Disc Golf Store
Oxford, MS 
T. E. Avent Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 152ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short Practice Course

5+    8/30/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: SybotCB
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: The course has concrete teepads on every hole. with good baskets. It has a few good throws and uses elevation of the area fairly well for some interesting shots.

It's fairly lightly used. So it's a good course to practice stuff on.ar
Cons: Only one Teepad and one Basket Location for every hole, so there is no variability in the course ever.

It's a pretty short course as well. A lot of people would probably be using putters on every hole. I suck at disc golf, so I typically drive with a buzzz on 6 holes, a putter on one hole, and a driver on two holes.

It's in a park, with a walking trail, so you may sometimes have to wait a minute while someone is walking past, but it's not a particularly crowded park, so this is minimal and not a killer.

It's only 9 holes as well, and without extra teepads or baskets, it doesn't offer a whole lot of variety.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice former baseball field here as well, which can be used for working on your longer shots and drives after a round. And the sixth basket can be driven at from home plate for a 330' practice as well.

It's lightly used, so you could goof off with some safari holes as well. The 7th basket from off of the 3rd tee makes for a long low tunnel shot.

  Good Quick play

5+    2/27/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: jabatte
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good quick course, with short holes, where two can play 9 holes in 15-20 minutes. Beautiful backdrop with a park laying off to the right. Holes are deceptively tough, definitely challenging your depth perception at times. Hole 5 (Par 3) has plenty of obstacles off the tee, parring this hole is definitely a challenge. Holes 1 and 8 are both uphill holes, taking a strong, accurate toss to get the disc up the hill in good position. Hole 9 can very easily be made in one shot, though the risk is very high, as there is a sharp downhill into the parking lot.
Cons: Hole 1 is not numbered, making finding the where to start a bit of a challenge if you don't already know where it is at. There are a lot of holes that have very few, if any obstacles, Avents is a very popular park that is usually filled with a lot of little kids running around, and it is not unusual to wait up to 15 minutes for a family to move, or have to beware of one of the kids stealing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Short quick course, that offers a slight challenge, and a beautiful back drop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go?

2-4    9/27/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a great looking area to play in. Had a fun time. The holes are easily walked other than a few. Just bring your approach and putter and you will have a good time. No point in "driving" any of the holes.
Cons: Couldn't ever seem to find my way to where I was supposed to throw from. I noticed the other guy said something about WHEN WET. I can second that and it hadn't rained for about 12 hours when I played. It was still pretty damp and slick out there.
Other Thoughts: Once it has a a little makeover it's a pretty fun little course to play. and oh yea. for you "glass users" There is a pretty nice store called "Local Color" not to far from there. You should check him out. His prices are a little high for some stuff but worth a look at his stuff.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unmarked/bad layout/slippery

1    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice land. Large hills covered in trees and some grass. Good use of the fringe land around a park.
Cons: - WHEN WET: the tees can be dangerous and slick deep mud, impossible to throw from.
- Only a few tees have a #, and that wasn't the right one. The # on the several marked post didn't match the one on the obvious basket choice for that tee.
- Finding hole #1 was a nightmare, not sure I did, and if I did, it wasn't marked by anything.
- Supposed to have dual tees, but since not even one set is marked well enough to figure it out, I'd say it doesn't have dual tees.
Other Thoughts: GET A GUIDE!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.