Sioux Falls, SD 
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 385ft.   4 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    6/14/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely large concrete tee pads. Nice elevatian changes. Variety between tree holes and open holes. Hole distances are shown on post by tee pad.
Cons: Long grass prevents skips. Lack of hole signs. It seems that hole distances are not accurate. Course is by a river. Baskets are really rusty and old. Highly trafficked makes for slow play. (Sioux falls needs more than one course). Poorly marked. Some holes are difficult to find. Some long distances between holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2-4    4/22/2015   4/22/2015
Review By: Cartograph
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice sized full 18 hole course with plenty to keep you on your toes. the course starts out with a short open and easy first hole then moves quickly into some tight and dangerous holes where you have a good chance of losing your disc. So far i have not lost a disc here yet but it could still happen!
There is lots of vegetation and lots of neat holes with dual pin placement. It also has some elevation to deal with especially on hole 6 where it goes downhill a good distance. It also has some water hazards and big open fairways.
They also have a large map with basket placements and which holes are used for summer only and year round play. Next to the map they have definitions and pointers for new disc golfers as well.
Cons: With a wooded area with a large down hill slope right next to the fairways and holes its easy to lose a disc if you over shoot or throw in the wrong direction.

Other Thoughts: For being the city's only disc golf course this is a really good course not perfect but its really good and i have recommended it to friends of mine in the omaha metro area.
Will definetly be playing this course again in the future!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park Course

1    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 128  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic park course with tall mature trees and acre after acre of mowed grass.

Hole lengths vary from 200' to about 450', along with the monster 627' Hole 6. That was the signature hole for me, as the you drive down the park's sledding hill. You'll want to throw your entire bag here.

Probably the largest concrete teepads that I have encountered in over 100 courses. They were about 20' long and 8' wide.

Very basic 4"x4" sign posts at the tees.

Multiple parking areas that allow you to choose where to start. Restrooms both at the top and bottom of the course, along with ample trash cans.
Cons: While there are plenty of trees and the course is listed as "Moderately Wooded", I was surprised that the trees didn't come into play more. While there were a couple of "technical" holes, most of the holes were relatively open. Even hitting a tree on your drive typically wouldn't deflect you into much trouble.

Long walk from Hole 16 to 17, but there is a good trail to follow.

More descriptive tee signs would be welcome, though most holes are pretty straightforward.
Other Thoughts: A nicely designed and maintained course. I just didn't expect as many open holes, given the number of trees in the park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Open

1    6/29/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clear, open, and mowed. I was on a trip and wanted to play disc golf. I bought a couple discs and came here. The course was well laid out, and open. Nothing was extremely challenging, but it was a lot of fun to play. Concrete tees were also a plus.
Cons: The last couple tees were hard to locate. Some baskets were hard to find for a first timer. Tees should say what par the hole is.
Other Thoughts: I will play here again. I loveit, and can't wait to have my full arsenal of discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as told

2-4    6/21/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: woodman
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mowed fairways
Cons: Signs need lots of work. Finding the start of the course was tough due to the crowds of people congregated at the top of the course. Large concrete pads but didn't like the smooth finish, slipped many times on the pads from wet shoes due to wet grass from high humidity. Other pads covered with lots of sand, almost fell due to how slick the sand made pads. Baskets hard to see, could use some "high vis" tape. River had flooded lower part of course a week prior to my visit and baskets (#10-14) were covered with flood grass and debris. The smell of flooded area was that of an "Out house"! Really difficult to navigate from 15-18. Hole 17 had a wedding party taking pictures in the middle of fairway. Couldn't even play the hole:(
Other Thoughts: Even after all my bitching, I still had fun. Holes 1-3 pretty uneventfull. Hole 4 and 5 are nice and technical. Hole 6 is the signature hole and lots of fun, except for all the people hiking up the fairway. Holes 7 and 8 are short and sweet. Holes 9-14 were very wet (standing water) and smelled like shit from recent flooding. These holes are kinda boring and flat. The only good thing about these holes is that I found a Blizzard TeeBird near the river, score! As we played hole 15 (at 4:20 PM) there was a drug bust of three younger players caught smoking dope on the course, bummer! If I had not had a local to show me how to navigate from hole 15-18, I would have been lost (once again- needs more and better signs). East river players should come out to the Black Hills and play the AWESOME courses we have - {Pageant Hill in Custer and The Spearfish Canyon Course in Spearfish)!! Loved Hole 18!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best in Eastern SD

2-4    5/11/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: SvenM
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long shots. Fun downhill hole. Next to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Couple tricky shots.
Cons: Quite a few of the holes are the same, flat straight shot.
Other Thoughts: the last 3 holes are a little tricky to find, but help end the course on a good note after quite a few repetitive holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than courses ive playe in the past

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice/scenic park, mature trees, great variation of difficulty .
-well groomed
-huge teepads that dont leave you feeling cramped
-elevation change
-combination of distance
-tech woods, mild woods, wide open bombs....
-#6 down the sledding hill was da bomb!
-little hike in the woods between 16 &17 was pretty cool and 18 in the woods is a blast.
-The flow of the course is excellent with a gradual increase in difficulty and distance.
Cons: didnt notice a practice/warm up basket around #1?
Other Thoughts: The 8 courses I have played around denver pale in comparison. Its just way greener here, the oak trees are way better than elms and the deep woods is just woodsier. thumbs up to Sioux Falls and Tuthill. #6 down the sledding hill would have to be the "signature hole" on this course with a steep decent and defined line/channel down the vally/fairway. bring somthing stable for this toss! If you hit a line matching the decline of the hill you will probobly turn it over and end up in the woods on the right. (i did) #18 in the woods is a close 2nd place in my book. heavily wooded but not overgrown .

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great place, for beginners

1    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 216  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This nicely manicured course is very beginner friendly which obviously appeals to the amateur-dominated crowd that posts reviews here. The concrete tee pads are very big. Hole 6 is the obvious signature hole and the best on the course. The rough isn't really rough and it's not likely you'll lose any plastic out there.
Cons: Tuthill gets really boring for a stretch. Holes 9-14 are flat and relatively treeless. You might need to pack a couple cans of Red Bull to stay awake during these boring holes. In fact after reading the glowing reviews of this course I kept expecting the next hole to be challenging or interesting and except for hole 6, that just didn't happen.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring your friends to introduce them to the sport of disc golf, but for those looking for a challenging course it's not going to live up to its nearly 4-disc rating.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 In Addition...

2-4    9/2/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: Cavanator
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging yet fair course with a great variety of shots and terrain in a nice setting. Congrats to Sioux Falls for having such an awesome course!
Cons: Tee signs STILL need to be updated.
Difficult to navigate for first-timers or visitors.
A course map posted online in a printable format would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: A couple of hints for first-timers. After hole #15, cross the road to your right to get to the tee for #16. From the #16 basket, follow the trail into the woods to get to the tee for #17. From the basket on #17, head across the street again to get to the tee for #18.

With a little TLC and some upgrades to the signs, this could be a 4.5 course easy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Impressed!

2-4    7/25/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: KillaKPaz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots
Huge concrete tee pads
Great signage
Well maintained
Plenty of garbage cans
Alternate pin locations
Cons: Some potential to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Apparently the pro thing to do on this course is park at the bottom of the hill, and start on hole 9, that way you can finish with 6's massive downhill shot and a couple of easy birds. Overall, one of my absolute favorite courses. Definitely worth a trip to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.