confidence booster. Overall, I can comfortably say I parred every hole at some point and birdied about 5. For reference: I currently drive about 280-290 and primarily throw RHBH.


Bottom Line: While the advanced player may be bored here, I think this is a fun pitch/drive and putt course where you can work on various shots without too much fear of losing a disc. It's flat and the holes aren't real long so I would consider this a great place to improve your game, and also a fantastic place to introduce someone to the game without anyone getting too frustrated. The park itself is also surprisingly nice considering where it is so you can plan a nice day around it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    11/29/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: ChillyWilly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hard to lose your discs. Scenic. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: No elevation
Other Thoughts: Good place to just let 'er rip. Overall, there aren't too many obstacles, for better or worse. If you can drive 300 feet and put with some accuracy, you will have a lot of birdy opportunities. I felt like it would be easier for RHBH dominant players. I throw RHBH and could throw this way for almost every drive. There were a couple where I went for turnover shots. Went on a Saturday and it wasn't very crowded, but seemed to have a few regulars. Also, it is very convenient from I5, which means a lot of people from around the state could hit it in a few hours. Could be a good place to take inexperienced players because they won't be frustrated by a ton of elevation/obstacles.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Golf

1    11/26/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: imdigginthis
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Tees well marked
Nice Location
Course map at entrance gate.
Cons: Location of Tee 4. Tee 7 shoots back on 4 and I was almost hit it the head when my back was turned away from 7. Just don't turn away from 7 when shooting 4.
Other Thoughts: Introduced my brother-in-law and nephews to DG here on Thanksgiving Day. Great course for beginners to start on. I was only going to give it a three but this course is well organized so I say 3.5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The only true course in Stockton

2-4    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tees
- pretty good pin locations, dual pins (not sure how often they move them)
- okay signs
- you can get a course map at the booth you pay at when you drive in, this is very helpful for navigation if it's your first time here
- small small amounts of elevation and minor water hazards at least add to the course looking nice
- the only course in Stockton that's worth going to
Cons: - $5 park entrance fee is not worth it unless you're with a group of friends
- the layout is a little spotty. Hole 7 throws directly at where basket 3 and tee 4 are, so if you're on any of those three holes, watch for other golfers or someone could easily get hurt.
- there is a very long walk between hole 9 and hole 10 that can be confusing if you don't grab the course map
- the cement tees are very small so you can't take much run-up
Other Thoughts: There are essentially two separate loops that make up this course. Holes 2-9, and Holes 10-18 and Hole 1. When you park, head directly over the bridge across the street and start at Hole 2. Hole 1 tees off by 18's basket, so you can just play it at the end because the basket is right by the parking lot. It's just more efficient that way.

Oak Grove Regional Park is really the only true course in Stockton, so if you're passing through and want to get out of the car and play, this course is worth it. It's not too long, but just enough to provide a fun time and a challenge. I'd recommend it for beginners to the lower end of advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fall Trip to Stockton

1    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured park setting; easy Freeway access; Nice mix of short and Long shots; Local players friendly to outsiders; Easy to navigate. Water hazards minimal. More challenging than it looks. Not too crowded on a Saturday morning with perfect weather.
Cons: Some of the holes seem to be in close proximity to picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive from the Bay Area to check it out. Keep going when you're done and check out New Hogan Dam.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.