Tylersport, PA 
Salford Township Community Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Home of the Haunted Bangsheds

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 baskets in decent shape.

Some woods holes, a few open holes, and a few ace runs

Porto Potty available.
Cons: ridiculous tee pads. 2 small squares totaling about 1.5'x3'. One tee pad was buried in high grass.

Random posts with numbers that have nothing to do with the course.

No signage or navigational aids.
Other Thoughts: Course seems like it would be fun when all of the halloween decorations are out. There are lots of buildingson the course and remains of old halloween decorations scattered through out the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Basic Community Pitch n' Putt

1    10/11/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Salford Township Community Park is easily accessible from the major transportation routes in the area, most notably, PA-309 and PA-563. The baskets at the park are in great shape. Additionally, the open area of the park is maintained very well. There is a fairly even split between open and wooded holes and a few doglegs as well.
Cons: SAFETY! As often happens in these community parks, a disc golf course is a nice perk that just adds to the amenities of a park. Unfortunately, little thought goes into the logistics of the game and fairways are situated far too close to or directly on walking paths, frequently-used park features, or playgrounds.

Zero signage. While the course is extremely short and the baskets are easy to spot, the 1' x 2' tees (consisting of two 12" pavers) were difficult to locate. Moreover, there are no distances published (called the township and they're not sure either) so all your throws are calculated guesses.

The layout of hole 7 made very little sense and didn't really have any type of throwing lane. The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.

Additionally, the wooded holes were cluttered with junk, trash, and what appeared to be Halloween buildings from years past, taking the overall experience down a peg.
Other Thoughts: Make sure that you have your expectations set before you play this course. For the serious disc golfer, this course is not a destination play and will leave you squarely disappointed. If you're a senior, someone playing DG for the first time, or a child, then this course will give you enough of an introduction to work on the basics before trying a more well rounded and professional course in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Average Local Course

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Its Free, Nice baskets, wide open as not many people play it, some woods, some open shots...overall average 9 hole municipal course
Cons: Poorly marked holes & tees, definately print the map as the baskets and tees aren't marked at all. Small tees (2 12x12 tiles) and some tees are overgrown or loose
Other Thoughts: The assn or some regular players should help fix/improved the tees

 Not worth playing

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with baskets in good shape, probably best aspect of course
Cons: Tees and baskets not marked; tees are like two shingles laid down in grass, not hard to find but hard to throw off of. Hill could have been utilized. Holes in woods tight and hard with growth. No trespassing signs are up for some reason, oh well.
Other Thoughts: Only played because I was in the area. I wouldn't recommend it even if you could walk there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Weird Pennsylvania

2-4    1/19/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course with some interesting shot variety. Right turning, left turning, S-shaped and straight away fairways. About half open, half wooded holes, little bit of elevation change, but nothing dramatic. A variety of different drives was required.
Park was quiet and pleasant to be in.
Cons: Teepads are smallest I have played yet. Assembled from 2 tiles, they were hard to find and not very fun to throw from. I'm wondering why the time an bit more expense wasn't taken to expand them to say, 6 tiles? Tees are unmarked which added to the difficulty navigating the course. Without a map I would have been lost.
Basket 8 is right there on the edge of 3's fairway and at first glance (and after the first 2 short open holes) seems the likely target, which added to the confusion.
My biggest gripe was the wooded holes simply used walking trails as fairways. One of my least favorite things to see/play. Not much course design.
Other Thoughts: The courses saving grace had really nothing to do with the course. It seems the wooded part was used for a Haunted Woods this past fall and the remnants are still on the walking trails used for the course (as of January 2010) Large strangely painted displays with fake blood and gory mannequins scattered about. The best was a large 8ft wooden cube that had 666 painted on the sides and an open door facing, yes, hole 6's tee. Placed just off the fairway, it seemed a likely place to throw a wayward drive. The whole thing gave me a Weird Pennsylvania vibe and kept me at the course for a 2nd round. I kinda want to go back with my camera..
Salford is just off 476 and can be played as part of a 5 course string of 9 holers going up and down 476. Unami Creek to the North and Branchwood right nearby are both a lot of fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/17/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: sportsguy1291
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, compact course. Good for a quick play, or someone learning the sport.
Cons: ohhh boy. The course is so short, me and a few other guys go play every sunday morning before church. with ten of us, it only takes about an hour. The holes are confusing for first timers or someone who would drive in looking to play. It is not something that is recommended for someone who can throw over 300 because the longest hole is about 290. Discs are not hard to find, so losing one is rare. If you do happen to lose one, let me know, im there at least once a week.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun, and can be played forward and backward (once learned). There used to be maps in the office building in the parking lot, but i dont think there are any more. I would play this course any way you like. see a hole and throw to it. its a great way to have fun, learn to throw a different way, or even teach someone the game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it.

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is decent variety here in 9 holes. There are open shots, doglegs, woods, etc., so something to please people in that respect. This is about where the pros end for me.
Cons: Navigation is tough here. Even with a map I was confused. The tee pads are tiny - so tiny that you can barely find them. There are no signs and the baskets are not numbered.

After the first three holes the course goes into the woods and plays along a walking path. Yes, gravel is your fairway. There are poles in the woods with numbers on them, which I thought would correspond to tee pads, but I didn't see any pads and it didn't look like there should be a pad there according to the mapů so, I wandered around for a while looking for tee pads and baskets. Not sure if I played the course really or not.

The open holes play around athletic equipment (pull up bars, sit up benches, balance beams, etc). I never see anyone using these anywhere, but if someone did want to use them, they would be smack in the way of baskets and tee pads.

Things were over grown. There was no elevation, no water, no risk/reward, no memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: This may be the worst disc golf course I have ever played. It sounds harsh, but I think this one takes that "award." Navigation was a joke, other park equipment was in the middle of the course, and going through the woods felt like a haunted trail (maybe they use the trail for that during October, who knows). Short, unchallenging holes did not help this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 interesting country course

1    6/25/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map and rental disc available at community center door over from the post office. For nine holes it has some variety.
Cons: Tee are hard to notice and not numbered.
Baskets are not numbered.
Woods holes play along walking paths and are never narrow.
Other Thoughts: I wandered for a second on this one and then remember to check for the map. Once I had the map it was extremely easy to figure the course out as it isn't very large. The tees where just two 12x12 patio pavers with no numbers and hard to spot in the grass.(map helped alot) I the field you can't get lost, once you get into the woods you just follow along the walking trail, however I felt like I was walking onto someones property as you play around a barn and other random objects in the woods. The path are narrow so you have to kinda play short and technical on these holes. Numbered tee and baskets would make this some much easy to follow with out the map and some navigation arrows on the holes them selves wouldn't hurt as a couple have a dog leg in them. Nothing special here but if it's all you got it's better then nothing, and could be extremely beginner friend for showing new people the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not much here

1    3/25/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 nice baskets. Offers both open and wooded holes. It's short, so a round can be done fairly quickly if you're short on time. A play structure for the young kids is right next door.

It's perfect for introducing kids and new players to disc golf.
Cons: There are so many, where do I begin? That was my first problem with the course, I had no idea where the first tee/basket was. I didn't find a map/scorecard/directory any where. I just threw towards one basket on the other side of the park, and stumbled upon what had to be a tee pad.

Incidentally, the tee pads are tiny, but you really don't even need them, the holes are so short. Both the tee pads and baskets are unmarked, so navigation is a guess at best. I had no idea if I was playing the course in the proper order and to the correct baskets. Sometimes I was throwing with the long side of the tee pad, and sometimes with the short side. Not sure if this was correct or not.

Very few parking spaces at the post office.
Other Thoughts: I felt like this was a course I could build in my own backyard. This is a very small neighborhood park. There are no signs in the park indicating this is a disc golf course, so I imagine residents have no idea what it is, so probably, none of them use it.

A little improvement could go a long way. At a minimum, the tee pads and baskets need to be identified so you know where you are going.

I'm giving this course a rating of 1, even though it probably deservers lower, because I know a lot of effort, time and hard work had to go into getting this course installed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Baskets Going To Waste

1    6/1/2005   12/21/2008
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Baskets are nice. No traffic. Great course if you are trying to introduce your toddler to the sport. Perfect course for an elf, a gnome, or perhaps someone trying to get their first ace.
Cons: Short, I mean ridiculously short! Flat and uninteresting as far as disc golf goes. The holes are between 80 and 150 feet perhaps. Think of it as 9 putting greens clumsilly layed out in a park that gets little to no use. Despite its tiny size it is hard to navigate as their is no signage. Course seems to begin and end at the little brown bridge. Just look for little asphalt Shingles on the ground...these are tees! (perhaps 12" x 24" yeah inches) The tees point in the direction of the baskets....usually. Once in the woods I think the course plays along the gravel haunted trail. Yeah it's a haunted hayride trail and they don't ever bother cleaning up the weird stuff out there. I found a Jason Mask in one basket in January. In summer, dont be alarmed by seeing blood and gore everywhere!
Other Thoughts: I have nothing against the kid who was able to get a course built.I realize the course was an Eagle Scout Project, but the money the township spent on the baskets is such a waste. Truly a shame that with all the local clubs craving baskets that there are nice baskets just going to waste in this substandard never used park!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.