Sioux Falls, SD 
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun and Open

1    6/29/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clear, open, and mowed. I was on a trip and wanted to play disc golf. I bought a couple discs and came here. The course was well laid out, and open. Nothing was extremely challenging, but it was a lot of fun to play. Concrete tees were also a plus.
Cons: The last couple tees were hard to locate. Some baskets were hard to find for a first timer. Tees should say what par the hole is.
Other Thoughts: I will play here again. I loveit, and can't wait to have my full arsenal of discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as told

2-4    6/21/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: woodman
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mowed fairways
Cons: Signs need lots of work. Finding the start of the course was tough due to the crowds of people congregated at the top of the course. Large concrete pads but didn't like the smooth finish, slipped many times on the pads from wet shoes due to wet grass from high humidity. Other pads covered with lots of sand, almost fell due to how slick the sand made pads. Baskets hard to see, could use some "high vis" tape. River had flooded lower part of course a week prior to my visit and baskets (#10-14) were covered with flood grass and debris. The smell of flooded area was that of an "Out house"! Really difficult to navigate from 15-18. Hole 17 had a wedding party taking pictures in the middle of fairway. Couldn't even play the hole:(
Other Thoughts: Even after all my bitching, I still had fun. Holes 1-3 pretty uneventfull. Hole 4 and 5 are nice and technical. Hole 6 is the signature hole and lots of fun, except for all the people hiking up the fairway. Holes 7 and 8 are short and sweet. Holes 9-14 were very wet (standing water) and smelled like shit from recent flooding. These holes are kinda boring and flat. The only good thing about these holes is that I found a Blizzard TeeBird near the river, score! As we played hole 15 (at 4:20 PM) there was a drug bust of three younger players caught smoking dope on the course, bummer! If I had not had a local to show me how to navigate from hole 15-18, I would have been lost (once again- needs more and better signs). East river players should come out to the Black Hills and play the AWESOME courses we have - {Pageant Hill in Custer and The Spearfish Canyon Course in Spearfish)!! Loved Hole 18!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Eastern SD

2-4    5/11/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: SvenM
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long shots. Fun downhill hole. Next to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Couple tricky shots.
Cons: Quite a few of the holes are the same, flat straight shot.
Other Thoughts: the last 3 holes are a little tricky to find, but help end the course on a good note after quite a few repetitive holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than courses ive playe in the past

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice/scenic park, mature trees, great variation of difficulty .
-well groomed
-huge teepads that dont leave you feeling cramped
-elevation change
-combination of distance
-tech woods, mild woods, wide open bombs....
-#6 down the sledding hill was da bomb!
-little hike in the woods between 16 &17 was pretty cool and 18 in the woods is a blast.
-The flow of the course is excellent with a gradual increase in difficulty and distance.
Cons: didnt notice a practice/warm up basket around #1?
Other Thoughts: The 8 courses I have played around denver pale in comparison. Its just way greener here, the oak trees are way better than elms and the deep woods is just woodsier. thumbs up to Sioux Falls and Tuthill. #6 down the sledding hill would have to be the "signature hole" on this course with a steep decent and defined line/channel down the vally/fairway. bring somthing stable for this toss! If you hit a line matching the decline of the hill you will probobly turn it over and end up in the woods on the right. (i did) #18 in the woods is a close 2nd place in my book. heavily wooded but not overgrown .

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great place, for beginners

1    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 203  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This nicely manicured course is very beginner friendly which obviously appeals to the amateur-dominated crowd that posts reviews here. The concrete tee pads are very big. Hole 6 is the obvious signature hole and the best on the course. The rough isn't really rough and it's not likely you'll lose any plastic out there.
Cons: Tuthill gets really boring for a stretch. Holes 9-14 are flat and relatively treeless. You might need to pack a couple cans of Red Bull to stay awake during these boring holes. In fact after reading the glowing reviews of this course I kept expecting the next hole to be challenging or interesting and except for hole 6, that just didn't happen.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring your friends to introduce them to the sport of disc golf, but for those looking for a challenging course it's not going to live up to its nearly 4-disc rating.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 In Addition...

2-4    9/2/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: Cavanator
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging yet fair course with a great variety of shots and terrain in a nice setting. Congrats to Sioux Falls for having such an awesome course!
Cons: Tee signs STILL need to be updated.
Difficult to navigate for first-timers or visitors.
A course map posted online in a printable format would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: A couple of hints for first-timers. After hole #15, cross the road to your right to get to the tee for #16. From the #16 basket, follow the trail into the woods to get to the tee for #17. From the basket on #17, head across the street again to get to the tee for #18.

With a little TLC and some upgrades to the signs, this could be a 4.5 course easy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Impressed!

2-4    7/25/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: KillaKPaz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots
Huge concrete tee pads
Great signage
Well maintained
Plenty of garbage cans
Alternate pin locations
Cons: Some potential to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Apparently the pro thing to do on this course is park at the bottom of the hill, and start on hole 9, that way you can finish with 6's massive downhill shot and a couple of easy birds. Overall, one of my absolute favorite courses. Definitely worth a trip to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 def worthwhile!

1    6/26/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: started off a little boring and flat, but turned out to be fairly extraordinary.
following the locals lead, we began on like hole 6 at the lower level parking lot. the holes by the creek are pretty boring and flat. fine, just nothing worth writing about.
there is a creek that didnt come even remotely into play for us, but apparently a great deal of people lose their discs in there.
once the course bumped across the street into the hills and trees, things got very interesting! elevation change was sublime.
there was a 300 foot hole that was only moderately downhill, but it just SLAYED all 3 of us in an impressive manner.
whats more, the top of the world shot was literally one of my all time favorite. there was maybe an 80+ foot fairway, very steep, and the basket was 525 feet down to the right. is rare for top of the world shots to have a "fairway" in my experience, which is maybe why i dont usually like them.
the locals were all very helpful, especially in pointing out how to locate hole 15-16.
Cons: 4-5 holes that were fairly flat and open were less inspiring.
was also fairly crowded, considering we were playing around 8pm, but that strikes me as a tribute to how much fun it is!
Other Thoughts: 4th of 9 courses on week long road trip. clearly, the upper midwest has some fantastic dg courses!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in South Dakota

5+    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: Tned10
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: #1 Exercise that is enjoyable
- Quality baskets
- LARGE quality cement tee-pads
- They use mulch (makes it look professional and keeps it dry)
- Scenic holes
- Course layout
- Big Sioux River
- Other things going on in the park make playing more interesting
Cons: - 16-18 are tiring w/ a long walk back to the top
- Sometimes gets congested
Other Thoughts: You can't not like this course if you are a true disc golfer. Other things going on in the park such as hot-air balloons make it the place to be in itself during the summer.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/29/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in the inner-city of Sioux Falls. It provides distance & technicallity that are somewhat unique for the area....Most of the Tee Pads are marked with Distance and Location....
Cons: This course is a bit hard to navigate for a new-comer and the over-all flow is not the best. Hole 18 is hard to find, but once there, is a fun hole! The signage is significantly off on some of the holes and most signs could use some over-haul.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a very unique challenge of length, technicality & pin location that will keep you challenged....This one is one of the better courses of the greater area ( I'd also recommend Big Sioux Rec. Area of Brandon & Larson Park of Brookings.....All located near the I-29 & I-90 Crossings)... It does provide an ideal challenge (given the surrounding area)...If you are near the Sioux Falls area, it is worth a stop....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.