Stockton, CA
Oak Grove Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #10 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 342ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 A nice park setting

1    9/2/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: WilltheNurse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely taken care of park with green grass fairways. A mix of shots needed to do well on the course. A good mix of length on the holes. Alternate pin positions. Well marked course, And a course map at the entrance station.
Cons: I hate water hazards, I seem to always give a disc to the water gods, this time it was my DX Beast. The front nice is a little short, but made up for with the back nine which is much more technical.
Other Thoughts: The parking fees are now $5 dollars everyday.
An enjoyable course to play

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Country Club Feel

1    7/15/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice kept green lawn. Holes are more challenging than they look. 3-5 bucks for parking keeps the riff-raff out.
Nice open park lots of oaks and some small lakes/ponds.
Cons: A little soggy in the morning, a little duck poop. I really don't have any complaints here.
Other Thoughts: pay for parking veer to the left, park near bathroom start at 10 (to the left of entering parking lot), play throuh using 9 as 18, drops you right back to your car.
I have lost 2 discs in the water.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Green fairways, no elevation nor thick brush - Are you sure this ain't a ball golf course?

5+    2/3/2008   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a nice open course. Not many tree obstacles. The "luck factor" of avoiding trees on heavily wooded holes does not exist on this course, which is nice.
Cons: It can be very very hot, especially in Summer.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My second home!

5+    5/6/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well kept, mowed fairways!
Awesome park setting all grass!
Cool crowed, weeklys on Wednesday!
Water holes with alternate pin positions!
Cons: Goose chit everywere!
Anybody seen Johnny Blue?
Other Thoughts: Home course of California Grand Master Legend Kenny Lee and The Wind Jammers!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The first time...

2-4    3/20/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: mprii
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pretty well marked. Easy to get around on. Tee pads for every hole.Alot of challenging holes.
Cons: The walk from 9 to 10 is alittle long othe than that nothing.
Other Thoughts: I have been starting at 10 and play it that way.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Grove

1    3/14/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice park, big sticky oaks, good use of land features. Some of the holes are laid out really well from a technical and aesthetic stand point.
Cons: Short, but it's generally windy there so that makes hitting the holes through the trees more difficult. Some of the holes are kind of pointless because they are sooo short.
Other Thoughts: In general I don't like birdie courses, but this course is cool because you can birdie every hole, but you have to throw the shot to do it. There seems to be a pretty good balance of lefty and righty holes. Fun course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    2/14/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: J.Kasm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was pretty good! You have to pay a $5 entry fee to get into the park, but then you can play all the DG you want. The #10 basket is across the park, but the course loops around and takes you back to the #1 basket. There were a lot of different shots in this course and some were pretty difficult, but made for a good game. The first few baskets are lined up to each other in a staggered formation almost sharing greens with each other, but are spaced out enough to where you aren't playing over other golfers and vice-versa. There are several hyzer shots, a couple of dog-ears and several long-shots. This course is great fun and I think, being a beginner, good for beginners--on the front 9. I think the back 9 cause a player to be on their "A" game. It is possible to shoot this course under pair for more experienced players though. There were a lot of golfers on the course, but people were friendly and helpful when we got lost on the back 9. Overall, this course is an excellent course for beginners and the experienced golfers. Also, all of the tees are well marked with with helpful suggestions on driving around the obstacles. I wish I could have played this course one more time before I left California.
Cons: This is a public park and there were a lot of people fishing in the pond. Hole #9 tees off right next to the water, so be careful because we actually had to throw our discs about ten feet from some people fishing. This could make really inexperienced players very nervous. We had to tee-off to the far right and landed in the tall grass. Another con, but not too bad, is that it was crazy-windy! The winds were helpful at time, but really made the game tough.
Other Thoughts: When paying to get into the park, make sure to ask for a map of the course. It came in handy with the top 9 holes. Just remember to have a good time despite the non-golfers.

I'm sorry that the pictures are all jumbled, but I hope they give you an idea of the baskets and shows how nice this course is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good

11/4/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Played through the trees. The course is mapped out. A little bit of skill req.
Cons: Flat area, not much of a hike.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.