Disc Golf Store
Indianola, IA 
Pickard Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course

5+    6/13/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: dpo2002
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -long open tees
-baskets in good condition and new signs
-water hazards and many obstacles
-trash cans ever other tee

Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: -hole 18 is 800+ ft
-Great course and not much attention or people playing it :(

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Big park course

1    9/16/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large scenic park. There are rolling hills throughout with a couple steeper hills. Lots of spots on the course have pleasant views of the park and surrounding area, and despite the city park feel around the beginning of the course you get a more secluded vibe in the middle of the round.

There is plenty of length here, several chances to stretch out your arm and throw longer drives. There are some reachable holes, especially from the shorter tees, so it doesn't get too repetitive that way. The wooded holes offer a few tighter lines to hit, and you will need some level of line shaping ability to score well and get to several of the protected pin locations.

The pond comes into play on a few shots, offering a couple risky pin positions and a hole that makes you decide if you want to go for the green off the tee with a water carry or play for the safe par. The amenities here are solid, with good signs and nice concrete pads. The short and long tees make the course a little more accessible for different levels of players.
Cons: There are a lot of long straight shots, you can throw the same disc for a lot of the holes and that gets a bit old. The course is pretty open for my tastes, with little trouble on most drives and only limited trouble around some of the pins. Long prairie grass comes into play at times, and that's not my favorite obstacle on a disc golf course. It adds frustration and loses plastic without really changing the next shot after a shanked drive.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a bit long for most beginners, I could see that getting a little frustrating for shorter armed players. More experienced throwers will enjoy the chances to open up and throw some drives. This is a fun and scenic course even if it doesn't put much of a premium on accuracy and line shaping.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best course ive played so far

5+    6/7/2011   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. Good mixture of shots and elevations. Long holes are managable and difficult. And short holes are difficult. A couple of good wooded holes. Love the rediculousness of the 900 footer. Fantastic! World class course. Not for beginners. Very nicely kept park as well.
Cons: Love everything about this course. Thats all
Other Thoughts: Very highly recommended. Bring multiples of your go to discs the little lake pond thing has eaten up a couple of mine

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Pickard Park

1    2/26/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: bettsman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: nice variety of holes.................................................................................................................................................
Cons: best for pros.................................................................................................................................................
Other Thoughts: ......................................................................................................................................................

2 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Good Stuff

1    10/15/2011   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good signage, well maintained park, good baskets, great layout minus 1-3. the course was a lot of fun great for golfing. Lots of placement shots which is what golf is about i love long holes.
Cons: The first couple of holes could be better when compared to the rest of course. Out in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, too bad it was almost lose your disc dark when i played through 18 the best hole awesome green. If you are in des moines area and have a chance should play

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park Course

1    6/5/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maintenance: This course was well groomed. The city parks department must cut the grass regularly. Their efforts show in the immaculate fairways at Pickard Park.

Elevation: Even though this is Iowa, the course designers here did an excellent job of utilizing the elevation with which they had to work.

Water: Water comes into play on a number of holes here. Each time it is used very effectively, most often as the basket is placed on the side of a pond with water to the right and a tree or trees to the left. This causes the RHBH player to play there shot over the water and use the fade to bring it back to the shore as the left is blocked by trees. This is used on #5 and #18. There is also a meandering creek that protects the back of the green on a hole toward the middle of the course.

Variety: Elevation, shot-shape and distance are all varied extremely well throughout this course. No two holes are even remotely similar. There are some really long holes as well as some potential ace runs. If you are a moderately skilled player like myself, there are opportunities for birdies...but you better take them when you see them.
Cons: Pickard does not loop back to the parking lot at any point during the round. As hot as it gets in the summer, coupled with the relatively "open" course makes a mid-round pit-stop almost a necessity. There is also no drinking water available on the course once you start your round. In short, bring a lot of water...you will need it.

Rough schule: This is one of my big pet peeves. The rough is supposed to be punishing. This is definitely the case at Pickard Park. However, at least clear some of the brush out around the fairways. We spent probably an hour looking for discs at this course, most of which were about 2-3 feet off the fairway. One of our four even lost a disc that looked as if it landed in the fairway. After coming over the hil and looking at where it should have been, it could have been no further than 5 feet off the faiway...and we never found it. Again, rough is there for a challenge, but it makes for a cumbersome roundd when you are looking for 10 minutes for any throw that skips off the fairway. It wouldn't take much work with a weed-eater to rectify this situation.

Hole #18/Flow: Hole #18 does not fit this course. I don't mind having a long hole. I understand that in tourneys, this hole is important because someone could make up a couple of strokes on the final hole. However, the flow leaves you so far away from the parking lot after #17, that #18 has to be long simply to get you back to he parking lot. It has a tricky pin placement by the water, but other than that hole #18 is just boring.
Other Thoughts: Pickard Park is the home of an excellent disc golf course. There are a number of great holes here. Be prepared for a long round as you will likely be looking for a few errant shots,and the course is long. Make sure to stay hydrated as the course seems like a strenuous walk due to length and hilly terrain...or maybe I was just really out of shape when we played here. (It was pushing 100 degrees that day)

If you happen to be in the Des Moines area, make the 30 minute drive south to Indianola and pley this excellent course. It is a fantastic course and worth driving slightly out of the way to play. Give yourself plenty of time and enjoy the terrain. It is a beautiful area. At many public parks, disc golf courses are relegated to the land that simply cannot be used for anything else. Pickard Park breaks this mold. This land is excellent for disc golf and the course is well-suited for the terrain.

Additionally, I lost a disc on this course and was called back two days later by the guy who found it. I add this because there are some really classy people in this area who play disc golf. I travel and play quite often and have found that people in other areas of the country call numbers on found discs much more often than they do in Tennessee. Kudos to the Iowa disc golf scene for encouraging player courtesy.



14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice, very LOOOONNNNNGGGG

1    9/25/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent baskets and tee pads, good mix of shots, definite pro level challenge as the average distance is probably 450-500 feet on each hole with the monster coming on 18 at 950ish feet, every type of obstacle,
Cons: Long, I've only played it once but I remember I was ready for the round to end, can take a while to play, lots of chances to lose a disc,
Other Thoughts: I definitely want to play this one again sometime, it's one of the "crown jewels" of central Iowa among the disc golf community so I suppose I should play it more than once, solid course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/6/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pickard is a scenic and challenging course set in a nice park just a short drive south of Des Moines. The land given for the course is extremely generous and includes open and wooded areas, a pond, a creek, and lots of elevation. The course has 2 sets of tees with nice signs at both and good baskets.

Hole design is interesting, challenging, and diverse. Hole length is quite diverse ranging from deuce chances to legit pars of greater than 3. You will need to throw shots up, down, level and left, right, straight. Basket placement is the real strength of this course. Many of the holes require a carefully planned and executed tee shot to give yourself a chance at par. Poor tee shots may not find the punishing rough, but may still cost you a shot if you find yourself approaching from the wrong angle.

The park itself is well-kept and appeared to be very safe. Parking was abundant. Near the parking area were restrooms and a picnic pavilion.
Cons: The fairway grass was green and full and pretty, but it needed mowed badly the day I played.

For some- the rough was super thick making it hard to find discs and providing a good chance to lose one.

I did not enjoy #18- super, super long (even from the shorts) for being the final hole. The design did not seem well thought out at this point realizing that there was only 1 hole left to get back to the car. The basket placement was great by the pond, but the hole just seemed long for long's sake. This could have easily been made 2 solid holes, and then to avoid the long walk back to the parking lot there could have been another 1 or 2 holes added for 21 total holes. Or maybe just eliminate #1, which was pretty boring or could be made a practice area. Just a thought, but others may love 18.

This course can get really hot in the summer. There was very little shade, it does not come back to the car until after 18, and the walk after 18 was very long to get back to the car and needed a sign because we ended up taking the wrong trail.
Other Thoughts: We saw a snake on one hole by the creek. In fact, my friend actually put his bag down on it unknowingly and when he reached for his disc he kind of freaked out!

Overall, this is an excellent course that has a lot to offer to players of all skill levels. Advanced players should enjoy playing here, especially from the longer tees. However, the shorter tees provide a good test as well. If you are near Des Moines this course is definitely worth the easy drive out of town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Marcovis
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has everything. There is water that comes into play, elevation, wooded holes, and LONG holes. It's been mowed every time I played it.
Cons: The woods are very thick and eat discs. I don't knock points off for this because it's part of the game.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best in the State of Iowa and should be played if your coming through.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice long course

2-4    5/10/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: bobo262
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent course for long distance accurate drives. Lots of ups and downs wide open fairways. Very fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Played course on a very windy 15-25 mph and cool 52 degrees day. Still one of my favorite courses ever played.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.