Sioux Falls, SD
Tuthill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Home Course

5+    5/16/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: 866999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers tremendous variety. The top level has trees and goes through woods as well as open. Bottom level much more flat and open. Some long holes and some shorter holes.
Cons: Baskets need to be repainted for better visability. Pads vary from concrete to asphalt to wood mulch. Some baskets damaged during winter flooding
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun course to play and offers great views. Hole 6 is a long downhill down a winter sled hill. Enjoy, it is worth the stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

5+    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: vikes_rule84
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes
-Consistently upgrading to add challenge
-#6 is one of my favorite holes when pin is at bottom of the hill
-Upkeep is very good
-Multiple pin placements makes for a nice change
Cons: -Practice pin should be at top of hill where #1 tee is, as a lot of people start on #9 and sneak in front of people that started on #1
-On a couple holes the lack of walkways requires backtracking on the fairway you just played
-Can get quite busy, which slows play down
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really nice course, improvements over the last couple years have brought this from a 3.0 rating to a 4.0. The addition of concrete tee pads and tee box location changes on 3, 5, 9, 13, 14, and 16 were key.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scenic and well kept.
- Picnic area and parking is a plus.
- Low, fat, wood signage doesn't get vandalized as frequently.
- Elevation changes and various hole terrain.
- Has its own way of being challenging.
Cons: - Long walk.
- Couple holes are back tracking. Which is annoying.
- Distances are wrong on signs.
- Back is hard to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. It's always busy because its a great course. Hole #6 is an amazing long shot down the entire hill; although the closest pin placement kind of sucks. This course is well worth several rounds and I have had a lot of fun here. Grab your good sneakers and play here asap!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: vanguard
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic course with the Big Sioux River flowing through it; surrounded by many old, beautiful trees.
-Offers some challenging holes due to length, elevation change, tree cover, blind shots, water hazard, or a combination of these.
Cons: -Outrageous amount of walking in between holes.
-Poor walking paths between holes.
-Can get very busy.
-Could be tough to navigate your first time playing Tuthill, I would recommend hooking up with a local who knows the course well!
Other Thoughts: Another scenic SD course with plenty of wooded areas to sneak off into! If there weren't so much gallavanding around between holes, I would rank Tuthill a 4.5

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, definite flaws

1    7/11/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: m1ke
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting landscape flow; course starts at top of hill with lots of elevation change holes, to a long downhill throw and a couple more elevation holes around the foot of the hill, to a bunch of flat holes in the field and around the river, then back up the hill with more elevation play.
-Excellent variety of holes; different degrees of woodedness, different amounts of elevation change, right vs. left, etc.
-Hole 6 is simply amazingly fun and one of my favorite holes anywhere.
-A few early holes have a unique (in my experience) green area of wood covered in astroturf; I assume to keep them from getting muddy
-Handy restrooms in building at bottom of course, around halfway through
Cons: While I enjoyed the landscape flow and there were some excellent individual holes, there are some definite layout problems here. There are at least two holes where after finishing you have to walk back down the fairway you just played- this means extra downtime for any group waiting on players in front of them. There are also long walks between holes in several places, including one really long one.
-Not very good signage. Many of the tee signs gave distances which were clearly wrong. That and only a vague indication of what direction the basket was made the many blind holes more of a pain than they should have been.
-The long walks between holes plus mediocre signage meant navigation was often a problem. Fortunately my wife suggested I take a pic with my phone of the map posted at the beginning of the course, so we were able to muddle our way through.
-A lot of the holes down on the flat section didn't have as much variety as the rest of the course
Other Thoughts: I wavered between a 3.5 and a 4 on this one. The layout issues, signage and first-timers' navigation problems were pretty annoying. However, I certainly did have a lot of fun. There were a bunch of holes that really stood out, and I would recommend the course to anyone, as long as you memorize/photo the course map or have a player with you familiar with the course. Don't let the cons keep you away by any means, just be warned your first trip may be a little difficult.

Really, if the signs were simply updated to show the general layout of the hole and where the next tee was, I'd update my rating to 4 in a heartbeat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/15/2006   7/20/2009
Review By: jcdillon28
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maps and score cards right up front on bulletin board. This makes life nice for the first time guest.

The layout is great. Starting on some decent slopping and flat terrain. Than working into some forest shots than some wide open holes. There is something for everyone here.

Hole 6 is one of the funnest shots around.

The course and surrounding park are very well manicured. Playgrounds are located on both the upper and lower sections of the park. Bathrooms and pick nick areas are located on upper area as well. Makes a great place for the whole family.
Cons: Weather, The first time i played this course it was the middle of July and we played at 11am. By the end we were about dead from the heat. If you visit in summer time i recommend going at dusk or earlier in the morning.

Another time i went to play holes 10,11,and 12 were under water due to flooding.

Park can be busy at times and it makes it hard to play. Depending on how busy the park is parking may be tricky, but with two lots (an upper and lower) you can find a spot most of the time.
Other Thoughts: All around this is a fun course. I recommend any to go play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good

2-4    6/18/2006   6/18/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course starts in hilly, wooded area, middle of round is in flat, wide-open area by river, then finishes in the woods---so different parts of the course favor different players' strengths.

Includes a dramatic, ski-slope-like fairway; wide, clear, straight-down a large hill, with dense woods on either side.

Some good roller holes.

Clean, well-groomed, nice park, with huge trees and river frontage, great for a round of disc golf.
Cons: The flat area is wide-open, to the point that some of the holes are rather boring.

At least when I was there, there were signs indicating some holes were removed in winter so the hill could be used for sledding. As a South Carolinian on vacation, it seemed to me that any weather suitable for sledding is unsuitable for disc golf. Nevertheless, for those who play year-round in frigid climes, some of the best holes would be missing in winter, when the rating would probably drop to 1 1/2.
Other Thoughts: Maybe 3.5.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 variety

1    5/22/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is nicely laid out. There is a nice variety of shots. Some holes are wide open. Some holes are through the woods. Tuthill has uphill holes and downhill holes. I played early in the spring/summer season so course was nicley green. Holes are marked well and most are visible from tee. Not all though.
Cons: Some tee boxes are not easily found from the ast basket. The map and score sheet provided does make the search a bit easier. Distances (as noted by others) is an issue. Many are mismarked and the par is also off a bit.
Other Thoughts: Great South Dakota course. Course demands a variety of shots. Keep disc low--either the wind or trees will take it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: trw83
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variety of terrain, tees are all marked, fairly easy to find next hole
Cons: Pars on some holes don't match well to distance
Other Thoughts: mndiscg reviewed the course very well (in my opinion) so I won't try to one-up him.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    11/21/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 pin placements per hole.
-Signs and distances on every hole.
-First 5 have "greens" of artificial grass around holes to keep it looking nice.
-Very good mix of long and short holes.
-Need to use a variety of shots to navigate course.
-Hole 6 is 600+ downhill shot into river valley!
-River is used well as hazard on about 5 holes.
-Good variety of elevation changing and flat holes.
-Nice cement tee boxes on first 6 holes.
-7-18 tee boxes are good as long as it isnt wet
Cons: -At times was hard to see which pin location it was at.
-Some distances were wrong for sure, last 9 holes looked to be older than 2001 and were probably changed at that point while the distances remained the same.
-Hard to find 16, 17, 18 after playing first 15.
Other Thoughts: -Nice course, very easy to find.
-Highly recomended to play.
-Gas station across street has small pro shop and beverages/food.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.